We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (336)
Filter reviews
336 results
Traveller rating
173
105
41
10
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
173
105
41
10
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews frankie bananas fish fry stocking island jolly hall beach water taxi boutique hotel minute walk great exuma continental breakfast the room was nice lobster beach towels beautiful beach beautiful water bahamas helston ocean
Filter
Updating list...
71 - 76 of 336 reviews
Reviewed March 22, 2016 via mobile

The hotel is located right at a small beach near Georgetown (ca. 20 minutes walk). Just a 5 minute walk away is Jolly Hall beach- beautiful and secluded.

Our room was nice with a very comfortable bedding and a well-equipped bathroom. Only downside (reason for 4 instead of 5 points): our room was next to the neighbor hotel with an outdoor bar- they had live music and a disco on Friday night. So if you go to sleep early make sure you either bring good earplugs or ask for a room on the opposite side (no. xx5-8).

Breakfast buffet was small but good and we liked the dinner menu (ask for the vegetarian pasta!).

Staff and service were just perfect, always helpful and friendly. Prices of food and beverages are appropriate.

Would definitely return!

P.S.: make sure to rent a boat in Georgetown (our best decision during our stay)

Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Voddibull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 14, 2016

Man, I gotta tell you, I am really disappointed especially after reading all the positive reviews about this place.

My wife and I stayed 3 nights a few weeks ago. Let's start with the positives: The room was ok, decent size, right off of the pool area (ground level). I really liked being able to open up the sliding door to be a few steps from the beach and pool. The first meal we had there was good. We had a fresh shrimp cocktail and some pasta. Surprisingly delicious. I loved snorkeling off the beach. You can just walk right out and snorkel. They have gear at the desk you can borrow.

Now the bad: you could tell this place was run by someone who is a little too finicky about the bills. The AC in our room had a sign on it and it was set to 74 degrees F. The note says that if you mess with the temperature, you'll be billed 100 bucks for a repairman to come out because it "freezes". Well, that's funny because visiting surrounding businesses, namely the restaurant right next door, they use the same AC's that are CRANKED to winter level chills and they're not freezing. So basically, at night, the rooms at Augusta Bay are warm and stuffy. If you open up the sliding door you either get noise or bugs, or both, so you're F'd either way. I thought that policy was tacky. The service at the restaurant was spotty at best. The server we had both nights didn't seem to care about taking care of us. Just real apathetic service. Then we got that shrimp cocktail again on our last night, this time it was disgusting frozen shrimp that you'd buy at the store. I sent it back it was so bad. In all fairness, they removed it from our bill, and I appreciate that, but to go from really fresh seafood to frozen storebought shrimp was really gross.

The bar/restaurant next door has a huge party on Friday nights. It is so loud that it made my ears ring. I will also tell you that I'm a drummer who has played in a bunch of rock bands - I'm good with staying up late and partying, and I'm certainly good with noise, but this was ridiculous. We had to catch a flight at 6AM the next day, and had to endure a raging party til 1230AM next door. No idea why we were situated in this location, and it was too late to do anything about it since we were departing inf a few hours. That part of our stay really sealed the deal - this was a very disappointing stay considering the high marks that AUGUSTA BAY gets. The Exumas are beautiful, and we will be back, but we won't be staying at Augusta Bay, unfortunately.

Room Tip: Stay as far away from the next door's hotel/restaurant as possible unless you want to party it up all night.
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank MiniBarf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sweetle, Owner at Augusta Bay Bahamas, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2016

I would like to respond to mister MiniBarf's review. Yes, we are conscious of spending - particularly when running a hotel on a remote Caribbean island. The reviewer obviously does not have a clue about air conditioning or air conditioners in general. 98% of hotels worldwide have their air conditioners set at between 76 and 78 degrees. This is not negotiable as the central air conditioner is locked in at that temperature. Most US power companies, including Florida Power and Light recommend households to set their air at 78 degrees for comfort. Our air conditioners are set at 74 degrees - which is extremely generous, bearing in mind that the Bahamas electricity is amongst the most expensive in the world. To suggest that we have the same air conditioning as the restaurant next door is ridiculous. We have individual units in each room and the pipes have frozen NUMEROUS times when going below 70 degrees. If our learned friend would like to experience 'tacky' he needs to check in at the hotel next door for his next vacation.
I would like to apologize for his 'bad shrimp cocktail'. Occasionally, as in all restaurants, something slipped past the chef and I apologize. As a matter of interest, ALL shrimp in the Bahamas and Caribbean, Florida,etc are bought frozen.
Lastly, we have no control over neighboring hotels or properties who decide to 'throw' a party. The law states that music must be 'turned down' at midnight. Our only recourse is to notify the police of any infractions - which we frequently do and the problem is extinguished.
Sincerely,
Ian Wright - owner Augusta Bay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 7, 2016

Just what we needed. It's a very quiet and small place with very helpful staff in a VERY beautiful surrounding. The room we occupied (208) was perhaps the best room in the whole building and the views were to die for. Days were spent just walking on the nearby beach and exploring the rest of the small island of Exuma. Definitely not the place for the resort and all inclusive crowd which suited us just fine.
Food was good and plenty of it. The manager Douglas went around every morning asking everyone how their day was planning out and if he could help, we really appreciated that as nothing was too much trouble for him.
Most highly recommended place to stay !!

Room Tip: Room 208 for sure is the best room in the place.
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 3, 2016

Exactly as advertised-delightful views of the turquoise waters so close by from each room. Small very well set up boutique spot with a cooling pool .A spot of peace and pleasure. Very thoughtful staff make sure one is comfortable.Travelled alone (with my cane)and was made to feel welcomed and well looked after.

Stayed: March 2016
3  Thank Janis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 2, 2016

We stayed at Augusta Bay 2/26-2/29/16 for a very short getaway. Overall, the room and property was exactly what we needed for our stay. We did have issues with the WiFi. It worked only for the first day we were there and then was down for the rest of the trip. As people travelling from the US, we really needed the WiFi to work so we wouldn't incur a lot of international fees trying to communicate with our family at home. This was a huge inconvenience and frustration for us. The other issue we had was that the shower for some reason had no hot water in the shower. The sink and bathtub at least had moderately warm water, but again, another frustration. The staff was ok. The girl who checked us in was extremely sweet and friendly, but everyone else we encountered seemed to be put off that we were even there. The rooms and all property areas were clean and comfortable. We would not hesitate to stay at Augusta Bay again, we do not really spend a lot of time at our hotel on vacation, so it more than fit our needs.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank nicolebN5567EK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews