We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (591)
Filter reviews
591 results
Traveller rating
308
189
53
28
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
308
189
53
28
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjolly hall beachsplash barfree shuttlefish frystocking islandfull kitchenwater taxibedroom cottageocean sidepaddle boardscar rentalclose to townhotel restaurantvisiting exumachat n chilllaid backbeautiful beach
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 591 reviews
Reviewed December 18, 2017 via mobile

Hideaways is a pretty clean resort with super friendly and helpful staff. Never could connect with Wi-Fi but that turned into a good thing. The restaurant is one of the best in the area and is fun. Everything was pretty well maintained and Rosie the cat was a cute addition.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Travelswithteens2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bev B, other at Hideaways at Palm Bay, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2018

Hello Travelswithteens,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us at Hideaways. We are so pleased that you had a relaxing stay and found a friendly atmosphere while enjoying all the amenities.

You are right the internet isn't great here or in Exuma on a whole, it is definitely not what you would expect in a big city. Internet service is probably 10 years behind what you would expect in most places. We have learnt to be patient as they are promising new systems will be in place soon (Island Time). We are glad you were able to embrace this and took advantage of the atmosphere and really took time to unwind, disconnect, and recharge!

Thank you again for your review and choosing to stay with us at Hideaways. We look forward to having you back with us again soon.

Warm Regards,
The Hideaways Team.




Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 15, 2017

Accommodation (1 bed Island Time (hillside), bedding and towels were clean; A/C cold (nice when visiting in July! Just a short stroll through the parking lot, across the road to the lobby and lounge (wifi area) and all that Hideaways offers.

Be sure to try Anita's signature Splash cocktail... The pizza is awesome!

Lovely pool, plenty of beds, nice beach & great snorkelling off it. Kayaks available to explore the bay. Water taxis can be arranged to take you over to Stocking Island - time the tides right to follow the path from Chat N Chill to the ocean! Either walk up the hill and along the path or follow the coast around into Jolly Hall bay - picture perfect, soft sand.

Well located for dining - two adjacent restaurants and plenty of fish shacks to enjoy drinks and/or food just along the road towards Georgetown.

Staff were very friendly and informative.

We visited just before the low season, so a lot of maintenance was underway; good to see the property being looked after. A very nice first visit to the Caribbean.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Heather J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bev B, other at Hideaways at Palm Bay, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2018

Hello Heather J,

Thank you for reviewing your stay with Island Time Villas. We appreciate the time it took to write our review and are over joyed to hear you enjoyed your stay as well as other attractions of the island.

We are one of the few resorts on the island that offer complimentary water sports and are glad you got a chance to get out on the water to utilize them! Getting out on the water is definitely a must while staying on Exuma!

We are very proud of the great job our team does for our guests and even happier to hear directly from you, our guests, when they do. We hope to be able to welcome you back again for future stays.

Warm Wishes,
The Hideaways Exuma Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 8, 2017 via mobile

Wife and I spent a week in Dec for some sun and fun. We were in villas #14(1 bedroom villas with ocean view, actually beach front). The room was clean and comfortable. Kitchen had bare essentials but no stove. It had microwave and small fridge. Large bedroom with cold a/c. Living room and dining area a/c was not as cold but acceptable when bedroom door left open to help. We had small problem with tub facet the first night but they took care of it immediately upon our report. It located on beautiful beach with Elizabeth harbor view. Splash bar and grill was wonderful for any meals. Within walking distance to Jolly Beach(very quiet beautiful protected beach). Approximation 200 yds. Cleaned rooms daily with fresh towels. Free shuttle to Georgetown 4x daily. Approximately 1 1/2 miles. We walked it twice.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank blhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bev B, other at Hideaways at Palm Bay, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2018

Hello Blhead,

Thank you for being our guest. Your comments are very valuable and we want to express our gratitude to you for taking a moment to share your experience on our property. Feedback such as yours is highly regarded and helps us maintain the superior service our guests deserve.

If you would rather have a stove as well as a full kitchen, we do offer Villas which have these amenities. Our One Bedroom Partial Oceanview Villa category may be a good option for your next stay!

We would be delighted to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards,
The Hideaways Exuma Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 23, 2017

Positives:
Hotel: great view, nearby restaurants (5-10min walking distance) and car rental
Room: awesome view, spacious, nice kitchen with utensils

Negatives:
Hotel: breakfast (consists of: bagel, bread, butter, creamcheese, cornflakes ... and that's it), hotel restaurant was not working due to low season and opened only on the last day (breakfast now included also boiled eggs, so basically no difference)
Room: there is no wi-fi in the rroms!!! This was a major disapointment since we were taking great pictures of the trip and we were not able to share them with friends and family. Wi-fi was only available at the hotel lobby. Also, since the room is in front of the beach, floors were kinda sticky probably due to sea air, despite the room being cleaned everyday.

Be aware that you will have to pay local taxes on arrival, and they are not cheap. Make sure to include in your expenses outlook of the trip.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank KarolWeiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bev B, Guest Services at Hideaways at Palm Bay, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2017

Hello KarolWeiss,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback about your vacation at Hideaways. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay here with us and had an enjoyable and memorable time with your family!

You are right the internet isn't great here or in Exuma on a whole, it is definitely not what you would expect in a big city. Internet service is probably 10 years behind what you would expect in most places. We have learnt to be patient as they are promising new systems will be in place soon (Island Time). Our Lobby, Restaurant and Hospitality Center generally has stable wi-fi, alternately there are the complimentary guest computers that are hard wired so you can always stay in touch if the wi-fi on the island is down.

Unfortunately, all booking companies have different policies. When booking a reservation with companies such as Expedia, tax and fees are payable at check in as Expedia policy will not allow payment of these prior to arrival. Tax and fees for an Expedia reservation are $54.83/night. This information should be included in your original confirmation from them. When guests are booking direct all tax and fees are included in the total reservation price. We do not wish for our guests to feel we are not disclosing all appropriate information prior to arrival and we are sorry you were caught off guard at check in! This is not our intent and hopefully this helps clear things up for future travelers!

We do offer returning guest discounts for our direct bookings and would be delighted to welcome you again. It would be wonderful to welcome you while Splash is open for business as we hope to show you how great dining there can be! Should you wish to make another reservation, please do not hesitate to contact us directly.

Kind Regards,
The Hideaways Exuma Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 20, 2017

This place is amazing! I stayed here with my wife and son and it's just a joy! The place was above average! Right by a beach with stingrays!!! It was still safe. Just don't approach a stingray from behind! (That's how Steve Irwin died) I learned that from the locals. The front desk was just amazing! So helpful and so incredible! Lawrence got us started. He is so good! Jeremy front desk as well was helpful. Rogers helped us with our luggages. Chelus worked with our room and painted the room next door. Had a nice conversation with him. Petrah pointed us to Comfort Tours who were the best guides all day! Definitely take the 8 hour boat tour to the pig beach!!! WOW!!!! What an experience!!!!! Rod fixed our AC. It was not broken. We just didn't know how to turn it on. Jeremy the security guard took us to dinner and back safely! I was with two ladies who were both friend of mine from Mexico. What an incredible experience. LIKE FAMILY!!!

Room Tip: COMFORT TOURS for the 8 hour tour. It's $100 for kids and $200 for adults. BUT WORTH IT!!! TRUST ME!!!!!!
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Samuel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bev B, other at Hideaways at Palm Bay, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2018

Hello Samuel,

Wow, I would like to sincerely thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Hideaways, Exuma on TripAdvisor. As we constantly try to exceed our guests’ expectations, it is truly gratifying to know that you had a comfortable stay with us and that every aspect of your stay was excellent.

We are a family-owned and -operated management company, and to hear you felt like family while staying with us is one of the best compliments we could receive!

I sincerely hope that you will have the opportunity to visit us again here at Hideaways Exuma. We would be delighted to welcome you again. Should you wish to make another reservation, please do not hesitate to contact us directly.

Warm Wishes,
The Hideaways Exuma Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews