We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (593)
Filter reviews
593 results
Traveller rating
309
189
54
28
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
309
189
54
28
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jolly hall beach splash bar free shuttle fish fry stocking island full kitchen bedroom cottage water taxi ocean side paddle boards car rental hotel restaurant visiting exuma chat n chill laid back beautiful beach pizza
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 593 reviews
Reviewed June 10, 2018 via mobile

I stayed at Hideaways in an ocean side cottage Ocean View number 12 which was absolutely Charming. The beach is gorgeous. Splash Bar and Grill is convenient. The staff was extremely Pleasant. Unfortunately I had a family emergency and had to leave early but the staff and management were very understanding. I will be back. The only word of caution is watch out for the sand fleas, you cannot see them but they bite.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled solo
Thank Tina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HideawaysPalmBay, Guest Services at Hideaways at Palm Bay, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2018

Hello Tina,

We are sorry that your stay got cut short but are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us in the time you had.
It would be so wonderful to be able to welcome you back to Exuma and hope we can do that soon!

We're waiting for you!

Warm Wishes,
The Hideaways Exuma Team.




Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 8, 2018 via mobile

$168 for a night after the island flooded, with discount. Seemed good.

$97 in additional "service charges" no-one can explain. Enforced $300 "incidentals" deposit despite none available or wanted. Mediocre burger and pizza menu with restaurant bill $50-100 including minimums and 5% card "fee".

Nearly $600 final withdrawal on card for 12hrs from reception.

Yes it's a nice-looking bay, but the attitude is revolting. This isn't February Point, and there are plenty of beaches. A villa motel debiting $600 is outrageous.

Take your money and spend it on smaller, more competitive places on Airbnb.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Alex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HideawaysPalmBay, Guest Services at Hideaways at Palm Bay, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2018

Hello Alex,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Hideaways.

We would love to hear from you directly to get a clearer picture of your service charges you are inquiring about as well as the $600 final withdraw. If you have any charge disputes we would love to help! If you are wondering about our tax and fees, I will supply a break down below to hopefully help.

The resort fee covers the following:

. Free Wireless Internet (public areas including Beach Bar & Grill, Swimming Pools, Lobby, Hospitality Centre, Beachside)
. Complimentary Guest Computers with internet access
. Beach Towel Service
. Complimentary Shuttle Bus to and from Georgetown
. Complimentary Kayaks, Paddle Boards, Row Boats & Peddle boats
. Use of Fitness Room

We also have a service and auxiliary fee, a tourist levy and a VAT (sales tax) of 7.5%. These taxes are all standard and are included in pricing for direct reservations. Some 3rd party companies, such as Expedia will not take our taxes prior to arrival resulting in the payment being taken at check in. We try to be clear with our fees for upcoming guest via a pre arrival email and apologize if you were missed in this communication. We never wish to blind side our guests at check in!


At check a 300 dollar deposit is taken as a hold on your credit card, this is released at check in and is standard for most hotels. There should never be a full charge, only a hold of the amount you are able to use towards restaurant charges ect. To avoid any not wanted credit card charges, such as the 5% fee, you are welcome to charge all meals to your room to pay upon check out. I am sorry if this information was not given to you by our staff.

We hope, even after your disappointment with our tax and fees you enjoyed your stay on Exuma and wish to return. We do offer returning guest discounts to all of our returning guests and would love to be able to welcome you again in the future to show you how great we can be.

Please feel free to contact us directly so we can be more clear on the issues you have brought forward as well as in the future if you wish to return to Exuma so we can give you a quote inclusive of our tax and fees as well as a returning guest discount.

Wishing you all the best,
The Hideaways Exuma Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 26, 2018

We stayed in a 2 bedroom fully serviced bungalow on the water. It was immaculate. Very clean throughout, The owners were very involved with the day to day operations and extremely engaged with all the guests . You felt a bit like extended family. The Hide Aways have kayaks for use right off the beach, Internet in the common areas and cute little cats that mingle with guests and act as mascots . It is central 10 min to town via hotel shuttle and amazing beaches . Great for couples or family

Stayed: February 2018
Thank Ann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HideawaysPalmBay, Guest Services at Hideaways at Palm Bay, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2018

Hello Ann D,

Thank you for reviewing us. We appreciate the time it took to review our hotel and are over joyed to hear you enjoyed your stay and felt so welcomed! We are one of the few resorts on the island that offer complimentary water sports and hope you got a chance to get out on the water to utilize them!

Thank you again for your review and choosing to stay with us at Hideaways. We look forward to having you back with us again!

Best Regards,
The Hideaways Exuma Team.



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 23, 2018 via mobile

I stayed here for the weekend and had an amazing and relaxing time. The villas are nice and the entire island is not very much visited, so it felt like we were the only tourists in town.

The staff is really friendly and very polite. They have a restaurant called splash which is cozy. They close the kitchen early, so make sure you get there before 8pm! Breakfast is included with the stay, but the complimentary breakfast wasn’t very appealing. However, you do get an upgrade option to any breakfast in the menu for only $5!

You are right on the beach which is fantastic. The villas have the rooms on the bottom floor and on the second floor you have a full kitchen, living room area with couches and TV and a balcony.

The WiFi was out in our side of the resort, so they provided us with a router to make sure we had strong connection to WiFi during our stay. Also, they have complimentary water sports on premises.

The property gives you a card for beach towel. You trade-in the card for a beach towel and exchange them at your leisure for a new one.

We really enjoyed our stay and will definitely return!!

Btw! They do charge for late check out. $25.00 for every hour.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
2  Thank Andrea N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HideawaysPalmBay, Guest Services at Hideaways at Palm Bay, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2018

Hello Andrea N,

The desire for you to return is the biggest compliment we can receive, so thank you.

We are overjoyed you had a relaxing stay with us. One of the appeals of Exuma is you often feel like you are the only tourists on island and you can spend time with your loved ones exploring and visiting beaches where you often WILL be the only patrons on.

Thank you for being our guest. I sincerely hope that you will have the opportunity to visit us again here at Hideaways Exuma. We would be delighted to welcome you again. Should you wish to make another reservation, please do not hesitate to contact us directly.

Warm Wishes,
The Hideaways Exuma Team.




Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 5, 2018

We stayed six weeks, Feb to March, 2018 in an ocean front cottage. The location was perfect, right on the beach and a short walk to Jolly Hall beach. We enjoyed going to the pool which was kept up very well. There were always lounge chairs available for use. The paddle boards and kayaks were free and always available. Splash restaurant is good and convenient but the service is slow and some of the servers have a bad attitude. The conch chowder is amazing and the pizzas are great too. Too bad, shortly after we arrived in February, the prices on the menu went up.With our low CAD (35% exchange rate) and 7.5% VAT, it ends up almost doubling the cost of food. Some of the front staff were great, especially the supervisor and Jeremy. Hats off to "Bell" who always works very hard and always has a smile on her face. The shuttle in to George Town is so convenient for groceries or going to the Water Taxi. The Wi-fi in our unit was great. We enjoyed the music playing at Latitudes adjacent to our hotel on Friday nights. Ron the owner, was always friendly and very helpfull. Overall, we enjoy our stay at the Hideaways and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
9  Thank PaulandDanita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HideawaysPalmBay, Guest Services at Hideaways at Palm Bay, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2018

Hello Paul and Danita,

We are so glad to hear from you and pleased you had a great stay with us here at Hideaways.

Service on the island is generally slower, including SPLASH as everything is made to order. This ensures each meal comes out hot, fresh and exactly how it was ordered. We are sorry that you had negative experiences with some of the staff. We will share this with the Splash team and hope to improve our services for future guests.

We are very much looking forward to having you back with us! It was such a pleasure having you.

Warm Wishes,
The Hideaways Exuma Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews