We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (592)
Filter reviews
592 results
Traveller rating
308
189
54
28
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
308
189
54
28
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jolly hall beach splash bar free shuttle fish fry stocking island full kitchen bedroom cottage water taxi ocean side paddle boards car rental close to town hotel restaurant visiting exuma chat n chill laid back beautiful beach
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 592 reviews
Reviewed June 25, 2018

Was it perfect, no...was it worth it, yes!! Look there are things that any one can nit-pick about, but overall, we were in paradise. The Hideaways had a VERY friendly staff: Annette and Jeremy at reception were very helpful and so friendly! Shakara (sp?) and Darren drove the shuttle and were so accommodating and always provided great info on places and things to see/do. Do note that Hideaways also offers a concierge service and will pick up many groceries items in advance of your stay and have it in your condo (they provide a small list of available items, and have and 18% service charge). The on-site restaurant/bar was great...There are swings around the bar, and it is fully screened in. Lots of funny signs, some tv's, pool table and a vies of the ocean. They have breakfast (continental), lunch and dinner. We did pizza a couple times because it was very reasonably priced ($24 for a large), tasted really good and the large was perfect for a family of four. It was super cheesy, but I like cheese!! You can buy ice there for your excursions, but honestly the prices are little higher than a market.
We rented condo #37 directly from the owners, who worked with Hideaways to make our arrangements. The condo was a reverse floor plan, and was very spacious. While you could easily sleep 6-8, the owners only allow 4 max. This keeps the wear and tear down for sure, but really makes this place seem HUGE. The bedrooms are both very large with full baths, a large set of storage rounds out the first floor and then upstairs is gorgeous vaulted ceilings, full washer/dryer, 1/2 bath, full kitchen, small dining and living room. Excellent views from the windows/balcony of the ocean. The condo has a lot to offer, but be aware that the kitchen is missing a few things to make it complete (we emailed the owner about these, and they indicated that they were being addressed immediately). The pictures, do not do it justice!

Room Tip: The condos have greatviews, but the studios have the best ones...as they face the ocean.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank Todd T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HideawaysPalmBay, Guest Services at Hideaways at Palm Bay, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2018

Hello Todd T,

Thank you for sharing such kind words with the TripAdvisor community.
Hearing that you enjoyed your accommodations and our services as well as your time at Splash is so wonderful. We are lucky to have had such great guests and we hope that we can welcome you and your family again soon!

Warm Wishes,
The Hideaways Exuma Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 19, 2018

We stayed for 6 nights in a 2 bedroom beach villa. We absolutely loved the location and the beach in front. The snorkeling out front was incredible. The resort has a decent restaurant on site which is convenient. There are also other restaurants near by. Staff is very pleasant! Had an excellent stay and hope to be back.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank indiana1231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HideawaysPalmBay, Guest Services at Hideaways at Palm Bay, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2018

Dear Indiana1231,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us on TripAdvisor. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed our accommodations, services and got out to explore the waters around us!

We would love to be able to welcome you back again in the future. If you ever wish to book a return stay, please do not hesitate to reach out to us directly.

Have a wonderful rest of your summer!

Warm Regards,
Hideaways Exuma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 10, 2018 via mobile

I stayed at Hideaways in an ocean side cottage Ocean View number 12 which was absolutely Charming. The beach is gorgeous. Splash Bar and Grill is convenient. The staff was extremely Pleasant. Unfortunately I had a family emergency and had to leave early but the staff and management were very understanding. I will be back. The only word of caution is watch out for the sand fleas, you cannot see them but they bite.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled solo
Thank Tina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HideawaysPalmBay, Guest Services at Hideaways at Palm Bay, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2018

Hello Tina,

We are sorry that your stay got cut short but are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us in the time you had.
It would be so wonderful to be able to welcome you back to Exuma and hope we can do that soon!

We're waiting for you!

Warm Wishes,
The Hideaways Exuma Team.




Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 8, 2018 via mobile

$168 for a night after the island flooded, with discount. Seemed good.

$97 in additional "service charges" no-one can explain. Enforced $300 "incidentals" deposit despite none available or wanted. Mediocre burger and pizza menu with restaurant bill $50-100 including minimums and 5% card "fee".

Nearly $600 final withdrawal on card for 12hrs from reception.

Yes it's a nice-looking bay, but the attitude is revolting. This isn't February Point, and there are plenty of beaches. A villa motel debiting $600 is outrageous.

Take your money and spend it on smaller, more competitive places on Airbnb.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Alex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HideawaysPalmBay, Guest Services at Hideaways at Palm Bay, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2018

Hello Alex,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Hideaways.

We would love to hear from you directly to get a clearer picture of your service charges you are inquiring about as well as the $600 final withdraw. If you have any charge disputes we would love to help! If you are wondering about our tax and fees, I will supply a break down below to hopefully help.

The resort fee covers the following:

. Free Wireless Internet (public areas including Beach Bar & Grill, Swimming Pools, Lobby, Hospitality Centre, Beachside)
. Complimentary Guest Computers with internet access
. Beach Towel Service
. Complimentary Shuttle Bus to and from Georgetown
. Complimentary Kayaks, Paddle Boards, Row Boats & Peddle boats
. Use of Fitness Room

We also have a service and auxiliary fee, a tourist levy and a VAT (sales tax) of 7.5%. These taxes are all standard and are included in pricing for direct reservations. Some 3rd party companies, such as Expedia will not take our taxes prior to arrival resulting in the payment being taken at check in. We try to be clear with our fees for upcoming guest via a pre arrival email and apologize if you were missed in this communication. We never wish to blind side our guests at check in!


At check a 300 dollar deposit is taken as a hold on your credit card, this is released at check in and is standard for most hotels. There should never be a full charge, only a hold of the amount you are able to use towards restaurant charges ect. To avoid any not wanted credit card charges, such as the 5% fee, you are welcome to charge all meals to your room to pay upon check out. I am sorry if this information was not given to you by our staff.

We hope, even after your disappointment with our tax and fees you enjoyed your stay on Exuma and wish to return. We do offer returning guest discounts to all of our returning guests and would love to be able to welcome you again in the future to show you how great we can be.

Please feel free to contact us directly so we can be more clear on the issues you have brought forward as well as in the future if you wish to return to Exuma so we can give you a quote inclusive of our tax and fees as well as a returning guest discount.

Wishing you all the best,
The Hideaways Exuma Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 26, 2018

We stayed in a 2 bedroom fully serviced bungalow on the water. It was immaculate. Very clean throughout, The owners were very involved with the day to day operations and extremely engaged with all the guests . You felt a bit like extended family. The Hide Aways have kayaks for use right off the beach, Internet in the common areas and cute little cats that mingle with guests and act as mascots . It is central 10 min to town via hotel shuttle and amazing beaches . Great for couples or family

Stayed: February 2018
Thank Ann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HideawaysPalmBay, Guest Services at Hideaways at Palm Bay, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2018

Hello Ann D,

Thank you for reviewing us. We appreciate the time it took to review our hotel and are over joyed to hear you enjoyed your stay and felt so welcomed! We are one of the few resorts on the island that offer complimentary water sports and hope you got a chance to get out on the water to utilize them!

Thank you again for your review and choosing to stay with us at Hideaways. We look forward to having you back with us again!

Best Regards,
The Hideaways Exuma Team.



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews