We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another lovely stay”
Review of The Moorings Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Moorings Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Banavie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 October 2017

We had booked an executive room as a special treat for our joint big birthdays. We were not disappointed. The view from the balcony was amazing and the room was very spacious, and comfortable.
I still wish they had a lift though :) The meals we had were very tasty and on the last evening, despite being short staffed the service was excellent.
Thank you.

Room Tip: Room 33 had a lovely balcony view of Ben Nevis
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sandie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (750)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 750 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2017 via mobile

Fly in our food, the chicken was pink, broken window handles, abrupt cleaners, unpleasant staff, just a bad experience altogether. NOT coming back!
Although it was a very clean hotel, though the rooms were very hot!
Macaroni was tasteless! The man that fixed our window was very nice and one young waitress was very nice and talkative but the rest of the staff weren't. Not impressed.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Thank rm110113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MooringsTeam, Manager at The Moorings Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Dear Sir/ Madam,

I would like to firstly apologise that you did not have an enjoyable stay with us here at the Moorings Hotel. I would like to look into your comments further and would appreciate a little more information on when you stayed. Could you please email me direct on catriona@moorings-fortwilliam.co.uk.

Kind Regards
Catriona Jackson
The Moorings Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017 via mobile

Stayed here on a Sunday night on way to Skye. Easy check in with friendly staff and shown to our room which had a balcony overlooking Neptune’s staircase. It was a fantastic room very spacious and spotlessly clean and added bonus of a coffee machine. Cooked breakfast was good and service first class. Only downside was eating in the Bistro on the Sunday night and although the food was of a decent standard the service was poor. Having ordered a drink and food at the same time got our starter after 15 minutes followed by the drink 5 minutes later having to re order after being told there was no San Miguel or Guinness. After finishing the main course we sat for about 20 minutes,the empty plates not removed and never asked if we wanted anything else. This was despite staff walking past serving other tables. Gave up and went to the bar. Would definitely stay here again although probably not eat in the Bistro

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Rob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017

Spent two nights here as a party of four. Rooms were well equipped, modern and spacious. Staff were helpful, smiling and friendly throughout our stay. Breakfast was cooked to order, well prepared and faultless in taste. Sadly, I can't comment on the food apart from the breakfast as the hotel had no Sky TV. Ordinarily this would not be an issue, but there was an important World Cup football match that evening, leaving us to find another venue for dinner. What I can say is that the menu reflected a price range similar to the best restaurants in Glasgow.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Michael19824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017 via mobile

Went here for a birthday.The afternoon tea was excellent. Nice warm atmosphere in the Bistro. Staff were great and arranged for boxes to take home what we could not eat. Nice view over the canal and we had a lovely time here. Thank you very much. Would certainty recommend the afternoon tea.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank henrye147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017

The hotel room was clean but really quite small for a twin. A friend who was travelling on his own also had a twin room which was twice the size of our room with two of us in it. There was no heating in the room or the bathroom. Towels had no way to dry and so were still wet in the morning from being used the night before. Having run the Glencoe marathon we had a pile of soaking clothes which we had no way of drying. The night we stayed there was a function on in the hotel and unfortunately our room was almost directly above it. The noise was simply unbearable and despite complaining and the music being turned down we could still hear every word being sung. The hotel knew we wanted an early breakfast and there were surely quieter rooms we could have been allocated. We would not have stayed here if we had been told about the party and the possibility of the noise.

Our meal in the Bistro was also very disappointing the first night. The second night our food was much better - maybe they had been too busy catering for the function.

The early breakfast was great and on our second morning we were able to make the most of the cooked Scottish Breakfast which was great.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room if there is going to be a function on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jac N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

Stayed here for two nights and would highly recommend it. Very comfortable and well-appointed room. Food - both the choice and quality - in the bistro was excellent and the young staff were very pleasant and attentive. A minor hiccup at Sunday morning breakfast did not dilute the five-star experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the canal locks
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DittoGG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banavie
2.7 km away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
624 reviews
2.6 km away
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
2.5 km away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#3 of 21 in Fort William
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#11 of 21 in Fort William
1,092 reviews
2.2 km away
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
#14 of 21 in Fort William
1,050 reviews
4 km away
Cruachan Hotel
Cruachan Hotel
#13 of 21 in Fort William
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Moorings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Moorings Hotel

Address: Fort William, Banavie, Fort William PH33 7LY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William > Banavie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Banavie
Price Range: $122 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Moorings Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Moorings lies alongside the Caledonian Canal at the famous Neptune's Staircase. One of Fort William's finest establishments, The Moorings offers excellent cuisine and service. With splendid panoramic views of Ben Nevis and Aonach Mor, Moorings Hotel offers comfort and modern facilities. Here, you will receive a warm Highland welcome from friendly staff. The Moorings offers award-winning cuisine in Neptune's Restaurant, using fine Scottish produce, including west coast seafood and Highland game. Bar meals are available in the less formal Upper Deck Lounge Bar, where a range of malt whiskies may be sampled. In the summer, the Mariners Cellar Bar features a nautical theme. The refurbished bedrooms have every modern luxury. The Moorings is an excellent base for touring the romantic West Highlands. We offer all of our guests a complimentary round of golf at Fort William Golf Course and free use of our Fitness Suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Moorings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moorings Hotel Fort William

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing