We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (803)
Filter reviews
803 results
Traveller rating
356
265
118
43
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
356
265
118
43
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsneptune's staircasecaledonian canalben nevissuperior roomlovely hotelnew wingbar mealstwo night staylovely roomthe jacobite steam trainno liftbiscuitsfort williamspent two nightsdining roomstayed for one nightfull scottish breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
74 - 79 of 803 reviews
Reviewed October 17, 2017 via mobile

Fly in our food, the chicken was pink, broken window handles, abrupt cleaners, unpleasant staff, just a bad experience altogether. NOT coming back!
Although it was a very clean hotel, though the rooms were very hot!
Macaroni was tasteless! The man that fixed our window was very nice and one young waitress was very nice and talkative but the rest of the staff weren't. Not impressed.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Thank rm110113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MooringsTeam, Manager at The Moorings Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2017

Dear Sir/ Madam,

I would like to firstly apologise that you did not have an enjoyable stay with us here at the Moorings Hotel. I would like to look into your comments further and would appreciate a little more information on when you stayed. Could you please email me direct on catriona@moorings-fortwilliam.co.uk.

Kind Regards
Catriona Jackson
The Moorings Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 16, 2017 via mobile

Stayed here on a Sunday night on way to Skye. Easy check in with friendly staff and shown to our room which had a balcony overlooking Neptune’s staircase. It was a fantastic room very spacious and spotlessly clean and added bonus of a coffee machine. Cooked breakfast was good and service first class. Only downside was eating in the Bistro on the Sunday night and although the food was of a decent standard the service was poor. Having ordered a drink and food at the same time got our starter after 15 minutes followed by the drink 5 minutes later having to re order after being told there was no San Miguel or Guinness. After finishing the main course we sat for about 20 minutes,the empty plates not removed and never asked if we wanted anything else. This was despite staff walking past serving other tables. Gave up and went to the bar. Would definitely stay here again although probably not eat in the Bistro

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Rob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 14, 2017

Spent two nights here as a party of four. Rooms were well equipped, modern and spacious. Staff were helpful, smiling and friendly throughout our stay. Breakfast was cooked to order, well prepared and faultless in taste. Sadly, I can't comment on the food apart from the breakfast as the hotel had no Sky TV. Ordinarily this would not be an issue, but there was an important World Cup football match that evening, leaving us to find another venue for dinner. What I can say is that the menu reflected a price range similar to the best restaurants in Glasgow.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Michael19824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 11, 2017 via mobile

Went here for a birthday.The afternoon tea was excellent. Nice warm atmosphere in the Bistro. Staff were great and arranged for boxes to take home what we could not eat. Nice view over the canal and we had a lovely time here. Thank you very much. Would certainty recommend the afternoon tea.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank henrye147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 10, 2017

The hotel room was clean but really quite small for a twin. A friend who was travelling on his own also had a twin room which was twice the size of our room with two of us in it. There was no heating in the room or the bathroom. Towels had no way to dry and so were still wet in the morning from being used the night before. Having run the Glencoe marathon we had a pile of soaking clothes which we had no way of drying. The night we stayed there was a function on in the hotel and unfortunately our room was almost directly above it. The noise was simply unbearable and despite complaining and the music being turned down we could still hear every word being sung. The hotel knew we wanted an early breakfast and there were surely quieter rooms we could have been allocated. We would not have stayed here if we had been told about the party and the possibility of the noise.

Our meal in the Bistro was also very disappointing the first night. The second night our food was much better - maybe they had been too busy catering for the function.

The early breakfast was great and on our second morning we were able to make the most of the cooked Scottish Breakfast which was great.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room if there is going to be a function on.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jac N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews