We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Beautiful Country Park”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dare Valley Country Park
Ranked #1 of 1 Trecynon B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Dare Valley Country Park is a gem in the Welsh countryside. Open spaces and an abundance of wildlife and nature trails make this a must visit. Peaceful walks through woodland and marvellous scenery make this a first rate place to visit with a family. Food is available in the friendly restaurant at reasonable prices.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank RonboKirriemuir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (10)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 10 of 10 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2013

well got to say, just spent 3 nights on this camp site, my first time camping for over 20 years, it was great, the staff very friendly,greeting when arrived, and every part of the site was soooo clean, showers hot, cafe was great, lovely walks views, even let me have a look at the hotel rooms, for older family if want to come stay but not camp in a tent, def will be back very soon, and no rip off prices, well done all who work and run this site,,,susan thomas,

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WalesSusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We stayed here between visiting St Fagans and Brecon Beacon. The park is just at the edge of Brecon Beacon national park, and there's a lot of nice walks out from here.
Nice area for camping both with caravans and tents.
There's a riding stable that makes guided rides into the national park.
A lot of nice eating places and shopping in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2013

The walks and the views here are amazing. You can climb high or take a stroll around the lakes.

Our children cycle their bikes here and it is so safe with no traffic.

Lots of wildlife to see, particularly if you are lucky to see the otters and the peregrines. The visitors centre is worth a look even to see the feeding station and all the different birds.

There are plenty of things for the kids to do, and the food is very nice and well priced.

There is a campsite and a hotel / hostel here but cannot comment on it personally as we have not stayed, but have family and friends who use it regularly and love it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ClareD670206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013 via mobile

Just stayed at the campsite in Dare Valley. The campsite is run well, with marshall on duty for any problems. The shower and toilet facilities are kept clean and close to the pitches. Our pitch was right next to the big park and is great for any age kids. There is a cafe onsite that serve food and drinks which are reasonably price. Overall was great place to camp and loads to do in area.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank welshpete09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

We visited Dare Valley Country Park yesterday and had a wonderful time. My boyfriend was brought up in the area and hadn't been since school, and I had never visited before. The photos in the visitor centre were fascinating and told a lot about the heritage of the area. The park itself was lovely and I was really impressed at the lack of litter etc around.

Really interesting how following some mild regeneration in the 1970s, nature has reclaimed the site. Will definitely return and only wish we lived closer.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Sheli_Cymraes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Dare Valley Country Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dare Valley Country Park

Address: Trecynon CF44 7RG, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Rhondda Cynon Taff > Trecynon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Trecynon
Price Range: $75 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dare Valley Country Park 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape into the glorious countryside of Dare Valley Country Park and discover one of the best kept secrets in Wales! Set in 500 acres of outstanding countryside. Dare Valley Country Park was the first country park in England and Wales to be created from land ravaged by industry. Nineteen pits and drift mines once tore open the land and the countryside was black. Today the river Dare tumbles and meanders from the mountains in the north west of Cynon Valley through a valley of oak, birch and alder. Waymarked trails and orienteering courses take you alongside streams and lakes or climbing to panoramic views. The woodland has regenerated and wildlife abounds. Wild flowers colour the hillsides in the spring and summer while Herons, Coots, Dippers and Cormorants make their home in the lake. Our two star accommodation offers comfortable surroundings at a reasonable price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Dare Valley Country Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing