We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food, great service!”
Review of Moorings Bistro

Moorings Bistro
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Overlooking the beautiful and tranquil bay of Borth-y-Gest, the Mooring's Bistro team welcomes you in a friendly and relaxed atmosphere. Offering an inventive menu, prepared with the freshest local ingredients available, the restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. In addition to the cosy fireplace inside, our heated terrace allows you to make the most of the stunning views, even in the winter. . Please check opening hours. Bookings recommended but not necessary. Lunch served from 11 am to 2pm. Dinner from 5.30 pm to 9pm. Breakfast 9.30 am to 11 am week-ends only
Reviewed September 9, 2018

'Moorings' is a small Bistro, so booking is generally recommended. This was our second visit, and we were not disappointed. The staff - especially the Scottish lady - are friendly, efficient and knowledgeable about their food and wine. The venue is lovely, tasteful and understated, very comfortable (with some outside tables under awnings) overlooking the lovely small harbour and bay. The menu is varied, but is particularly strong on seafood. All three of our party had different starters, mains (Lamb Tajine, Lemon Sole and Chicken Supreme) and desserts, all were excellent, and reasonably priced considering the high quality. We were recommended the 'Special' of the week, 'Passimento' from the Veneto, both the red and white were excellent, very velvety, very crisp! We will return!

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (514)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 36 of 514 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2018 via mobile

Ate here this evening with a couple of friends, very lucky to book a table yesterday as it was really busy. I had the chicken supreme with cider sauce & veg; my friends had the lamb tagine and the pork fillet with mango. All 3 meals were delicious. The staff were very friendly and helpful. There was a 40 minute wait for food as the mains seem to be served in table order and we didn't have starters; however this wasn't a problem as we had drinks and were offered garlic bread whilst we waited. Looking forward to visiting again, would maybe ask for a window table next time as they have a lovely view.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank MariaBow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 4, 2018 via mobile

Had supper here in this wonderful place on the terrace overlooking the river in September!! Rugs are thoughtfully provided should you feel chill at all. The food here is fresh beautifully cooked and very tasty. Linguine with past and chilli whilst my wife had honey glazed goats cheese eclair. For mains we had the spicy lamb tagine with couscous and fish of the day, sea bass with Provençal mash with crab dressing. Just superb. Dog friendly on the terrace too. The staff are all warm and friendly and it's a place we would highly recommend . A fantastic supper.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Barry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 31, 2018 via mobile

This was our first ever visit to the bistro and I’m glad we did. It is a small bistro, so would recommend you book a table. The food was excellent with my wife having the lamb and myself having the chicken. The menu is small but still has a great choice. Service was great.

Date of visit: August 2018
1  Thank Stephen_JF69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 25, 2018 via mobile

Sadly having been to this bistro many times and having wonderful service and friendly staff tonight was very disappointing. I have to admit not the usual staff (Scottish Lady) waiting on tonight. Waited one hour for mains and on asking for desert was told I did tell you we had sold out!!! In a stern voice. Too much attitude and a friendly smile would have not gone a miss. I did enjoy my main course although there was a large chicken bone in the risotto element of the dish.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank trolley-dolly1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Moorings Bistro also viewed

Tremadog, Porthmadog
 
Porthmadog, Gwynedd
 

Been to Moorings Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing