We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic place to stay with young children...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Upstairs Balcony Off Master Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
112 reviews
Upstairs Balcony Off Master Bedroom
View from Upstairs Balcony
Front Porch with swinging chair
Covered Patio
Side view with wooded area to the front
Side View with covered patio area to the rear
Clover Cabin
Childrens play area
Childrens Tree House
Master Bedroom with Adjoining Balcony
Adjoining the Master Bedroom is a kids room 2 x 70cm x 160cm Beds
Double Room Downstairs
Fully Stocked Kitchen
Bathroom Adjoining the Kids Bedroom
Counter Bar and Log Fire
Living Area
Extendable Dining Table Sits 6
Large sand/beach area down at the pond
Winter At the Cabin
Cabin at night
Floor Plan
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Gowran, County Kilkenny

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 112 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Jen P
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic place to stay with young children - very relaxing!”
Reviewed January 21, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

We had a fanstastic 4 night break here with friends, and our children (between us: two 3 yr olds and a baby). Owners responded promptly to email enquiries. Very clean, plenty of towels, nice furnishings, toys, board games etc.. Kids loved playhouse and swings outside. Location great: took us 1 hr 20 from Dublin airport, and plenty to explore locally (with a car). Were made to feel at home with homemade scones on arrival. Would be lovely to visit again in the summertime...

Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jan 2016
We are really delighted you enjoyed your stay at the cabin and thank you so much for taking the time to review our property . We hope to see ye again in the future
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aoibhe R
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mrs”
Reviewed November 2, 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here with our 3 kids, they were mesmerised by the stunning surroundings of the place, especially the kids tree house! Cabin was gorgeous, you could feel the love that went into the whole building. And the piping hot homemade scones on arrival was a very warm welcome. Can't recommend the place enough! We'll be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Nov 2015
A real big thank you for your very kind comments ,we're delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again in the future
Fergal and Annette
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niamh B
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed October 13, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Amazing family holiday. The cabin is gorgeous and so comfortable with that fabulous stove . The children loved all the space in the gardens and the swings and slide were such a bonus. Fergal was so lovely to deal with. We even had fresh homemade scones on arrival. Can't wait to get back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Oct 2015
Thank you so much for your very kind comments and for taking the time to write them we really appreciate it. looking forward to welcoming you and your family again at the cabin.
Regards
Fergal and Annette
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince K
Dumbarton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic Stay, Highly Recommend”
Reviewed October 6, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We stayed for a week so that we could visit our family in Portlaoise. Fergal was an absolute gentlemen, the outside space was fantastic for a having a BBQ. The lodge was pristine. We're definitely going back next year. 5 stars.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful and Traquil Setting
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Oct 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to review and for your very kind comments
Looking forward to greeting you soon again at the cabin
Fergal and Annette
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick P
Wexford, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A wonderful holiday!”
Reviewed September 25, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We recently spent a week in Clover Cabin. The cabin is spotless, well furnished and cosy. We were welcomed by Fergal with fresh eggs and scones. There is everything from a bottle opener to a hammock! The outdoor amenities are superb and ideal for children.The cabins seclusion allows for a peaceful break yet close enough to Lyrath for afternoon tea, Watershed for a swim, Smithwicks for a tour and a pint, Kilkenny for shopping and the castle, Gowran for the delights of Glasrai and Goodies.It is good, very good. We loved it so much we have already booked to return next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Sep 2015
Thanks for the wonderful review of the cabin and its surrounding amenities
looking forward to seeing you back in the cabin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWanderlu...
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect relaxing trip. Didn't want to leave!!”
Reviewed September 22, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We stayed for 2 nights recently. From the moment we entered the cabin we could tell it was going to be a lovely homely stay. Everything is absolutely spotless. All the dishes, utensils etc were so perfect that it felt like they were brand new! Fergal welcomed us with homemade scones and told us where to find the firewood. Although not far from many amenities, the cabin feels quite secluded. There is a lovely balcony off the main bedroom for morning coffee. The bathroom is spotless clean with a lovely big bath. The garden and BBQ area are quite large and the perfect setting for dinner with family or friends. It's a different experience than staying at a hotel and we can't wait to return someday soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Sep 2015
Thanks so much for a lovely positive review , we're glad you enjoyed your stay so much and look forward to welcoming you again at the cabin
Fergal and Annette
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DenAbdill...
Malta
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“An Absolutely Fantastic Experience”
Reviewed September 18, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

The Cabin was very welcoming and spotlessly clean! The garden was wonderful with ample fun space for our daughter to play. Ample wood was provided to use for the wood burning stove and kitchen was also well equipped. Nothing negative to say. Will surely revisit in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Sep 2015
Thanks for all your positive comments ,we hope to see you again at the cabin
Regards
Fergal and Annette
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing