We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The perfect minimoon!”
other travellers have booked this property
The Secret Yurts at sunrise ...
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Secret Yurts at sunrise ...
The Secret Yurts Kingsize bed Peek inside The Secret Yurts
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
The Secret Yurts at sunrise ...
The Secret Yurts Kingsize bed
Peek inside The Secret Yurts
The Secret Yurts window to the stars and sun!
Peek inside The Secret Yurts
The Secret Yurts where dressing gowns are provided.
Romantic setting at The Secret Yurts
Luxury cosy bedding at The Secret Yurts
The Secret Yurts log burner and lanterns to keep you cosy!
The Secret Yurts luxury hot tub.
The Secret Yurts luxury hot tub.
The Secret Yurts sauna.
The Secret Yurts where you can dine alfresco!
The Secret Yurts kitchen
The Secret Yurts Kitchen
The Secret Yurts your own private, luxury warm shower room...
The Secret Yurts luxury wet-room.
Sunrise at The Secret Yurts
The Secret Yurts view from Oak Yurt deck.
The Secret Yurts luxury facilities are close by!
The Secret Yurts Rowan Yurt
The Secret Yurts
The Secret Yurts in the heart of Wales.
The secret Yurts king size bed.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Yurt -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Dolanog, Powys, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Amy C
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The perfect minimoon!”
Reviewed August 21, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

I cannot recommend this place enough. Tracey and Terry (not forgetting Mutley) are very welcoming and friendly and it does not escape you how much time, effort and attention to detail has gone into this place. The Yurts are large, tidy and beautifully decorated with lots of wood for the fire and big fluffy robes and towels provided. The kitchen and private bathroom were modern, beautiful and well equipped ... I had 2 showers a day it was so nice! The hot tub was a highlight for us, always warm and again well kept and clean. The lights and bluetooth and ice buckets made for some lovely romantic evenings. Its lovely and quiet here, especially at night when we cooked our food on the BBQ, went to our candlelit yurt or sat out on the deck watching the stars. The lack of TV, WIFI and bright lights works for this place you wont need or miss it and you really can escape from it all. We found ourselves sleeping really well on our big comfy bed. The only time I was sad and disappointed was when we had to go home ! there is lots of fridge and cupboard space so we really recommend bringing stuff with you but there are shops and pubs nearby. We will definitely return and I've recommended it to all my friends. Thanks again to Tracey and Terry for making our mini moon so special !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the fabulous facilities
Liked least: going home !
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DebandPau...
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Amazing relaxing weekend break”
Reviewed August 14, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

I booked the Secret Yurts as a surprise for my husband to celebrate our anniversary and what a wonderful surprise it was. Everything was perfect the yurt was beautiful and facilities were absolute luxury. The peaceful surroundings were just what we needed to unwind and recharge our batteries. I couldn't recommend the Secret Yurts enough, so much that we've already rebooked and this time we're taking our brother and sister in law as a surprise to celebrate a special birthday. Thank you Tracey and and Terry for a wonderful experience can't wait to return !!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Yurt and the hot tub
Liked least: Nothing it was perfect
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma-Jane...
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absolutely Fantastic!!!!”
Reviewed August 3, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Everything that we could have wanted from a weekend away. A blissful paradise away from our busy lives. Couldnt recommend The Secret Yurts highly enough! Already booked in for another weekend!

Arrived on Friday afternoon, cracked open a bottle of champagne and jumped in the hot tub and the weekend only got better from there.

Perfect facilities, perfect surroundings, perfect place!
So glad we found you!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being cut off from the world in such a fantastic oasis!
Liked least: That we had to leave!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luke705
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing getaway”
Reviewed July 31, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Booked this for my girlfriend's 30th birthday and I'm very glad I did - it was absolute luxury! I'd recommend this to anyone, loved the hot tub and the peaceful atmosphere.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenkenx
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Intimate, organic, flawless getaway!”
Reviewed June 23, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

My boyfriend and I visited the Secret Yurts in April this year to celebrate his 25th birthday. The location is beautiful and quiet... surrounded by big fields of green and herds of sheep! Coming from London, I truly appreciated the nature as it was something I am not used to! In the night you can see the stars glisten when you look up through the circular window at the top of the tent! Not something you see everyday...
The Rowan Yurt was magnificent. The bed was comfortable and the decoration was perfect. The wood burner kept us extremely warm, you wouldnt have known that it was 4 degrees outside! In the night, we lit up the lanterns with the candles provided which gave a extra romantic feel!
The kitchen is clean and sweetly decorated.
We were worried about the weather as it did rain a lot when we were there... This didnt alter the experience at all, we still drove down to Welshpool and enjoyed having a cup of hot chocolate in the day. On the day it wasn't raining we visited the Lake which was STUNNING! Absolutely breathtaking - would definitely recommend visiting this!
Our favourite thing... The hot tub is a great asset also, we spend almost 2 hours every night chilling out in the bubbles drinking champagne or wine!
We couldn't have been more happy with the three nights we spent here and wished we stayed longer! You can really feel how much time and care was put behind making everything extra special and it really does make the experience you have there feel extra special! Thank you Tracey and Terry

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayley C
England
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Perfect Relaxing Minibreak”
Reviewed May 24, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Found The Secret Yurts after googling "glamping with hot tub", and booked immediately a 2 night stay for my best friend's birthday, to have a relax and go for a walk in the beautiful Welsh countryside.
On arrival we were greeted by Tracey, who showed us around the site, there are 2 gorgeous yurts (Oak and Rowan), hot tub, shared kitchen, sauna, and separate wash room/toilets that are on the kitchen site.
The yurt itself is like a tardis! Has a little decking area on the outside with 2 chairs for relaxing, and then on the inside, a gorgeous king sized wood four poster bed (with an exceptionally warm duvet), blankets, clothes rail, dresser and wood burner (equipped with fire lighters, wood and coal). We hadn't used a wood burner before but it was pretty straight forward to use.
The yurt has a smoke detector and carbon monoxide detector just in case.
There are little lanterns all around the yurt for tealight candles, which gives the yurt a gorgeous romantic atmosphere at night, which again are supplied!
There is also a starlight in the roof of the yurt, which lets light in during the day, and allows you to see the stars at night. Unfortunately when we went it was cloudy, but there is pretty much zero light pollution around the yurts, so I imagine the sky would look amazing on a clear night.
The views all around the yurts is gorgeous Welsh countryside, I think I could see one other light at night! And lots of sheep as you would expect!
The bathroom was a nice and clean wet room, with a shower (rainfall and a handheld one), sink and toilet.
The sauna was standard wood, and next to the bathroom so you could get changed and get straight in the sauna. You can fit 2 in comfortably, but could probably get 4 in all sat down rather than lounging.
The kitchen was a really nice size, and well equipped with all the extras that you'd normally forget to bring such as tin foil! There are also ice buckets if you are wanting something for the hot tub :) (we took some prosecco in..)
There are 2 small barbecues that you'd be able to use on a nice day, although we didn't use these.
The hot tub is under a gazebo, so when it rains (which happened to us!), you are protected, and you can close the sides if it is really awful weather!! It's quite a fancy hot tub actually, with some really nice light settings for night time, and with massage settings too which were nice! There are some plastic wine glasses in the kitchen for taking your booze in the hot tub (would recommend!).
There isn't much within walking distance of the site of the yurts, and we didn't plan to do anything in the day, although we made a spur of the moment trip to Lake Vyrnwy and did an 11 mile walk around the reservoir which was nice, despite the rain. There are some leaflets of things to do in the kitchen and on the website though.
There are some board games in the yurt which we really enjoyed playing when it was raining, nice touch.
Absolutely loved our 2 nights here! Thinking about coming back with my boyfriend for a romantic break or with another 2 friends. Would highly recommend!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarah l
1 review
“Sarah”
Reviewed May 16, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Absolutely stunning yurts in wonderful scenery. Tracy and Terry were fantastic too. The yurts are so cosy and inviting, the hot tub was a great addition along with the sauna. The bathroom was fantastic and the kitchen was better than my own at home, beautifully funished and very well equipped. I've been recommending it to everyone I know!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 May 2015
Thank you for your lovely comments so glad you enjoyed your mini -moon here, it was a pleasure to meet such a lovely couple and we wish you all the best for the future!

Tracey & Terry
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing