We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good place, great service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Chicago Lake Forest/Mettawa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mettawa
Reviewed 4 October 2017 via mobile

After having stayed several times I must recognize the genuine efforts that the staff puts to offer a great service. I am an early bird, Istiyak and his colleagues are mindful about it and do their best to help me taking something for breakfast before leaving; Frances responds my questions effectively and always offers support. These are just two examples of many positive ones I've experienced.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Thank Stevekatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Lake Forest/Mettawa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Stevekatt, Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us, and thank you for acknowledging our great team here on property! We truly appreciate your kind words and are thrilled to know we always provide you with a great hotel experience. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (133)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 133 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2017 via mobile

Clean, reasonably priced, close to everything, and every staff member was polite and respectful. Air conditioner stopped working and staff replaced the unit before we returned. There is a some traffic noise, so if you're not used to it, it might be distracting when sleeping. Breakfast was typical but everything was clean and fresh.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank annaplus6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Lake Forest/Mettawa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

annaplus6, Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. We're pleased to know you enjoyed your overall visit, and we hope to welcome you back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017

We stayed at this property for a family wedding. (There is no other reason to stay at this particular highway interchange, unless your reason is to be within walking distance of a Costco, across the highway. But I digress.)
We were welcomed as a Marriott Platinum guest (I have used them for over 50 years), and were assigned a first floor room next to the elevators and a noisy ice machine. (We clearly did not need this room's handicap accessible features, some of which are negatives for non-handicapped people. Offering it to us makes it unavailable for later-arriving guests who might need the features. Thoughtless policy!) Since we were checking in at 3pm with a near-empty parking lot, it was obvious that there had to be other unoccupied rooms, even if the property was sold-out. I cannot comprehend why a hotel would put their most-loyal customer in a noisy location - or not *ask* what type or room we would want. It happens that this room had a foul odor as well.
We were then directed to a room on the east side of the hotel. These rooms have the double negatives of early morning sunrise and the unremitting noise of the nearby interstate highway. Clearly not the right place for folks attending a wedding. (It is clear that this property chintzed out on the windows, since I have stayed in quieter airport hotels. but I digress again.)
We were moved again, to the non-highway side of the hotel. This room was acceptable for our two night stay (does this sound like damning with faint praise? Good. it is.) As all the other rooms in this hotel, the color scheme captures a nice range of browns and greys - neutral, but somber. The room was quieter, but still affected by highway noise.
The hotel offers a free buffet breakfast. We did not sample most of the buffet, but we note that all the dry cereals were presweetened. There are no restaurants nearby where one might buy a good breakfast, other than a different chain motel.
Housekeeping seemed to think their job included rearranging my belongings to suit their concept of neatness, even if it meant hiding things from me, including our gift card for the wedding couple, and a clip that I use to keep the drapery closed. (When I worked in an office, the cleaning crew were forbidden to rearrange the surface of a desk, and the same rule should apply here.) The cleaning solvents caused an allergic reaction for one of us; another ten cents spent on unscented, non-allergic cleaning products would go a very long way.
There are few lodging options along this highway. (For what it's worth, if you are *compelled* to stay at this particular interchange, the adjacent competitive hotel has a nicer lobby, and a cash breakfast; we cannot speak to the quality of the rooms.)

Room Tip: west side rooms are farther from the interstate and do not get early morning sunlight
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank bruce h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy_Stanley, General Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Lake Forest/Mettawa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to review the hotel. We know that your time is important. Without comments from out guests, we cannot hope to improve our level of service. I am so sorry that you felt our hotel did not provide the experience you were looking for. Our goal is for each guest to leave 100% satisfied and we regret when we fail to do so. I do hope that you can give us another opportunity in the future so we make exceed your expectations and give you the service and experience that you have come to expect as a platinum member.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017

5 adults, 1 king bed, 1 queen bed, sleep sofa, everyone slept great. 2 bath rooms and kitchenette, great continental breakfast, billiards, and all our needs were met. A fantastic place, to celebrate the graduation of our service member and on our list of return visits. Staff accommodated requests in a timely manner. Great customer service and staff was very pleasant and friendly.

Room Tip: Suites are better for accommodations of 5 or 6. Very roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jawandam1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Lake Forest/Mettawa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

jawandam1959, Thank you for sharing details from your recent stay at our hotel. We really appreciate the five star rating and are so glad to read of your wonderful experience. Congratulations to your graduate, and we would love to welcome you back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2017

I was housed in the Residence Inn over the summer of 2017 for a 12 week duration. My stay was quite comfortable. Ariel, Ashley and Brandon were very helpful during my stay and made sure my requests were addressed in a timely fashion. The welcome party for the interns and some of the MIX evenings were quite enjoyable. The convenience of commuting to the office was unbeatable.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sanketshah07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Lake Forest/Mettawa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

sanketshah07, Thank you for reviewing your recent visit. We're pleased to know it was an enjoyable experience for you. We'd love to welcome you back if your travels bring you to the Lake Forest area again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017

4 kids, 2 adults, 2 formal outfits each and 18 pair of shoes, in a 2 Bedroom Suite. Everyone slept comfortably, no road noise complaints, even though we were on on 294. The pool was pleasant, the breakfast had something for everyone. The staff took good care of us. From the beginning reservation through check out time, if we needed anything they were accomodating. We used the microwave and the little dining area for a couple meals. We were quite pleased with our stay.

Room Tip: If you have concerns of highway noise, ask for a room on the far side. it was not a problem for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juliesQ8241IS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Lake Forest/Mettawa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. We're so happy to know it was a great hotel experience for you! We enjoyed your visit and welcome you back whenever you are in the Lake Forest area again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017

i am a heavy sleeper but the traffic from the freeway was possibly the worst i have experienced and it woke me several times. if you are a light sleeper this place will be a nightmare. in all other ways its your typical residence inn.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
Thank mukson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy_Stanley, General Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Lake Forest/Mettawa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Thank you for sharing your experience. I apologize that your sleep was disrupted by the location of the highway. Although it is convenient for travel, it can be distracting. We do offer ear plugs and sound machines if you are a light sleeper. I do hope that you can give us another opportunity to serve you in the future. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mettawa
0.1 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Lake Forest Mettawa
4.9 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Lincolnshire
10.8 km away
Embassy Suites North Shore / Deerfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 km away
Residence Inn Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee
3.6 km away
Hotel Indigo Chicago - Vernon Hills
11.5 km away
Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Chicago Lake Forest/Mettawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Chicago Lake Forest/Mettawa

Address: 26325 N Riverwoods Blvd, Mettawa, IL 60045-3430
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Lake County > Mettawa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mettawa
Price Range: $126 - $330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Chicago Lake Forest/Mettawa 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEWLY-RENOVATED! Just off I-94, the Residence Inn Lake Forest/Mettawa hotel features new, apartment-style suites with living rooms with pullout sofas, free WiFi and fully-equipped kitchens. Don't feel like cooking? Enjoy a free hot breakfast buffet each morning and join us in the evenings for our complimentary Residence Inn Mix(R) where we're serving up yummy apps and drinks (Mon-Wed). Keep up your routine on the road at our 24-hour gym, indoor pool and outdoor, multi-use Sport Court. Relax with friends in our onsite Billiards room. Travelers appreciate the quick 15-minute drive to Great Lakes Naval Base, Six Flags Great America and Gurnee Mills Outlets. With easy access to downtown Chicago and convenient, free perks, you'll thrive on long stays at Residence Inn Lake Forest/Mettawa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn Chicago Lake Forest/Mettawa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Chicago Lake Forest / Mettawa Hotel Lake Forest
Lake Forest Residence Inn
Residence Inn Lake Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing