We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Enjoyable Week in Stunning Countryside”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Dromana, County Waterford

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Graeme N
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Enjoyable Week in Stunning Countryside”
Reviewed September 16, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Dromana House is the perfect place to stay if you want to escape hectic city life. Situated by the Blackwater, the house is stunning and the gardens a joy. We loved our time there and found the apartment we rented to be extremely spacious and comfortable. Well located for local attractions too.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David P
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Pleasant, tranquil and a good base for exploring west Waterford”
Reviewed July 28, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Situated on the Blackwater River near the small village of Cappoquin in West Waterford is Dromana House and Gardens. As one approaches over a bridge the Taj Mahal magically appears as a gate lodge to the Dromana Estate and one cannot help but imagine that they are entering an exotic and special place, a short distance beyond which lies Dromana House and Gardens. We stayed in the smaller apartment which is an annex to the main residence. The main attraction initially for us was that the property allowed pet owners to bring their dogs and that there is plenty of freedom and a relaxed atmosphere for both humans and animals to enjoy. On arrival our host was welcoming and after a short tour of the premises we set off to explore the grounds which are quite expansive and well maintained. By the end of the week they had been thoroughly explored along with surrounding forestland and I never got bored walking the various paths.
The apartment is comfortably furnished and well equipped (as per Shamrock Cottages spec through which we booked). It has an “upside down” feel about it in that the kitchen, dining and living rooms are upstairs and you go down to the bedrooms. There are two bedrooms which are comfortable, spacious and have en suite facilities. They also have access to an expansive rear yard which can be closed off for pets.
There is WiFi and although our host claimed it was not the fastest I had two teenage girls who did not complain about it as they were able to watch whatever it is they are into and maintain social interaction with their friends. I shall not review the main house as we unfortunately did not avail of the host’s generous offer to tour it with her however I would recommend viewing the website and listening to her short narration of the history of the place.
Our family had a very nice week in county Waterford using Dromana as our base. It is ideally situated to exploration of the west of the county or eastern County Cork. All in all it is a lovely setting owned by delightful people who care passionately about the land. Well worth a visit,

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Aug 2017
Thank you very much for your wonderful review and we are so glad you enjoyed your holiday. Hopefully we (Shamrock Cottages) can be of assistance again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cullenwhe...
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great for families,couples,nature and history lovers!!”
Reviewed April 8, 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Photos don't do Dromana house or the location justice!!
Well equipped accommodation,tasteful & comfortable with a touch of class & history.
Must do's are Lismore castle,Dungarvan,Ardmore,Youghal & Kilkenny.
Great hospitality in Villierstown at An Crúiscín Lán for the customary pint (or two) of Guinness!! But this is just a small taste of what we achieved in one week,plus a long drive to Moate,Co Westmeath to see friends,which is a bit out of your way!
Ha Ha!!
Great place for nature lovers,sightseers,walkers,water sport enthusiasts,&anyone who loves Ireland,the country & it's very friendly people.
Binoculars a must as there is a variety of wildlife to spy from the perfect location of the house.Otters were a treat for us townies!!
Owners Barbara & Nicholas very welcoming.
Would certainly look to book again for the summer months when everything is flourishing.
Lovely stay,lovely accommodation,lovely location,lovely owners,amazing country.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patsy2015
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Idyllic Environment”
Reviewed September 13, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We spent ten days at Dromana - both apartments give superb and atmospheric views over the River Blackwater as well as a backdrop of the Knockmealdown Mountains. Youghal - famous for it's link with Walter Raleigh is a short drive away - lovely friendly pub at nearby Villiers town - and also access to Villiers Quay for sailing and other watersports - Barrons in Cappoquin serve delicious breakfasts and cakes too. The Vee can be accessed from Cappoquin and provides examples of superb Irish scenery. Ardmore also in Co Waterford is a pretty fishing village - the sophisticated "Cliff Hotel" enjoys a picturesque view over the sea with sun terrace where you can enjoy delicious fish chowder and other local foods.
The gardens and riverside walks at Dromana add to the full experience and kayaking is available both from the house and also at the sea approx fifteen minutes drive away.
The duplex apartment is dog friendly - quite difficult to find in Ireland . We were made very welcome and were impressed by the commitment to retain the character of the house and gardens which provide idyllic surrounds for a relaxing holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the setting of the apartments
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
solarston...
Traunstein, Bayern
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice quiet accomodation in a fantastic area”
Reviewed January 7, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Large appartement as shown on pictures - part of a nice old countryhouse with large gardens above the river Blackwater. Free broadband internet access. Real quiet and absolutely beautiful area. Fantastic views from all rooms. Next town is 5km away. The place is perfect for day-trips along the coast between Cork and Wexford - nice sandy beaches and scenic routes along the Copper Coast. If you drive to the north, famous medieval towns like Cahir or Cashel are within a one hour drive. Only four stars and not five because the extra costs for heating were really high. We payed around 100 Euros for one week. Of course it was winter and cold outside and heating was on for around 69 hours altogether - but this is rather expensive.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The fantastic views.
Liked least: High energy costs for heating.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ctaylor87
Irvine, California
1 review
“Perfect location for a romantic getaway”
Reviewed August 19, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

The Dromana House was a dream honeymoon location! The accommodations were wonderful: clean, bright, and beautiful. The grounds were equally as wonderful and we enjoyed walking around, taking lots of photos, and smelling all the beautiful flowers (the chickens were cute too)! We felt extremely comfortable talking to the owners and we loved the house tour Barbara gave us. The location was great for long day trips, as we traveled to Cork, Waterford, Galway, and Dublin to name a few. We would highly recommend the Dromana House for anyone who is looking for a unique and beautiful place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Gorgeous views overlooking the Blackwater River.
Liked least: The property can be difficult to find at night.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackiemhi
Brooklyn, Connecticut, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful, charming, and wonderful owners!”
Reviewed August 2, 2012 for a stay in June 2012
2
people found this review helpful

Our apartment for 4 adults was nearly perfect. Kitchen, living room, and dining area upstairs with 2 lovely ensuite bedrooms down. All was very comfortable. The apartment is built onto the foundation of an old castle, now old manor home. The hosts are the 22nd generation to own and live on the property. The Blackwater River runs beside the home and the views from our upstair's windows and from our downstair's private patio were simply beautiful! The grounds around the home are fantastic. The owners work hard to keep up the lovely gardens and walking paths which we enjoyed everday of our stay. Our hosts were very kind and helpful, but not intrusive. On arrival, we found fresh eggs from their own hens so we could make breakfast. On the day our car wouldn't start, they tried to jump it for us and when that didn't work, they called the rental company and got a mechanic to come out. The only unfortunate thing was that we couldn't get our laundry to dry. The apartment had a washer, but no dryer, and due to the endless rain during our stay, packing light proved to be a poor idea. Nevertheless, we really loved the rental and would definately return again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view!
Liked least: No clothes dryer.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing