We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Gorgeous!

We came through here on our way back from Cloon Lough - a hidden gem in itself. The gap itself is... read more

Reviewed August 11, 2018
Nicole B
,
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Excellent scenic drive

We went on the road to the Ballaghbeama Gap on a trip to try to see Ireland's highest mountains... read more

Reviewed July 10, 2018
Bruce J
,
Melbourne, Australia
Read all 19 reviews
  
Reviews (19)
Filter reviews
19 results
Traveller rating
18
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
18
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews take photos ring of kerry winding road route cars scenery sheep ireland gap mountains sneem curve
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 19 reviews
Reviewed August 8, 2017

Google suggested this route to be the shortest to Tralee. Since, it was getting dark and we wanted to reach our B&B, we decided to drive through this mountain pass unaware of the challenging narrow winding road. Although the views were amazing but it is not recommended to drive through this road late in the day since. The road is extremely narrow with no possibility for two cars to pass, luckily we did not get any car coming from the other direction. If you decide to take this scenic route then make sure that you have full fuel tank and a small car and couple of courageous lads to could help in case of a breakdown.

Date of experience: August 2017
1  Thank Priyank51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 4, 2017 via mobile

A challenging drive (we were fortunate not to encounter someone coming in the opposite direction), but the trade off is spectacular mountain scenery.

Date of experience: December 2016
1  Thank BattyIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 24, 2016 via mobile

We come back here time & time again when we visit Ireland. Breathtaking views (when not raining). Not for the faint-hearted!

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank SaraT1833
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 4, 2016

This drive requires a high level of skill. The road is extremely narrow, winding and has many blindspots. The weather changes constantly and the sheep often occupy the road. However we highly recommend this drive for those with strong nerves. The ever-changing views are spectacular. A tip- don't attempt this drive in a large car.

Date of experience: September 2016
1  Thank Keepongoing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 31, 2016 via mobile

Took this road as a short cut to Glencar and glad we did, what an experience that was. A single track road with tight corners and few passing places but breathtaking scenery and worth the drive.

Date of experience: August 2016
1  Thank Janice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews