We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful cosy cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Caban y Saer for 2

Caban y Saer sat on the banks of the River Hafesb
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Caban y Saer sat on the banks of the River Hafesb
Lounge at Caban y Saer with Satellite TV, Controllable Heating and free WiFi Comfortable living space just for two at Caban y Saer
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
Caban y Saer sat on the banks of the River Hafesb
Lounge at Caban y Saer with Satellite TV, Controllable Heating and free WiFi
Comfortable living space just for two at Caban y Saer
Cooking at Caban y Saer
Ramped access for those with limited mobility
Private Decking with BBQ & Patio furniture
Overlooking the farm
The view of Caban y Saer from the field
Llyn Tegid - Bala Lake just one mile along the footpath
Kitchen at Caban y Saer
Bedroom with ensuite shower room
Old Llanfor Village
Relax in our Hot Tub
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Llanfor, Bala, Snowdonia National Park, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Laura G
Queensferry, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful cosy cottage”
Reviewed 13 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

I bought this trip as a Christmas gift for me and my boyfriend. It was everything we could have wanted. We had a friendly welcome but then were left to do as we pleased. The view from the cabin is gorgeous as you look straight onto the river. It was really easy to find as the town was so tiny. We had a chinese take away from New China which was fab, the portions are big so we had leftovers the next day :) Bala town has everything you need - Shops, Takeaways, Restaurants and Pubs. We didn't really have a chance to explore which was a shame. I wish we had booked more than a 2 nights stay, hopefully we will be returning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally P
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“So cosy & warm even in chilly November!”
Reviewed 7 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

We have just come back from 2 nights in this cosy cabin. We didn't want to come home! It was a lovely cabin and so warm, the perfect place to go back to after a cold day walking. It has everything you would need for a short break. The shower was great and the bed was super comfortable. Nice to have a good TV for a winter stay as it does get dark early, take a torch for any late night walks into Bala. Bala had a good little selection of shops with a fab butchers which sells ready made meals such as lasagne and cottage pie, yummy! Thank you Mel for a much needed few days of peace!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy12134
1 review
“Absolutely perfect place to stay for a weekend or week away.”
Reviewed 29 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Beautiful cabin in a lovely location. Me and my boyfriend booked this cabin over a long weekend. It was lovely clean and very cosy. My boyfriend had a great time outside on the decked area over looking the stream. The shower is amazing I'm actually consider having this in my home.There is lots of thing to do the 1st day we went into Bala town to the butchers which was as good as the previous recommendation we had seen. We also climbed mount snowdon on the Saturday via the Watkin path which was a experience. I wouldn't advise for an inexperienced walker. The hot tub is a perfect place to relax after outdoor activities. We also got the steam train from Bala town. They have a selection of brochures in the cabin which are great to find out what you can do. I would advise going to the tesco on the first day as the spa and co-operative are expensive in Bala town. I will be again soon and inviting friends. Thank you Mel for a great weekend.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoli105
1 review
“beautiful lodge !!”
Reviewed 23 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

we stayed here for a week on the 15th of September and we had a fantastic time. Walking towards the lodge for the first time it looked small. But don't be fooled. It's perfect and very well laid out! Also the hot tub was a lovely treat! Mel and Nick were amazing too very lovely and helpful. I would definitely recommend this place if a relaxing break is what you need:)

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annie C
Merthyr Tydfil, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect place for a relaxing getaway”
Reviewed 21 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Me and my boyfriend stayed at cavan-y-saer for 4 nights, and we thoroughly enjoyed every second. The cottage itself was absolutely beautiful and fully equipped. We really did feel at home. We made great use out of the terrace overlooking the river, as we were provided with a small barbecue also.
Mel and Mick (the owners) could not have been more helpful and friendly. We received such a warm welcome off them and were sad to leave. The hot tub was an added bonus to the lodge, to which we made great use of. We will definitely be visiting again next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikkuz2
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely Break”
Reviewed 13 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We recently returned from a lovely long break at the Caban y Saer. Mel gave us a nice warm welcome on arrival and showed us all of the facilities: how to use the cooker and boost the hot water etc. The cabin was very clean and decorated to a high standard. It was also very well equipped and all we had to buy was food and loo roll once the first had run out. The area is very pretty, but you do need a car to travel to points of interest. We visited Barmouth beach and Bewys y Coed and both were beautiful. Mel and Mick were both very nice and friendly people and made us feel welcome, but left us to it to enjoy our time as we wished. We would recommend. Thank you.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jess W
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing location & fantastic hosts...”
Reviewed 17 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

A great little get away from city life! The cabin is decorated beautifully & everything was clean! It was a pleasure to meet Mel & Mike such fantastic hosts who couldn't have done more to make us feel comfortable. Hot tub is a great addition, very private and a huge bonus to this already fantastic accommodation! We had an amazing time, Bala is beautiful and the town & activities are a stones throw away. I would highly recommend; it's tranquil, peaceful and feels like a home away from home. We will 100% be returning, hopefully very soon for another amazing break!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The privacy & the cleanliness.
Liked least: nothing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$84
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing