We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Possibly more than we expected, brilliant.”
other travellers have booked this property
Hillfort Lodge - 5 bedroom accommodation.  Ideal for families/groups of all sizes
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Hillfort Lodge - 5 bedroom accommodation.  Ideal for families/groups of all sizes
Lounge1 with log Burner. Patio doors opening onto large decking area.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
50 reviews
Hillfort Lodge - 5 bedroom accommodation.  Ideal for families/groups of all sizes
Lounge1 with log Burner. Patio doors opening onto large decking area.
Double Room
Family Room (1 x double bed & 1 x bunk bed set)
2nd Lounge Hillfort Lodge
kitchen 2 in Hillfort Lodge equipped with full oven, microwave, fridge/freezer
Double Bedroom
Large family bathroom with bath, shower, twin basins and toilet. Bath towels & hand towels provi
Picnic/BBQ area & Play area
Plenty of outdoor space
great veiws
lots of walks
love the snow
Clwydian Lodge
Clwydian Lodge bedroom one - Double room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Nercwys, Mold, Flintshire, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Anne R
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Possibly more than we expected, brilliant.”
Reviewed October 26, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Family weekend break, travelling from Stevenage, Lincoln and Lancashire. Beautiful setting and views. Lodges very clean and spacious. Lovely outside areas which would be great in the warm weather. Definitely worth a return visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Remoteness of the place.
Liked least: No wifi
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Oct 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review the Hillfort lodge. We are always happy to hear our guests have enjoyed their stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wranspbc5
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning”
Reviewed October 21, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Perfect for an extended family get together.
The owners were friendly the lodge. The stunning views and quiet area were perfect. Plenty of space inside, the rooms were a very good size. Even with 12 of us there it didn't feel crowded. The bigger living room has a wood burner which was a lovely touch. I'm sure we'll return

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The area
Liked least: sat nav directions a little misleading at the very end for all cars that came
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Oct 2015
Thank you for your kind words, hope to see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trips_aho...
West Bromwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent holiday home”
Reviewed September 17, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We arrived as a group of 8 including 2 children, owners were very welcoming and informative about the property (heating and hot water etc). We had a lovely weekend in the lodge, plenty of grounds and a small play area for the boys to play. Beautiful scenery. More than enough room for our family and more if we wished. Lodge is not far from Chester, so had a lovely day exploring Chester city using a treasure hunt purchased online before we arrived. Would definitely return to lodge and would stay for longer.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Sep 2015
Thank you for your comments they are much appreciated. Hope to see you and your family again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy W
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Ideal family getaway!”
Reviewed September 1, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

7 members of my family rented the Hillfort Lodge when attending a family celebration nearby and we stayed over the bank holiday weekend. We were all really delighted with the quality of the accommodation, which was both modern and clean, spacious and well equipped. Because we had hired both sides of the lodge (it can split into two separate lodges) there were ample bedrooms for all of us, 2 kitchens and 2 lounges and a single dining area. The lodge is situated at the summit of a hill, so it can be a bit windy and cool but the central heating supplied warms the house very quickly. It is situated in lovely surroundings with great views, and garden space to run around in. It is somewhat isolated in it's location and if you intend to visit the locality you will need a car, particularly for shopping as the nearest large supermarket is situated in Mold some 6-7 miles away. There are some local pubs but again you would need to drive to them. There is a local taxi service but it is not extensive. There are barbecue facilities in the garden although we didn't use them, and a children's climbing/play area. There are no Wi-Fi facilities available and phone signals can be erratic, but we found that we perhaps had a better time without the technology! The owners provide a full briefing on arrival as they do not live near to the premises so once they have left you are pretty much left to your own devices. We had a great time here and we are definitely looking at coming back next year for maybe a longer stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house itself
Liked least: The weather!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Sep 2015
Thank you for your reveiw and so pleased to hear you all enjoyed your stay. We are looking into installing wifi in the future so hopefully if you do return we will be up and running.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip W
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful Few Days”
Reviewed August 10, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Just spent a wonderful few days in this beautifully placed lodge in the North Wales country side. The lodge is well equipped for larger groups as I was visiting wales with my extended family (10 of us). The space outside the lodge is well kept and ideal for children to run and play. The views from the lodge are outstanding. My intention is to return next year with my wife in the smaller lodge.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Veiws from the main lounge
Liked least: Rain!!!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Aug 2015
Thank you for your kind comments, look forward to your return visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah M
Alnwick, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great holiday cottage”
Reviewed July 29, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We stayed in the 3/5 bedroom lodge - well equipped with plenty of space both inside and outside. Owners were very efficient with the check in and check out. We used the lodge as a place to stay whilst attending a family function nearby so didn't spend much time in the lodge but it was very comfy and had everything needed to make our stay perfect.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space and location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Aug 2015
We are happy you enjoyed your stay. We are always happy to know our guests have enjoyed their time at the lodges, many thanks
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
999SCC
Lymm, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to stay”
Reviewed July 20, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Could not fault this place. Away from the madding crowd but only 10 minutes away from civilization. Absolutely immaculate. We will be back !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jul 2015
Thank you for taking.the.time to review our lodge, happy you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see.you again soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing