We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Roisinniamh
Ottawa, Canada

Clean and adequate

Review of Hotel Grauholz
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Jun 8, 2023via mobile
I’d like to give it a 3.5. It would be a 4 if the AC was good. Visited in June when the temperature was around 25°C and the AC could not keep our room cool enough. Windows weren’t really an option due to highway noise.

Very clean and modern but simple. No luxury. Perfectly adequate.

However the only reason to stay here is to save some money if you don’t want to pay the rates in Bern proper.

Staff were very friendly and professional.
Date of stay: June 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kathrin Kühni, General Manager at Hotel Grauholz, responded to this review
Responded Dec 29, 2023
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon!

Sincerely,
Hotel Grauholz
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
C$187
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
  • Booking.com
    C$181
  • Expedia.com
    C$181
  • Priceline
    C$181
2.7 km from Hotel Grauholz
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
C$183
  • Expedia.com
    C$196
  • Agoda.com
    C$175
  • Hotels.com
    C$183
2.7 km from Hotel Grauholz
Free Wifi
C$215
C$204
  • Priceline
    C$215
  • Agoda.com
    C$205
3.3 km from Hotel Grauholz
Exterior view
C$368
C$247
  • Booking.com
    C$248
  • Priceline
    C$248
  • Expedia.com
    C$247
3.8 km from Hotel Grauholz
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior view
C$161
  • Booking.com
    C$195
  • Vio.com
    C$156
  • Expedia.com
    C$165
3.8 km from Hotel Grauholz
Free Wifi
Exterior view
C$204
C$194
  • Priceline
    C$196
  • Expedia.com
    C$195
  • Hotels.com
    C$196
3.8 km from Hotel Grauholz
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
C$222
  • Expedia.com
    C$222
  • Lol.travel
    C$174
  • Priceline
    C$244
4.0 km from Hotel Grauholz
C$298
C$283
  • Expedia.com
    C$289
  • Hotels.com
    C$282
  • Priceline
    C$298
3.9 km from Hotel Grauholz
Free Wifi
Free parking
Lobby,  Eingangsbereich
C$260
C$220
  • Expedia.com
    C$258
  • Hotels.com
    C$260
  • Vio.com
    C$228
4.1 km from Hotel Grauholz
Free Wifi
Vue de l'Hôtel
C$246
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    C$209
  • Vio.com
    C$205
  • Official Site
    C$216
4.3 km from Hotel Grauholz
Free Wifi
View more hotels in Ittigen
Reviews (140)
Filter reviews
140 results
Traveller rating
51
61
21
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
51
61
21
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews night stay petrol station motorway switzerland bern
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 140 reviews
Reviewed January 25, 2023

Chose this hotel as a base for 5 nights to explore the area and wanted a reasonably priced hotel with parking and air-conditioning and this was the hotel that met that criteria.

The hotel is situated just off the motorway and the only way I found to get to the hotel was by taking the motorway which while not a toll road does require your car having a Swiss motorway vignette which costs CHF40, my GPS did show a back road to the hotel but when I took it one day when trying to get back to the hotel it just ended at a locked gate.

The check in was friendly and easy and my room 317 was a good size but very basic and overlooked a rather neglected courtyard but beyond the courtyard were some lovely distant views.

The room was air-conditioned which was much appreciated during the heatwave they were having in July 2022. The room had a couple of problems one was the TV which wouldn’t turn off a few times and the only way to turn it off was to unplug it but the plug was under the desk and required getting down on your hands and knees to unplug it. The hotel was able to give me a power board so I didn’t have to go under the desk to turn it off which while not an ideal solution did solve the problem during my five night stay.

While it was a double room it was actually two single beds next to each other but as I was travelling alone and booked a single room only one of the beds was made up
There was a big luggage rack and small closet with some shelves and a safe at a decent height and a big bench for a desk with a chair and another easy chair in the corner.
The room was a disabled room and the bathroom just has a shower corner with a curtain and a fold down seat.

A nice touch at the hotel from what I could gather was that any muffins and the like left over from the breakfast service were laid out on a table for guests to have later in the day and while there was no fridge in the room I was able to get some ice from the front desk each night.

Apart from a restaurant and petrol station at the entrance to the hotel there is nothing within walking distance so a car is a must if staying here but it met my needs as an economical hotel, for Switzerland for me to tour the area. There was plenty of free parking and while the hotel is situated in a motorway rest area it is up a bit of a hill from the petrol station so it didn’t cause any problems.

Can’t say enough nice things about the staff who were always friendly and helpful during my stay.

Date of stay: June 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank minicooperdownunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kathrin Kühni, General Manager at Hotel Grauholz, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2023

Dear MinicooperDownUnder

Thank you very much for the great review of our hotel and that you taking the time to share your feedback!
We're glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Best regards from the Hotel Grauholz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 17, 2020

We stayed here for several nights because our dog was scheduled for surgery at the Tierspital and we wanted to be close by for an early morning drop-off and to be able to visit her easily post-op. The rooms are large, clean & well-equipped. The wifi worked well, plus there was free coffee, tea, fruit juice, fruits & pastries available all day long. The breakfast was good with a large choice of breads, meat, cheese, jams, scrambled & boiled egg, bacon, sausage, fruit salad, drinks, etc.
The hotel personnel were very professional and extremely kind. Special thanks to Annu for being particularly welcoming & friendly! The hotel’s location is not exactly romantic (just off the highway) but its great service, kind staff and reasonable prices made it well worth a stop! We would definitely stay here again.
ps The restaurant next door has an excellent shrimp curry dish & you have a 20% discount with the hotel’s room card - but please note there is no alcohol.

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Seren_dipity10000
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Grauholz, Head of Reception at Hotel Grauholz, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2020

Dear Jenny,

Thank you so much for your great and detailed review!

We hope everything went well with your Gaya's operation. It was very nice having you with us and we hope to welcome you again someday.

For now we wish you all the best and a successful recovery for Gaya. :)


Take care and kindest regards,

Reception Team Grauholz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 4, 2019

Very clean & comfortable room. The receptionist was very kind and multilingual. We even received free coffee and tea in the evening. The WiFi was super fast. Overall a great hotel for a one night stop (this is on a highway stop after all, so there's nothing to do without a car).

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Daniel1200
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Grauholz, Reception at Hotel Grauholz, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2019

Thank you very much for your feedback.

We are glad that you had a nice stay. Your opinion is important for us.

We hope to welcome you again some time.

Kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 15, 2019 via mobile

My husband and I are frequent travellers and this hotel is the worst that we stayed in that was almost $150 per night. The room was spartan, the bed was hard, and it was an uncomfortable night. When we checked in at 3 a.m., we were politely informed that we were welcome to have a cup of tea. As it was very late, we said that would grab it in the morning on our way out. In the morning when I stopped for my cup of tea I was (very politely) charged for it. In the end, it wasn't a big deal, it's just a sign that service for customers is not a priority.
Note: The location is convenient, as it is close to the highway, but be aware that it is part of a rest area.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank CathySandiegoW
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Grauholz, Front Office Manager at Hotel Grauholz, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2019

Dear Cathy,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 13, 2019 via mobile

Review based on a two night leisure stay.
Bern is not a car friendly city, which is fine and understandable, but this poses a fundamental problem for those who have to travel here by car. Also, hotels linked to motorway service areas are typically a “distress purchase” and to be endured not enjoyed.
I have to say Hotel Grauholz breaks the rules. Yes it is on the A1 just north of the city, and yes it is adjacent to the petrol station and truck parking, but it is situated above them, and even rewards with views of the Eiger and Jungfrau in the distance!
Check in was quick and efficient, everyone is friendly and helpful.
The room was spacious and spotless. No coffee/tea making equipment-instead complimentary beverages, fruit and nibbles in reception between 12pm and 5am. Breakfast was fine. The restaurant on the western side was OK, 20% discount for hotel guests helps with the bill. Complimentary bike hire, did not try it.
I cannot think of a downside. public transport is not really feasible but you are where you are. The alternative is to stay somewhere in the centre and then spend a fortune on parking, if you can get it. Neufeld park and ride is an easy 10 minute drive. I know our choice worked. Recommended.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank tripeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Grauholz, Reception at Hotel Grauholz, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2019

Thank you for very much for your great feedback.

The comfort of your guest is our highest priority. We are glad that you had a great stay and hope that you stopp over again.

Wishing you all the best!

Take care and best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews