We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is the best place to stay”
Review of Hotel des Rochers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel des Rochers
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Perros-Guirec
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Alencon, France
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“It is the best place to stay”
Reviewed 16 October 2011

Having always stayed near the marina I thought I would try this hotel. I realise all the reviews are right. It is a very good hotel at a very good price and in a fabulous location. There are so many bad hotels in Perros Guirrec and this one is so good they deserve to do well. The restaurant and the staff are excellent and the effort is clear - they want your custom.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank graham w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    409
    188
    14
    6
    2
See reviews for
103
441
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level 6 Contributor
280 reviews
155 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2011

I spent one night in a double with sea view for single use at the Hotel des Rochers in May, and I loved it! My room, which was on the top floor (two stories above the lobby and restaurant; no elevator), offered a delightful view of a picturesque boat-filled harbor and its surrounding trees and houses. It was very pleasantly furnished with an eye to simplicity and comfort. The bed and pillows were very comfortable, as was the wonderfully lightweight comforter. The spotless bathroom had lots of counter space, a heated drying rack, a discrete window that also looked onto the harbor, and a nice mix of glass and wood and other surfaces. The shower included a wide spray from directly overhead, which is not my favorite form of shower, but also had a hand-held wand that could be used instead. Water temperature and pressure were both quite satisfactory.

The young woman who, with her husband (who I didn’t meet) acquired the hotel about a year before my stay – Barbara Pavy - could not have been more helpful or hospitable. She responded promptly and helpfully to several e-mails I sent in advance of my stay and she helped me plan a walk along the coast that maximized my ability to see some of the highlights of the pink granite coast in a limited time. (And it is a stunning coast!)

Breakfast is served in the hotel’s lovely restaurant, which has a simple and elegant interior décor and immense picture windows facing the harbor. Served at one’s table (rather than by buffet), it included a generous basket of a variety of breads (complete with various toppings), one’s choice of coffee or tea, and a selection of fresh fruit. Delicious!

I also ate dinner at the hotel – outstanding! It was among the best dinners I ate during a 26-day trip to France that included some remarkably fine – really, really fine - meals. And the prix fixe menu was much more affordable than many. Each dish of my three-course meal was extremely fresh, beautifully presented, and absolutely delicious. I also extend kudos to the waiter, who wasb both personable and professional.

I enthusiastically recommend the Hotel des Rochers!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KJA3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2011

Overlooking the harbour, the hotel and restaurant are away from the busy part of town, but still in walking distance. Not that you need to go there because the food in the hotel is excellent, the room comfortable, and the staff pleasant and helpful. We arrived early when they were still serving lunch to a busy restaurant, so we started our stay with a bottle of Muscadet and some oysters, and we never looked back.
There's a pleasant walk round the harbour and a longer one along the pink granite coast path to Perros- Guirec - both from outside the hotel. Fabulous!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GR48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 June 2011

Chose this hotel from trip advisor recommendations and weren't disappointed. Had comfortable room with picture windows opening on the port - as with the restaurant views, like looking at a live postcard! Room was very clean, newly decorated, very comfortable bed. Couple of small problems were dealt with immediately.

Breakfast set us up well for the day: served at the table and we easily had as much as we would have had from a buffet service.

Restaurant absolutely a must - either book demi-pension or reserve your table. On Friday evening there was a steady stream of would-be diners who had to be turned away. Excellent food, up-to-date style, varied and the right quantity. If you don't know wine from Cheverny (Loire), try the red or white! Very friendly service, efficient and correct without being rushed, despite a full room every evening from Tuesday to Friday. We didn't need it but I noticed children's dinner menu for only €8 (no chicken nuggets - proper food!)

It's a great area for walks and watersports - pink granite rocks truly impressive, several sandy beaches complete with rock pools to explore. Don't forget pancakes & cider for lunch - you can walk off the calories!

The young couple who own the hotel have done a great job modernising - give it a go... Being a teacher, I could only go away during half term so it made a lovely start to our married life. Even the sun shone all week!

Bonjour les voyageurs français - ça vaut le peine d'aller jusqu'au nord de la Bretagne. Hôtel confortable, personnel sympa, restauration top et quel joli coin!

Room Tip: Chambre 10 - spacious, sea-view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christine_micallef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire, UK
Level 6 Contributor
323 reviews
182 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 297 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2011

This hotel punches well above its weight as a restaurant, which was packed each night of our visit and turning away people who hadn't reserved by 7.30pm. Good value too. Similarly breakfast, though lacking the variety of establishments offering extensive buffets, was good quality with nice coffee and pleasantly served. Again the value merits a mention.

The hotel is right on the harbourside at Ploumenach with parking available right ourside nad its an easy few minutes walk to Ploumenach's beach and small village centre. Equally close is the beginning of the Sentier de Douaniers, the path that cuts through the spectacular pink granite rocks of the Cote du Granite Rose.

The hotel itself? Well its kind of average - there are clear signs of a somewhat unfinished refurbishment , our room was small with limited storage and strangely the bathroom was an alcove rather than a separate room. Our sea view required us to step onto a terrace that whilst private to our room, we were asked not to use the most useful part as we'd be visible to the occupants of another room. Altogether a bit strange and we suspect that the configuration of a relatively old building is producing quite a lot of compromise.

Taking the rough with the smooth, we enjoyed our stay here and the owners and staff were pleasant despite our poor French.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidHBerkshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marseille, France
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2011

Stayed for 3 nights. Returned after 25 years. Hotel totally revamped to a very high standard for a 2 star. Should have at least 3 stars or more. Room with sea/port view is a must, as you have a vision of a typical Brittany fishing port from your window with high and low tide changing the scenery frequently. The welcome was simple but very friendly. Their is no lift, so be careful if you have walking problems because taking the suitcase up 3 flights isn't easy for all. The only small problem, was the shower which worked perfectly, but not a lot of pressure so took some time. Don't wonder about eating at the hotel's restaurant. Just go!! The best restaurant around, and inexpensive for the food and service too. Will definately go back before another 25 years.

Room Tip: Sea room view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KEITH TRAVEL AGENT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 August 2010

We stayed for 2 nights during our driving trip around Brittany and this was our favourite hotel. The location is picturesque - the hotel overlooks a beautiful sheltered harbour filled with leisure craft and some fishing boats. The hotel has recently been renovated (in the last 2 months) so everything is fresh and clean. Our (family) room had a harbour view and was extremely comfortable. We didn't have access to a balcony but the next room did, so if that is important to you, please ask when booking. There is plenty of free parking on the road outside the hotel.

The hotel restaurant was superb and gave us our best evening meal in Brittany. It's not cheap but the quality was excellent and the quantities were just right. We'd definitely recommend booking ahead as it's very popular. The tables by the window have a wonderful view over the harbour but we also had a great view from our table on the raised area.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave_and_Var
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perros-Guirec hotels
2.7 km away
Best Western Les Bains de Perros-Guirec Hotel et Spa
3.2 km away
L'Agapa Hotel SPA Nuxe
L'Agapa Hotel SPA Nuxe
#4 of 22 in Perros-Guirec
1,193 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Castel Beau Site
Hotel Castel Beau Site
#2 of 22 in Perros-Guirec
1,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 km away
Les Costans
Les Costans
#6 of 22 in Perros-Guirec
618 reviews
3.8 km away
Villa Les Hydrangeas
Villa Les Hydrangeas
#1 of 22 in Perros-Guirec
179 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel de l'Europe
Hotel de l'Europe
#9 of 22 in Perros-Guirec
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Rochers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Rochers

Property: Hotel des Rochers
Address: 70 Chemin de la Pointe | Port de Ploumanach, 22700, Perros-Guirec, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Brittany > Cotes-d'Armor > Perros-Guirec
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Perros-Guirec
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel des Rochers 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel de charme situe sur le petit port de Ploumanach, en plein coeur de la Cote de Granit Rose a Perros-Guirec. Vous prendrez le petit dejeuner depuis la salle surplombant la mer et ensuite partirez a pied decouvrir les merveilles de notre cote. Vous pourrez manger au Restaurant des Rochers (sur reservation), au retour de vos ballades. Les chambres ont ete entierement renovees en 2013 et 2014, dans une ambiance marine reposante, vous disposerez d'une terrasse commune plein sud avec vue sur le port, de la wifi gratuite et bien evidemment d'un accueil personnalise dans ce petit hotel de 10 chambres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca and Priceline so you can book your Hotel des Rochers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing