We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (222)
Filter reviews
222 results
Traveller rating
122
82
13
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
122
82
13
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ruined church bread central staircase nice square wifi is free room overlooking the square location was perfect excellent hotel old town hotel is located dordogne cheese belfry stylish bells bikes
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 222 reviews
Reviewed September 16, 2017 via mobile

This hotel is located in a nice square in the old town of Souillac.
It is very clean,nice bed room,beautiful furniture decor.
Wifi is also available.
The host is very lovely,always here to help.
A fresh continental fresh brekky with is served in the morning.
There are restaurants cafés close by and it's just easy to walk around the old town.
View from window in the photo.
Nice and quiet at night time.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Vikash S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 26, 2017

Found this lovely hotel dating back back several hundred years. The owners were extremely welcoming. The room was well equipped, stylish and good value for money. The bed was really comfortable. The location was perfect for exploring the ancient town with a beautiful old abbey a hort walk away. Would highly recommend.

Room tip: Room overlooking the square and the ancient church
Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank nick171960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 23, 2016

I booked a comfort Twin Room, excluding breakfast for 3 nights over the internet.

Arriving by train around lunch time, there were no taxis at the station and the station master unsuccessfully tried to rouse one, so we walked to Le Pavillon St Martin. Its a bit of a hike but it is flat and there are pedestrian footways. Just in case this happens to you: walk to the roundabout down the hill in front of the Gare, take the 1st exit (Ave Jean Jaures) and walk to the T intersection, turn right onto Bld Louis Jean Malvy RD820. This is the main street. Follow the signs for the hotel. Its on Place St Martin, down the side of the Tourist Information which is in the front of the ruin of St Martins Church.

Our welcome was friendly and informed. Its a lovely old building with a stone staircase of easy goings and risers. Lovely decor.

There is a lift serving all floors.

Our allocated room was 7 on the 1 st floor overlooking the square. Its a great view overlooking the ruin of St Martin church and the pretty square. Our twin room was a lovely decor too, blues and cream. Our window has shutters and lovely and cool. Probably has something to do with the old construction. The wifi is free and generally fast. There is a tv, although we did not turn it on. Our beds were very comfortable and the area is very quiet, so we slept well.
Our ensuite was spacious enough with a good shower over the bath and plenty of room to store your own toilettries.

We chose to have breakfast in the hotel each morning. The breakfast room is downstairs and beautifully decorated with a warm welcoming feeling. The cost is €12/person and we thought the quality of the food and choice was worth that. Juices, yogurt, cereal, fresh seasonal fruit, which in our case was plums and strawberries, croissants, pastries, bread, jams and spreads, meats and cheeses, tea and coffee. All prettily served on lovely china.

The hotel is on Place St Martin, where there are a couple of eateries and bar. Its pretty quiet and even the bells stop at around 21:00 and certainly do not start early. Its close to everything.

All staff we encountered were very friendly and helpful.

This accommodation was just what we liked and would recommend it for those that like lovely surroundings in a more traditional building.

Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank barbaraanne56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 12, 2016

We stayed overnight on a touring holiday with friends. We booked a twin, which was tastefully furnished and overlooked the charming town square and ancient belfry church; for the same price, our friends received a double room which overlooked goodness only knows what, furnished in distressed 1970's style with walls covered in strips of old pallet painted white and with bright red soft furnishings. I realise it's a matter of personal taste, but the St Martin is an 11th century building so perhaps having decor in keeping is not too much to expect or to ask?

However, our hosts could not have been more efficient, and the breakfast was one of the best we have ever encountered in France (and there have been many....).

Overall, we had a very pleasant stay - our friends were less content due to the location and style of their room which was charged at the same price as ours. If you want to stay here, I suggest you request a room overlooking the square. The church bells are turned off at 10pm, by the way.

Room tip: Rooms overlooking the square offer best rapport prix/qualité
Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank TheNorfolkBroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 4, 2016 via mobile

Located in a very small square and slight problem locating as a pedestrian area! As others say little quirky and rooms pleasant. We opted for front room overlooking square ...little noisy when market set up next morning but isn't that part of being in France. Satisfactory breakfast with good choice. Plenty of restaurants around moderately priced.

Beware of parking in hotels designated area! It takes four cars and is off a very narrow road on the other side of the square. Access is tight. Park nose in and reverse out. We were fortunately warned on arrival by another resident. One guest leaving ahead of us tried going out nose first and its effectively one way. He spent 20 minutes trying to turnaround and without our help was in serious danger of jamming his car in the very narrow street. Even when reversing out great care needed and ensure passenger constructively guides!

Town very pleasant and areas to explore with nice churches and alleys.

Date of stay: September 2016
1  Thank Tony2710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews