We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“chalet au coin de feu. 18th - 25th Febuary” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chilly Powder

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chilly Powder
Ranked #4 of 51 Hotels in Morzine
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“chalet au coin de feu. 18th - 25th Febuary”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

Outstanding is what I would say. This was our first visit and I was so impressed by the staff who were so welcoming and nothing seemed too much of a bother for them. My daughter attended the creche each day and absolutely loved it. The creche staff made it so fun with outings to Morzine to go on bubble lift rides, poney trip rides and tobogganing races. along with baking cookies and painting etc..

The food was outstaning with a fabulous array of choices for breakfast and dinner was always delicious. Francesca and her team were GREAT. Thank you!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emma m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    235
    15
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
158
35
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

This was my 1st experience of a catered chalet and what luck it was to chance on chilly powder. I really could not fault it. The location is amazing, I could snowboard to the back step at the end of the day. The welcome was as warm as anyone could hope for, from the owners and the guys who work for them. The food was really good. The room was really clean and comfortable and the communal areas of both the big chalet and the smaller 'Les Amis' where I stayed were lovely and well equipped. I was particularly impressed by the guys who looked after us, Not only were they efficient but they were also friendly and seemed a really happy crew. I didnt take my kids this time but i was so impressed with what i saw of the way they looked after the kids who were there. If you are looking for a catered chalet I cannot recommend this one too highly.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SimeonEvans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
941ChillyPowder, Owner at Chilly Powder, responded to this review, 26 February 2012
Thank you for your lovely review and for staying with us at Chilly Powder. It's another stunning week in the Alps and warmer than it has been in the last few weeks. Hopefully we will see you again-
Best wishes

Francesca and Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

We have been to Chilly Powder many times now and certainly consider it to be more of a wonderful house party than a hotel to stay in. Paul and Francesca have become good friends and always provide a wonderful and professional welcome and an amazing environment to stay in. Our children have gone from staying in the creche to skiing on the blacks and love coming back each year.
Additionally many of our friends have been Chilly Powder'ed and all have enjoyed it.
We have already booked for next year!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tjwh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
941ChillyPowder, Owner at Chilly Powder, responded to this review, 26 February 2012
Thank you for your lovely review - It is always a pleasure having you all to stay and thank you for sticking with us! - Next year will be even better with the new cable car!
Love to everyone and see you next year!
Francesca and Paul xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kettering
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

This was our third trip to Chilly Powder.
Our party this time consisted of 6, children of 15, 14 ,11 and 4 and 2 adults.
We enjoyed our previous 2 visits, but this was our best trip to date and we have already booked for 2013.
Paul and Francessca have made subtle improvements, upgraded TV's in rooms, better wifi (again working in rooms) and the greater availability of fresh coffee in the mornings. To us these were all very real plus. The winning formula has remained, first class childcare in the creche, out of this world food and wine, excellent customer service generated by highly motivated staff and real warmth throughout.
Nothing was ever too much trouble.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nickfry2401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
941ChillyPowder, Owner at Chilly Powder, responded to this review, 26 February 2012
Thank you for your lovely review - We do try and make sure we listen to any advice from our guests and we will always improve if we can- so thank you for noticing the improvements on last year - Next Year it will be the new cable car as the biggest bonus and I am sure we will come up with some new plans and ideas too. Thank you for re-booking for next year and we look forward to all your news at Au Coin du Feu

Francesca and Paul x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

no complaints. had a lovely time. chalet host and chef were faultless.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hamddenol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leek, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2012

From the moment I found this little gem I knew we'd hit the jackpot. As a family with 2 small children finding the prefect skiing holiday had proven to be difficult in the past as we had always had to compromise on something (usually no in-house childcare). Chilly Powder gave us the opportunity to have the 'complete package' and boy were we in for a wonderful week. Our drive through France was relaxed and fun and we arrived at Au Coin Du Feu around 3pm. We were immediately welcomed, offered a hot drink and given a tour of the chalet. Nick and the team gave plenty of assistance in taking our bags to our room, whilst we dealt with two stir crazy boys!

The room was better than we had expected, it looked exactly like the picture on the website only the bath was bigger with a roof light directly over the top exposing the beautiful mountain views.

Francesca, Paul, Nick & the team have a wonderful philosophy that allows you immediately feel welcome, it's like spending your holiday at home, only someone else does the cooking (to a very high standard I may add). Furnishings were sympathetic and comfortable, with plenty of place to sit an chew the fat with your new companions. Tea, coffee and other drinks were plentyful and the seating area for food was spotless. The hot tub was just heaven after a hard day on the slopes. The staff were friendly, very approachable but not intrusive, they made a point of getting to know your names and always made a fuss of the children.

Food: Plentyful, wonderful quality and superbly cooked. The children's meals started at 5.30, there was always a choice of plain pasta with crudities, cheese and ham with another main course with veg. There was never an issue about either of my children eating, which was a relief.

Adult meals were served at 7.45pm, the description of fine dining reflected the quality and presentation of the food, however, portions were gargantuan (just what was needed after a hard days ski). The wine was carefully chosen to accompany the meal and my glass was never empty.

Childcare: Outstanding facilities, highly qualified staff and wonderful attitudes. We didn't once feel uneasy about leaving our children as they were in safe hands. Our 18 month old made cakes, went sledging, had a ride on a sleigh and went out for hot chocolate and biscuits as well as soft play, reading, dressing up etc...he had a ball. Our 4 year old had half day ski lesson's (organised by Chilli Powder) with 3 other children by the end of the week we were all skiing together down blue runs, sharing chair lifts and eating lots of waffles to keep up our energy! Seeing him achieve his 'Ourson' badge at the end of the week was something that I'll never forget, knowing he had done it "all by himself" made me a very proud Mum indeed.

The resort provided us with an array of runs of varying difficulty and terrain it was idea for all grades of skier.

I can honestly say that this was the best skiing holiday we have ever had, from booking right through to the end of the holiday I really wouldn't change a thing. If you're thinking about using this Chalet then DO IT you won't regret it! We will definitely be back.

Special thanks to Katie, Didi, Becky, Alex and Seb - you were brill

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RuthfromLeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

We have just returned from another ski holiday at Chilly Powder and once again it didn't disappoint. During the last 7 years we have stayed at Chilly Powder 4 times and other chalets in Morzine for the other 3. I'm so glad that we went back and stayed there this year even though our son is now 12. It is great for families that have younger children but we now know it's great for older children too. The chalet is very warm and homely. The staff are very friendly and the owners Francesca and Paul are very nice people who want to ensure you have a great time. The food is delicious too and you really look forward to your evening meal after a day on the mountain. Would definitely recommend Chilly Powder as a great place to stay.

Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Jules O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morzine hotels
3.4 km away
Hotel Les Cotes, Residence Loisirs et Chalets
3.8 km away
Hotel La Bergerie
Hotel La Bergerie
#2 of 51 in Morzine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
1.9 km away
Hotel des Dromonts
Hotel des Dromonts
#2 of 4 in Avoriaz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hotel Neige et Roc
Hotel Neige et Roc
#21 of 51 in Morzine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
3.4 km away
Hotel Le Dahu
Hotel Le Dahu
#6 of 51 in Morzine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
4.3 km away
Hotel Club Le Cret
Hotel Club Le Cret
#3 of 51 in Morzine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chilly Powder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chilly Powder

Property: Chilly Powder
Address: 2740 route des Ardoisieres | Les Prodains, 74110, Morzine, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Morzine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Morzine
#4 Romantic Hotel in Morzine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chilly Powder is a hotel but with the personal touches of a chalet. We have been operating ski chalet holidays of excellence since 1995. The genuine ski to the door location of our 3 luxury catered chalets with unrivalled in-house childcare facilities sets us apart from other ski chalets in Morzine.The pistes from Morzine Avoriaz descend straight into the garden and the main cable car opposite the chalet takes you to the heart of the Morzine Avoriaz skiing with the best access to the vast Portes du Soleil ski area. There are well over a hundred catered chalets in Morzine but only a handful can boast ski to the door locations. With all en-suite bedrooms, outdoor Jacuzzi, sauna, massage and in-house childcare in our crèche, the chalet is absolutely unique in Morzine for small or large groups or families with children or babies. The truly excellent cuisine, friendly staff and relaxing atmosphere of the chalet make it the perfect holiday destination and for our many returning guests it is considered a real home from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Chilly Powder reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chilly Powder Hotel Morzine-Avoriaz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing