We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (87)
Filter reviews
87 results
Traveller rating
77
8
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
77
8
2
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 87 reviews
Reviewed February 26, 2019 via mobile

I would just like to express my gratitude to both Shirley and Ed for their wonderful hospitality during my stay here at their place. I was undergoing my first EVER 7 day water fast while here.. I can honestly say it was one of the best decisions I’ve ever made as I felt so amazing afterwards!

And while there were challenging times, these two were always there to motivate and provide support. Just little things such as providing warm teas, meeting for chats, etc. Shirley is great because she’s able to give you so much insight into fasting, being that she has done it many times herself in her quest to heal her own ailments. As for Ed, after one of our chats we discovered that we both have a love for British crime dramas. He later surprised me with a USB stick full of these kinds of shows! As fasting leaves one with so much extra time on their hands, this kind gesture was so helpful in simply helping me to pass the time.

I honestly wouldn’t hesitate to recommend Abadin to anyone looking to fast, or even to those wanting a regular b&b experience. Shirley and Ed’s level of care, kindness, hospitality and cleanliness is outstanding.
Thank you for everything guys!!

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
3  Thank Departure268
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abadin, Owner at Abadin Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2019

Dear Meghan

First of all thank you for leaving such a great review for us. It is much appreciated !
We really enjoyed your company, the chats we had and the time with you very much.
Ed and I are so very glad that the fasting experience and the results to your health were what you had hoped for.
We are very much looking forward to your next water fasting stay.

Take care of yourself
Shirley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 16, 2018

So, I have just completed a 6-day water fast with Shirley & Ed at Abadin B&B. Having never attempted a water fast before, I was initially very nervous about doing such a long fast with only water. Could I do it? Would I feel ill? As it turned out, with Shirley & Ed's help, the process was so much easier than I had imagined and almost never felt hungry.

Although, the process was relatively painless, I know I could not have done this on my own at home. Only in the comfortable surroundings of Abadin B&B that offered the expert guidance from Shirley was it possible for me to achieve the health benefits of completing a full 6-day water fast. Autophagy (look it up), lowered insulin levels and fat burning are all great benefits of such a fast. I lost well over 10 pounds while there and 1/2 of that would be fat (about 1 pound a day is burned).

Shirley's support was invaluable and at the end of the week, I thought I could have gone longer. Very importantly, I also left with the knowledge, experience and tools to realistically embark on an extended fast on my own at home!

Ed & Shirley's hospitality was exceptional. I thoroughly enjoyed the talks we had and I learned so much about Shirley's dietary approach and fasting methods. Her story is inspiring! Time absolutely flew by when we were chatting over a glass of sparkling water.

The location is in the small village of L'Orignal near the Ontario/Quebec border. During my stay, I toured Ontario's oldest jail in L'Orignal and bought some beer at a nearby brewery (no tastings for me!). I did a couple of long walks in the area while I was there, but there aren't any walking trails in the immediate area.

I stayed in the Brown King Room, which was roomy and comfortable and you can see the Ottawa river from the room. The river is just a couple of hundred meters walk from the hotel. The shower had great water pressure and the room was well equipped with a writing desk, dvd player and flat screen tv with cable channels.

In summary, my stay at Abadin was restful & relaxing, while I made new friends in Ed & Shirley and achieved great results for my health by completing a 6-day water fast. I would highly recommend a visit to this B&B, most especially if you are considering water fasting. In this environment, you can do it!

Room tip: The brown king room is roomy, well appointed and has a view to the Ottawa River
Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BlueRacer5
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abadin, Owner at Abadin Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2018

Dear David

We were very moved by your comprehensive and wonderful review and know that all the information you provided will certainly help others looking for a supportive fasting retreat!
Guests who come for water fasting are always very appreciative for the support they need and receive to get through this challenging time.
You “sailed” through it like you had done this already many times.
We wish you all the best and know that you will be able now to do this on your own.
Having said that we of course are happy to stay in touch and to see you back in spring for your next week long fast.

All the best

Shirley
AbadinBandB ca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 2, 2018

My wife and I stayed one night. We lucked out as we were the only ones there so we could choose our room. Rooms were very clean and comfortable. Each room had a bath and a VCR for movies.Our host Ed was informative, very helpful with restaurants, easy to talk with and gracious. Breakfast was very good!! The house was decorated with paintings done by his wife and most were for sale. We definitely would stay there again!!

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank DaveyCrockett56
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abadin, Owner at Abadin Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2018

Hi,
Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay.
Yes all our rooms have their own bathrooms and a TV as well as a DVD player (sorry we do not have VCR players ;)
We are looking forward to welcome you back.
Shirley
AbadinBandB ca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 14, 2018

My husband and I stayed in the King Room on Labor Day weekend 2018. Innkeepers Ed and Shirley were lovely and accommodating. My husband and I needed vegan breakfasts, and they made us these delicious vegan, gluten-free waffles with loads of fresh fruit the first morning (and gave us a copy of the recipe). The second morning they made us a baked dish of quinoa, tomatoes and dates with some vegan cheez for a bit of savory. (This was a very interesting dish that I will be copying when the cooler temps arrive.) Fresh fruit both mornings--grapefruit, watermelon, kiwi, grapes, strawberries. Absolutely delicious and we had great chats with both Ed and Shirley.

Also, Shirley's artwork is hung throughout the house, and it is amazing and arresting. The eyes of the subjects in her paintings are startlingly beautiful. The decor is also visually interesting, not the typical quaint New England type B&B. It's evident throughout that Ed and Shirley curate every detail in the house, yet the end result is still profoundly relaxing and comfy.

The King Room was gorgeous, and most importantly, very clean. There was space for me to do my yoga practice, and the second morning I went for a run before dawn--very safe and quiet. The bed was also extremely comfortable. I could see the Ottawa River from our windows.

L'Orignal is a wonderfully serene town on the Ottawa River, and it is equidistant between Ottawa and Montreal. The first night we went to Ottawa for dinner, and the second day we circled up through Quebec and back around to Ottawa, before heading back to L'Orignal. If you want clean, relaxing lodgings, have your breakfasts squared away, and be close to Ottawa and Montreal but rest in an idyllic space between, Abadin is a fantastic place to stay!

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thisiskarlen
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abadin, Owner at Abadin Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2018

Dear Karlen

Thank you so much for your comprehensive and kind review, Ed and I are so thrilled that you had such a good time and enjoyed your stay so very much.
We were so happy that we could provide you with comfort and the accommodation you were looking for . The conversations we had were so invigorating and interesting. Ed and I had such a good time.
And by the way thanks for info on the meditation centre, I signed up for it :)

I really hope we will see you again.

Shirley
AbadinBandB . ca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 19, 2018 via mobile

Shirley and Ed were very friendly and great company. Very helpful with ideas for day excursions and restaurants that suited our style.
We were served great breakfasts and they were very accommodating hosts.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Graham P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abadin, Owner at Abadin Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2018

Good Morning
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for us !
We had such a good time to chatting and laughing during breakfast , time flew by so fast!
We wish you all the best and are looking forward to welcoming you back.

Ed & Shirley
AbadinBandB ca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews