We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (87)
Filter reviews
87 results
Traveller rating
77
8
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
77
8
2
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 87 reviews
Reviewed August 7, 2019

My husband and I were looking for a safe and comfortable place for a 5 day water fast. Although we are familiar with juice and broth fasts, we have never experienced a water fast which is why we wanted to be with experienced fasters.
In finding Abadin, we achieved all of our goals and more. Shirley and Ed provided a welcoming comfortable environment with plenty of encouragement and guidance to successfully fast. They provided resources in books and videos for the guests to learn as much as they would like to learn about fasting.
I enjoyed and appreciated having some time each day with Shirley to ask my many questions about fasting as well as understand what I was experiencing each day. A few weeks before our stay Shirley emailed me with helpful tips to prepare for the fast.
My husband and I very much appreciated how well Shirley and Ed handled everything concerning our needs as fasters and our enjoyment as guests in their B&B. We had decided to also include 2 re-feeding days after discussing options with Shirley to ease our transition to normal meals and we are really glad we did; this is the time many novice fasters struggle.
I availed myself of an Art Therapy session that Shirley, a trained and experienced art therapist, offered. This session enhanced my experience of the fast as it fit in well with having the time to focus on myself.
We plan to return next year as we had an A+ experience in every way possible. We enjoyed both a vacation and a fasting retreat, all in one.

Date of stay: July 2019
1  Thank noraspeaks123
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abadin, Owner at Abadin Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2019

Dear Noraspeaks123

Thank you very much for your kind and extensive review !!
It was a great pleasure to have had you at our Abadin Fasting Retreat and we are very happy that you enjoyed your time and felt well taken care of! We will keep you posted about our renovations and the set up of the new place we will move to.
Keep up the good work and we hope to see you back next year!
Shirley & Ed
abadinBandB com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 27, 2019 via mobile

Shirley and Ed are a wonderful couple who provide a very warm and supportive environment in which to engage in a short or long fast. I did a 10 day fast with Shirley. She made a point of checking in every day with me – spending time to see how I was feeling. She even timed her own fast to correspond with my dates, so that I would have company doing it. I feel that I not only gained my health, but also some good friends. I recommend their fasting retreat highly!

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
2  Thank capri_rita
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abadin, Owner at Abadin Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2019

Dear Capri_Rita

Thank you so very much for taking the time to write a review and tell others about your experience!
It was so much fun to have had you as our guest and yes we too feel we not only had a great guest but have made a great friend.
All the best and maybe you will come back to see us at our next smaller Fasting Retreat.
Take care

Ed & Shirley
AbadinBandB com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 19, 2019 via mobile

My Experience with a 3 week water fast

I heard about water fasting through other people in the past. It always intrigued me and I felt positive about it but I had never done any water fasting before.
Suffering from a uterine fibroid cyst at the size of 17 x 12 and scheduled for surgery my goal was to water fast to hopefully achieve a reduction of this cyst and also of course to lose some weight.

When I met Shirley and Ed I knew this was the place to embark on my health and weight loss journey.
Both were such experienced and amazing people who made me feel comfortable and safe the moment we sat down and talked.
Shirley and Ed both had to go through their own health challenges.
When I met Shirley for the first time it felt very special. The conversation we had insured me of her knowledge and I knew that with her support I could do the water fasting challenge. I felt very confident the entire time, I even decided to extend my initial stay of 10 days to a full 3 weeks of water fasting.
With our daily meetings I could easily share my feelings with her throughout my entire fasting journey.
21 days went by fast, I left and I saw my doctor one week later. He found out that my cyst had dramatically shrunken in size from 17 x 12 to 12 x 7 which is fantastic. Even my doc was in disbelieve . I am super happy and my surgery was cancelled.
I knew that the water fasting would work but I have to say I did not expect such a stunning reduction in size.
My plan is to go back in November and hopefully do a 28 day water fast , at least that is the new goal for my health and well being.

Date of stay: May 2019
3  Thank KsushaGLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abadin, Owner at Abadin Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2019

Dear Guest

Thank you so very much for your comprehensive review, we appreciate you taking the time. It was such a pleasure to meet you and our in depth conversations were inspiring. We are pleased that you felt comfortable and well looked after. We are thrilled that your health got such a fantastic boost through water fasting and that your surgery could be cancelled because of it.
We are very much looking forward to seeing you again.

Shirley & Ed
AbadinBandB Com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 25, 2019

What a gem of a place! I felt right at home with Ed and Shirley in their beautiful bed and breakfast. I am already trying to figure when we can return. My husband randomly selected Abadin and I will spread the news to my friends and family of our wonderful three day visit! My husband and I could have chatted hours away with them!

Room tip: Every room was great
Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SJoyceK
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abadin, Owner at Abadin Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2019

Hi

Thank you so very much for your kind review. We enjoyed you staying with us and our great conversations very much and we are looking forward to seeing you again. Maybe this time to do a water fast :)

All the best
Shirley (and Ed)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 14, 2019 via mobile

I did my first 7 day water fasting at shirley and ed’s.

They were amazing host. Kept me going with encouragement and shared their wisdom during my journey.

Their place is a very good place to do a water fast. The location is perfect to keep you from temptations and distractions.

The only regret is that i shouldve havr came in the summer

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank sammminh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abadin, Owner at Abadin Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2019

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and your water fast and we hope you could take some of your experience back home.

All the best

Ed & Shirley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews