We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“5* Farmhouse with 5* Hosts”
La Varenne Farmhouse Gîte - Beautiful, day or night.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
La Varenne Farmhouse Gîte - Beautiful, day or night.
Relax with a good book Grand piano  (needs a lot of work!).
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
La Varenne Farmhouse Gîte - Beautiful, day or night.
Relax with a good book
Grand piano  (needs a lot of work!).
Sunny, well-equipped breakfast kitchen looks out onto the courtyard and garden.
Spacious, airy bedrooms overlook courtyard, pool and gardens. The master bedroom has a kingsize bed.
Spacious main bathroom, with large bath and shower over.
Close to all the Dordogne has to offer.
Beautiful French Farmhouse and Pool
Large heated pool with Roman step for little paddlers.
Spacious, comfortable and welcoming. Faites comme chez vous!
Authentic building, modern comforts - shower room on the second floor.
All the bedrooms have at least two windows.
Quiet neighbours - just a few Chooks providing fresh eggs.
Springtime in La Varenne - view from the far side of the pool.
Quiet courtyard
Helicopter view.
Flexible sleeping accommodation, the 'twin' room sleeps up to 4.
Bedroom 2 overlooks the courtyard.
Welcoming from the moment you enter the driveway.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
St Front la Riviere, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
MarissaO6...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“5* Farmhouse with 5* Hosts”
Reviewed March 18, 2018 for a stay in July 2017

La Varenne is one of my favourite places. You must come visit to see for yourself and I'm sure it will become one of your favourite places too. This beautiful farmhouse is a home away from home, it has all the amenities you could possibly want or need with the added bonus of a fab swimming pool, outdoor areas and garden. Joy & John are the equally beautiful owners who welcome you with open arms and ensure you're stay there is exactly what you want it to be - stress free and relaxing. With lots of local knowledge they are happy to recommend lovely places to visit and fluent in French they are never too busy to help with anything you may need. Definitely a 5* Farmhouse with 5* hosts. We fell in love with La Varenne and Joy & John when we first visited in 2014 & did so all over again in 2016.Can't wait to visit again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Mar 2018
Thank you so much for your kind comments! We loved having you, and look forward to welcoming you again very soon! Warmest regards, Joy, John, Fleur and The Chooks
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Proffwhit...
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Home From Home”
Reviewed December 5, 2017 for a stay in November 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in La Varenne over the Month of Nov. The Gite is everything you could ask for, it has a lovely Lounge with nice big woodburner sky TV, WiFi and even a piano. The kitchen has every appliance, utensil, pan or crockery you would ever need to create a banquet if needed. The bathroom has the bonus of a nice large bath with over head shower and an additional bathroom with shower on the upper floor. The decor thoughout the Gite is very tasteful and inkeeping with the French county and it. As for John and Joy they are the perfect Hosts of La Varenne and cannot help you enough to make sure your stay with them is an excellent one. You will not be disappointed if you book a holiday there.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Dec 2017
Thank you for choosing La Varenne, and for your lovely feedback! It was a pleasure to welcome you, and we look forward o seeing you again soon. Thank you again, Joy and John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SFMC101
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tranquility and Relaxation”
Reviewed September 25, 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Fantastique gîte, fantastique location, fantastique hosts all made for a fantastiquely relaxing holiday - couldn't have been better. Highly recommend this place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Sep 2017
Thank you for your super feedback. It was a pleasure to welcome such lovely guests. We look forward to welcoming you and your family again soon!
Bien cordialement, Joy and John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princess...
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“And relax...”
Reviewed September 14, 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

After a crazy year we were so desperate for a break, we knew the best place to be was La Varenne Farmhouse (yes, we've been before).

The owners, John and Joy, as welcoming as ever. The accommodation second to none (if only my own home was as well equipped and beautifully presented). The surrounding countryside so pretty and peaceful.

Every evening we went to bed with the best intentions, planning where we were going next day, nearly every morning we got up and decided to just relax on the terrace or in the pool.

Some might have thought this would make for a boring holiday, but the place just hugs you and makes you feel so welcome. Yes, it was a pity we missed out on some of the lovely local places to visit and activities to do, we'll do those next time we come, but for this year our object was to relax and we certainly did.

It was my birthday on our last day and we did manage the short trip to Chateau de Villars for a lovely lunch.

Can't wait to come back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Sep 2017
Thank you for your lovely feedback. We're so pleased you enjoyed your holiday - and that you're planning to come again! We look forward to welcoming you again to La Varenne very soon !
Best regards, Joy and John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
willhitch...
Stevenage, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful quiet rural location.”
Reviewed July 31, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

A lovely large and well equipped place that even boasts its own egg slicer. Well laid out for families with a great pool to relax next to. Very helpful owners with some great recommendations and local knowledge that they were keen to impart. If you are looking for relaxing rural France, it doesn't get much better than this.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Aug 2017
Thank you so much for your kind comments. We're so pleased you enjoyed your holiday. We work hard to create a home from home for our guests, and reviews like this make it all worthwhile!
We loved welcoming you and your lovely family and friends. The children had a great time. We're sure baby Otto was waving as you left;)
Thank you! We look forward to welcoming you again! Joy, John, Fleur and The Chooks x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clumsykis...
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Gorgeous place, felt like a real cosy home!”
Reviewed June 11, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

The house is gorgeous, cool, and well equipped, with tons of outside space. There is nothing missing, and it really feels like Joy and John have worked hard to make this a real home. The pool is heated and really lovely, although somewhat difficult to get out of! The barbecue was a real bonus, and we all liked the cosy comfortable bedrooms.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jun 2017
Thank you for your kind feedback and for being such wonderful guests! We're so pleased you enjoyed the pool. The weather was so lovely, we rorally understand why you wouldn't want to get out of the water!
It was a pleasure to welcome you. We look forward to welcoming you again. Best regards, Joy and John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HJB63
Hoylake, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“We'll be back!”
Reviewed June 4, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Just returned from a fabulous week at La Varenne with friends and their 2 daughters. The gite is lovely - really well equipped, spacious and very comfortable. We were lucky with the weather and were able to eat every meal outside. Joy and John are fabulous hosts - nothing is too much trouble. The farmhouse is in a quiet area but there are lots of things to do nearby. We particularly enjoyed our visit to the Brantome police horse rescue centre. We will definitely be returning.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jun 2017
Thank you! It was a pleasure to meet you. We're always happy to help guests with recommendations and reservations, and we're so pleased you enjoyed the new wine tasting too.
We look forward to welcoming you again very soon.
Our best regards to you both, John and Joy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing