We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mr”
other travellers have booked this property
Sage Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sage Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
Sage Cottage
Open plan living
Log burner
Galley kitchen
Double bedroom
Twin bedroom
Upstairs WC
Overy windmill
Sailing at the harbour
The sea wall part of the coastal path
Staithe Harbour
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Burnham Overy Staithe, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Daniel F
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mr”
Reviewed December 5, 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My partner and I rented the cottage for a weekend break with our dog.

The cottage was easy to find, in a hamlet near the harbour. Unfortunately we had not realised that there would not be shops nearby open as we arrived quite late.

The cottage was well laid out and the owners had kindly left us a welcoming gift.

The nearby pub served great food and was very welcoming and very dog friendly.

The cottage was immaculate and felt like a second home rather than a rental house.

We very much look forward to returning.

Thanks.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Dec 2016
Thank you for the review, we look forward to welcoming you back.
King regards Angela
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mattstag
Mansfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely cottage tucked out of the way and near to the pub and harbour front”
Reviewed October 26, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage is excellent. It is really well set out, comfortable and surprisingly spacious inside. Brilliant location especially as we have a Labrador and the harbour is 2 minutes walk. Also really handy for the hero pub and great walks along the coast to holkam.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful but handy location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Oct 2016
Thank you, we love our guest enjoying the house and the area, we'd love to welcome you back. Thanks, Angela
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda C
1 review
“Quiet, comfortable and close to the harbour”
Reviewed September 19, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Well presented and well equipped, this is a very comfortable cottage with a true homely feel. We loved the airy and light feel to the house and the bed was good. The location was great for access to the harbour and beach but up a quiet lane. It's a pity it is in the middle of a static home site and has no garden but we would love to return.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Sep 2016
I'm so pleased you enjoyed the area and the accommodation so much that you wish to return. The photos show the small quiet private static caravan site situated behind the property and I make it very clear that there is no enclosed garden so I am sorry that this was a surprise to you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lindsayls...
Rugby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect base for visiting the Burnham's”
Reviewed August 11, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the lovely Sage Cottage with our young daughter and dog. The location is fantastic with walks along Burnham Overy Staithe right on the door step. The local Hero Pub is within easy walking distance and has been recently refurbished with lovely food and dogs welcome in the bar. As a regular visitor to North Norfolk we had not stayed in this part before and loved it. The house though small is perfectly formed, it's only downside being no real outside space, but this did not distract from our holiday at all as we were constantly out and about. The place was clean and had everything we needed. This part of Norfolk is ideal if you want wide open beautiful dog friendly beaches, upmarket pub's and long walks. Would highly recommend and I'm sure we will be back. Thanks so much for a great holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Having to leave and come home!
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Aug 2016
Thank you Lindsay, I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay. We would love to welcome you back.
Many thanks Angela
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina A
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't book this place... because I want it all for myself”
Reviewed August 1, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
2
people found this review helpful

I visited Sage Cottage with my sister, her nine year old daughter, an adult friend of mine and my little dog. I'd been impressed from the online photos and information about the cottage but all my expectations were surpassed on our arrival. The property is set in a quiet courtyard, which is in itself tidy and visually appealing, but the exterior of Sage Cottage was lovely, with dramatic hollyhocks framing the doorway, contrasting the clean paintwork. With the breeze blowing favourably, you get a lovely waft from the rosemary bush that grows to the side of the cottage.

The entrance hall is larger than expected and contains plenty of space for hanging coats and jackets, a mirror for lamenting inefficient suncream application, a washing machine and recently carpeted stairs to the first floor.

The downstairs living area is painted crisp white and is furnished with all the amenities required for a comfortable stay. It''s a lovely, airy space with a Velux window over the seating area and double opening windows at either end of the room, plus the kitchen. There are some nice little touches to the furnishings such as a good CD and book collection, as well as the flat screen TV (I took my own Amazon Fire Stick, if you're interested in whether you can do the same), DVD player and Sky TV box. The broadband is much better than expected for a rural area and there's no drop in signal anywhere in the house. The sofa is large and comfortable and easily accommodated the four of us. There's a breakfast bar with a decent footrest for eating meals at - this was plenty big enough for us to eat at. The kitchen, while small, was well-equipped and was perfect for our needs. My only regret is that I didn't get to have a go of the wood burning stove because the weather was too warm during our stay.

The information folder was comprehensive and contained loads of useful information about the cottage, plus leaflets about the wider area. If it wasn't for this, my niece wouldn't have spent an enjoyable afternoon at Mable's Paint Pot in Burnham Market.

The shower room is situated downstairs off the living area, but this doesn't intrude on privacy. The shower itself is really good, with a full-sized shower cubicle, so you can bend down to wash your feet without bumping your head. We were provided with complementary bathroom nick-nacks, which was a lovely touch. The towels that were provided were very good too.

Upstairs are the two bedrooms and another WC. Again, all are ventilated with Velux windows and those in the bedrooms had blackout blinds incorporated. Each bedroom also had additional windows for opening and further ventilation. The upstairs landing is roomy for a property of this size and the two bedrooms are both comfortable, with nice carpets, excellent beds (I stayed in the twin room with my friend while my sister and niece shared the double) and pillows; nice white bedding. There's plenty of room for storage in both of the rooms too and each has a good supply of power sockets.

The cottage itself is at most a five minute walk to the harbour (don't forget your crabbing gear!) where I think you can book coastal boat trips. The Hero pub/restaurant had only just opened prior to our stay and was a really nice setting to eat and have a drink (the food was very good indeed). In terms of location, this place is perfectly suited for exploring the North Norfolk coast and I really would recommend it to anybody.

Angela handled my booking professionally and answered all my e-mail queries promptly; a real pleasure to do business with and I wish her every success.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It felt like a home away from home
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Sep 2016
Thank you for such a lovely review. We would love to welcome you back.
Many thanks Angela
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ed F
Stamford
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place in perfect spot.”
Reviewed July 4, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Perfect location for a long weekend in early summer. Very well knitted out and extremely comfortable for up to 4 people. Can't really find a fault with it - you even get a glimpse of the sea from upstairs!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jul 2016
We look forward to welcoming you again next year. Thank you for your kind review.
Kind regards Angela
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RorytheBo...
Hadleigh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Possibly the dog-friendliest cottage in the UK”
Reviewed June 9, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We- wife, teenage son and two dogs- only stayed two nights, so our recommendation may carry less weight than some. However it was easy to find, extremely comfortable, well-appointed, and surprisingly spacious- this would sleep a family of four comfortably. The kitchen appeared tiny, but had adequate work surface and (good grief) an actual freezer; moreover one could cook while another made tea... I fear that we struggled with the admittedly very 21st century entertainment system, and the breakfast bar could have done with another stool (or maybe a small dining table? There's plenty of room), but we enjoyed everything we were promised- including dogs allowed on the sofa as long as it was covered by the rug thoughtfully provided. Finally, the owner was a real delight to deal with- friendly, and quick to respond by email.

We'll be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: The pub on the corner was closed for rebuilding- not the owner's fault...
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jun 2016
Thank you for your review, there are actually a couple of extra stools at the cottage by the washing machine, I'll make a note in the instruction manual so they are easier to find. We look forward to welcoming you back whenever you would like to visit again. Many thanks, Angela
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing