We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“you gotta eat here? NOT”
Review of JR's Family Restaurant - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
JR's Family Restaurant
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Tel 613 256 2031
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
528 reviews
476 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
“you gotta eat here? NOT”
Reviewed 15 July 2012

after recent showing on the tv show "You gotta eat here" I decided to try it for lunch. not impressed.
you roll onto the traingle parking lot..try figure what door to use lol..once inside I stood an eternity waiting to get seated..it was empty at lunch..was seated in the lower server area..man the carpet was filthy, the floor had not been vacummed, there werre crumbs on many seats and tables..the servers more interested in that than serving me. finally I got served ...ordered a turkey sandwich..it was GOOD.at lweast the cooks seem to knwo what they are doing. no water refill..service sorry sucked. won't be back

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
8 Thank thephoenixrisesagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    5
    3
    5
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“dont waste your money”
Reviewed 24 February 2012

I was not impressed with the quality or quantity of the food we were served and the so called Asian chicken soup was laughable.To be fair,our server was pleasant but that in no way made up for a very disappointing lunch.We will not be returning.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank aviva g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Super Breakfast, Friendly Staff”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Friendly Staff, Fast Service, Great Breakfast. Went for Sunday Brunch - the Buffet Looked Fantastic, but we didn't think we could eat that much! - Will go back another time.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, ON
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great food from local ingredients”
Reviewed 7 October 2011

The decor at JR's could be updated, but the food is just fine. JR's has one of the most varied menus in Almonte, appealing to those who want an exotic curried dish and to young diners who prefer a kid's meal with jello. The Sunday brunch buffet is popular with families.

The dishes are made using local Lanark county ingredients, meaning that the vegetables, meat and fish are extra fresh, and the soups and salads are a cut above mere generic appetizers. JR's chef puts a little extra into everything, and sauces seem to be homemade and delicious. One of the tastiest things to order is their Margherita pizza. It's the best I've had anywhere, mainly because of the delicate and unusual herbal seasoning.

The restaurant has a large pub on the lower level, serving tasty appetizers, and has live entertainment on weekends. The owners sponsor many charitable fund-raisers (Burn Your Bra for Bev and the Relay for Life) and are able to cater fairly large events.

The service is almost always attentive, friendly and comfortable. The washrooms are clean and tidy. It is one of the few restaurants around Almonte - or even Ottawa - that is wheelchair accessible. The menu had gluten-free, vegetarian, children and seniors' items, I think.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AlmaFudd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fresh, well-prepared food from a chef who cares”
Reviewed 18 September 2011

From the name and the location you may pass this place by, dismissing it as "just another family restaurant", but you'd be SO mistaken to do so! Although at first glance the menu seems to have lots of the "same old,same old" burgers, salads, pizza, nachos and sandwiches, JR's gives each dish its own distinctive twist. Soups are made fresh daily. I had an amazing cream of asparagus soup with just the right texture,seasoning, and lots of genuine asparagus flavor. No soup mix here! My burger "old smokey" was spicy and delicious, made from locally sourced beef and served with a trio of sauces. The very pleasant and helpful waitress told us that the relish and the ketchup were made in-house. The pretty accompanying side salad was served in a freshly made tortilla. bowl. My friend couldn't resist the Sunday brunch buffet which included a mango Thai salad, Thai beef, many homemade breakfast items and loads of amazing desserts --think rice pudding frangranced with cardamom, cheesecake and chocolate cakes, among many others and not a single one brought in from outside.
All in all, it is well worth the half hour drive from Ottawa to experience this well prepared food from a chef who deliberately draws his ingredients from local sources whenever possible.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Shaynassister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed JR's Family Restaurant also viewed

Almonte, Mississippi Mills
Almonte, Mississippi Mills
 
Almonte, Mississippi Mills
Almonte, Mississippi Mills
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing