We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good restaurant”

Mannings Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #14 of 193 Restaurants in Truro
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: We’re one of Truro’s most popular places to eat, meet and drink. The atmosphere’s informal and relaxed and all budgets are catered for. We have everything from prime rib steaks butchered on the premises, fresh local fish, aromatic sizzling platters, right down to oversized baguettes with fries and vegetarian options. You’ll find the very latest cocktails, cool crisp international beers and an extensive, varied range of wines from different countries and regions around the world.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

called in for lunch and was well received and shown to a table ,even though it was a busy time, waitress came and gave us menus and then brought a bottle water etc, we ordered our meals and we only waited about 10 minutes and we were served, the food was very good and well cooked, the service we received was excellent and we will definitely come again when in the city

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank John1939418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManningsManagement, Public Relations Manager at Mannings Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello John 1939418

Truro is a great little city to visit and we look forward to seeing you again very soon.
Lunch time around here can get a bit hectic as we are extremely popular not only with our hotel guests but also with the local community so, I am happy to hear that we managed to make your lunch with us a pleasant experience.
We appreicate the fact that you have taken the time to write a review and the team will be delighted to read all your comments about the service and quality of the food.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,043)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 1,043 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Ate here with friends - very disappointed with the ambience - cold and soulless - no tableclothes, cutlery just in a box on the table - used to be a nice restaurant where you could take guests. Mediocre food - gougons were more batter than anything, fish was just edible - could be so much better. Will not return.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank LBMK55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManningsManagement, Public Relations Manager at Mannings Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello LBMK55

So sorry to hear that you will not be returning to us and that you didn't have the opportunity to speak to one of our supervisors during your meal as we are always here to listen to your comments before you leave.
Mannings is a well - established restaurant and extremely popular with the local community and we are known for our service and quality of food on a daily basis.
We are rather puzzled though by your comments in regard the cutlery in the box and tablecloths though.
We have never to date placed cutlery in a box on any of our tables in the main restaurant and each place setting is laid on the table.
You are correct in the fact that we do not use tablecloths and I believe that most restaurants that you visit today do not use tablecloths unless you are visiting a fine dining restaurant.



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 26, 2018 via mobile

Great looking building and very smart inside, great staff especially Marilys who was in my honest opinion the best most friendly helpful waitress I've ever had in my life, a real credit to the restaurant.

Great food cooked superbly and as it was my birthday I had a candle on my dessert, nice touch and I appreciated it.

For the quality of the food and service it was fairly priced, and good value.

I highly recommend

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank Tedster057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManningsManagement, Public Relations Manager at Mannings Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2018

Hi Tedster057

Marilys will be so happy to see her name in a review - we do love her and she is a great asset the team.
The recommendation is appreciated as it's a way of letting people know what we are all about, especially for anyone new to Mannings.
We are extremely proud of our reputation here not only for the quality of the food but also for the fact that you believe we do offer great value for money.
So, thanks for taking the time to write a review and we hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 22, 2018 via mobile

We were visiting family in the area and booked a table for a Sunday afternoon lunch. Service was good. Food was excellent whether it was the Curry, Fish or the super Fish box. All meals arrived together, hot and well presented. The child’s meal was also very good. We only had one course. In my opinion a starter or desert would not be possible as the portions for a lunch are very good. When in the area again we will definitely make a return visit.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Birdie2boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManningsManagement, Public Relations Manager at Mannings Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2018

Hello Birdie2boy
An excellent first visit and hopefully many more to come for you.
We would love to see you back again so, when you are in Truro next just give us a call and let us make a reservation for you.
From small to large family tables we welcome all ages.
Portion sizes can be on the rather big side here so we appreciate the fact you felt that one course was enough for you.
When you return maybe we could review our menus with you and maybe suggest a lighter main course option for you so you can try one of our exciting starters or even a desserts or two.
Hope to see you back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 22, 2018

I came here in September for lunch with a friend, I had a delicious meal with partridge I believe which was delicious but my friend had fish goujons which were not cooked so she struggled to eat them, we were not asked if we had enjoyed our meal despite the fact that she had left nearly all of hers and the waitress when asked about the food knew nothing about the product, mine was great but to fail at fish and chips not a great start was disappointing, also pricey!

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kate s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManningsManagement, Public Relations Manager at Mannings Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2018

Hello kate s
Thank you for all your comments about your recent experience whilst eating at Mannings and we appreciate the fact that you have taken the time to write this review.
It's very disappointing to hear that you obviously enjoyed your meal but that we let you down when it came to your friend's fish goujons.
The fish goujons are one of most popular dishes so your feedback is appreciated.
It is most unusual to hear a comment about lack of product knowledge though in regard our menu but your comments are being reviewed by the team here to ensure that we are all up to date with staff product training.
Our daily supervisors are always happy to talk to you either during or after your meal is finished as we hate to think that someone has left feeling unhappy so if you have questions or issues on your next visit please ask to talk to one of them.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mannings Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Truro, Truro District
 
Truro, Truro District
Truro, Truro District
 
Truro, Truro District
 

Been to Mannings Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing