We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,429)
Filter reviews
1,429 results
Traveller rating
890
357
141
22
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
890
357
141
22
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews public beach dress code the main hotel cocktail bar corner bar sea view small private beach bungalow room pine trees half board long trousers hotel grounds head waiter beach towels buffet style waiter service evening meal for lunch
Filter
Updating list...
186 - 191 of 1,429 reviews
Reviewed October 10, 2017

I would love to have given this hotel a better rating as there were plenty of great things about it- some wonderful staff, great location, good food. However - just too many "buts" that bring it down!
Easy and short distance from airport -but dropped off at car park on main road and several steps to manage with cases before reaching reception ( where porter did appear to take cases to rooms)
Reception area is lovely - but welcome is only ok and , as mentioned in previous reviews, you would expect a hotel of this standard to offer a welcome drink while you book in.
Rooms (we had 2) were well appointed, spotlessly clean and, although we were adjacent to road, we had no problem at all with traffic noise - but no one to show you to room or explain safe /aircon etc. Air conditioning in first rooms we had was either on and blasting very cold air or off. After a couple of days we had a problem with a horrific smell in room 1 which , we think, was a problem with aircon. Reported to reception in the morning but in the afternoon smell had become much worse and reception claimed to have no record of original report. Moved promptly to an alternative room. Following day we had the same issue with room 2 and had to move (at least the aircon worked in this room)
Private beach and pool ( appreciated not having music blaring} are lovely - fairly steep access but this is well advertised so we were expecting it - but, they both just get far too busy. We were crammed in like sardines on the beach. Public beach adjacent to hotel is great and many hotel guests chose to use it but, obviously, without the facilities of their own beach.
Beach towels are provided by hotel - but we were astonished that there was nowhere around the pool or beach where you could exchange them. A note in the room said they would be exchanged every 3 days ( although bed linen could be changed daily if you wished!] but this was on the basis that you were not using them at the time.
Food was excellent at both breakfast and dinner. We found that the selection was very good and buffet had a great variety of options which changed daily. Service was generally very good and, unlike some other reviewers we liked the dress code - seemed perfectly reasonable to us. Again with reference to previous reviews, we had no problem with the temperature of the hot food - maybe not piping hot but certainly plenty warm enough. Only issue we had was having to queue for a table. The man in charge did a great job of organising the tables and wait was usually fairly short (other than one occasion when it was about 25 mins) - but in a 4star hotel we do not expect to see people queuing down the stairs waiting for the restaurant to open just so that they can get a table. Again the problem seems to be that the hotel is just a bit to busy for the facilities.
Hope this is a fair review as there is a lot that is good about this place. It's just frustrating that what was only ok could and should be excellent with a few changes.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Hannah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 9, 2017 via mobile

Check in

The checkin process was slow yet efficient on arrival. The real star benefit here is that the suitcases were handled completely by the hotel staff. The cases arrived in our room and we didn't have to do anything. I think that the hotel take care of this due to the fact the hotel sits directly on the main road however from a service delivery perspective this was a fantastic touch to the start of the holiday. We arrived late however was in time for dinner which finished at 21:30 and so was able grab a bite to eat.

Hotel Room

The rooms are modern, comfortable and very clean. There are amble hangers and lots of draw and shelving space. The lighting in the room is very good, mood LED lighting outlines the key room features with reading lights and soft lighting in the bed area. The hotel provide full towels including beach/pool towels and these are changed daily. The bedding is also changed daily unless you prefer opt out and "save Mother Earth". Mini bar is very reasonably priced. The in room toiletries (Shampoo, bath and body wash) were of high standard and what you would expect to find in a 4/5 star hotel, they were replenished daily. The bathroom had bath and drencher shower and separate shower head. Our room did not have a sea view however this didn't bother us as we hardly spent any time in the room. The hotel did however offer to move us to a sea view once the occupancy had reduced.

Restaurant

We were led to believe that the dress code in the restaurant was strict with men required to wear trousers and shirt/collar and ladies in dresses/trousers with no open toe shoes. We packed accordingly however found that whilst most were smart that the dress code wasn't as strict as we were led to believe. I would say if you pack smart casual you wont go far wrong. The food is of good buffet quality although by the end of the week we were board but this is normal in any all inclusive/full/half board accommodation. The waiters are always busy, very efficient and nothing is too much trouble. There is a real family feel with many of the guests knowing the staff very well from previous visits. Breakfast had a good selection of hot and cold food with all the usual you would expect to find. Full table linen including linen napkins are a real nice touch and sense of quality.

Pool and Private Beach

The pool area was great, toilets and private showers close by, plenty of sun loungers and close proximity to the beach bar that served snacks and drinks during the day. Good selection, reasonably priced and the same consistent 4/5 star service from the staff. The beach was beautiful in my view. Consistent tide, fab atmosphere with the sea crashing against the white rocks makes a very nice tranquil and relaxing atmosphere. We spent much of our time here. The beach and pool is a decent walk from the main hotel and if you struggle on your feet you may find the walk to the beach a challenge.

Hotel Layout Overall

I think the hotel is fantastic for a relaxing tranquil and peaceful holiday break. Be aware that the terrain is a steep hill side down to the Ionian Sea and so the hotel is jolted into the hill side with some steep paths steps and quirky layouts and whilst I think this provides the hotel with its unique hospitality it may also be difficult if you struggle on your legs. That said, I would not let this put you off from booking as the hotel overall outweighs this challenge and the staff would do all they could to accommodate your specific needs. You really wont be disappointed if you book this property.

Star Rating

I would say that the hotel is a very good 4 star. If they introduced a spar and just slightly improved the evening meal selection then I would be giving this hotel 5 stars. I wouldn't hesitate in recommending this hotel and would be very happy to re book and visit again.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
4  Thank V7JTR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 9, 2017

Just arrived back after a week on this beautiful island. Absolutely loved Kefalonia, fantastic holiday.
White Rocks is a beautiful hotel. It is on a strip of land between the main road and the beach. Consequently the resort is stretched out and there is walking to be done between the bungalows, hotel, beach and bars. Some may find this difficult as some of the paths are steep. But the resort is entirely sympathetic with the surroundings and it is what it is.
The pool was very cold but spotlessly clean and although there were plenty of beds this might not be the cases in high season. The private beach is a little bit stony but the other beach (still sort of within the grounds but not private) was a stunning blue flag sandy beach.
When we arrived we were given a room fronting the road but asked, and because the hotel was quiet, and were transferred the next day to a room fronting the beach. Definitely ask for a sea view it made a huge difference.
The food was lovely. Not a large selection but very nice. Breakfast was really lovely. Long trousers were compulsory at dinner for the men and "elegant attire" for ladies.
Hired a car for a day at KCG which is a trip company just up the road in Lassi 35 euros for the day rather than 65 euros with Thomson or Tui. Easy to find your way way around the island by car. Fiskardo and Assos are beautiful. Walked into Lassi most evenings. The Corner Bar in the hotel grounds was very nice in the evenings as the lobby bar was a bit sterile - the bar is expensive. No entertainment in the evening apart from one greek night.
All in all a gorgeous holiday and we would definitely come again. Just one other thing, the staff - without exception - were helpful, courteous and friendly for the whole time.

Room Tip: Go for a sea view. No sea view means looking at a wall and a road within 12 ft of the balcony.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank 16Ros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 4, 2017

We have just returned from a 10 day holiday at the White Rocks Hotel and we wanted to write to say what a wonderful, relaxing stay my wife and I have had.
This hotel is a true 4 star hotel and our experience started on the first day when we arrived early at 9 am, because of our flight being brought forward by 3 hours; we expected to have to wait several hours before our room would be ready, but the reception at the hotel made sure our room was clean and ready and we managed to settle in and relax.
We had read that the food was a bit plain and repetitive; we found the exact opposite - the buffet dinner was excellent with a lot of variety and taste, well presented and hot. The buffet breakfast was again varied, with fresh fruit, cold ham and cheese, and of course a traditional English breakfast.
The staff serving at both breakfast and dinner could not have been more efficient, friendly and unobtrusive. They served drinks and coffee/tea when you needed them and at dinner, served drinks as soon as you are seated. We must mention Kiki, Evangilina and the maitre'd was excellent, distributing the tables on a first come first serve basis.
There are 4 bars, each with its own atmosphere; the beach bar is excellent and serves tasty lunches such as pizza and toasted sandwiches. We used the terrace bar that over looked the beach, the sea and the wonderful sunset, and were served by Nikolas, who was excellent.
The pool area is clean and quiet, with the actual pool big enough for a good swim.
Our room was on the third floor ,quiet with a great view; it was cleaned every day to a very high standard with the bed changed and towels changed every day if you required it. Also, clean beach towels were replaced every 3 days.
The hotel itself was clean and tidy and the décor was bright.
There is a private beach for residents, which is a bit stoney but wonderful for snorkling to see all the fishes in the clear, warm water. There are 2 public beaches which are sandy and wonderful to swim from.
The area of Lassi is full of nice bars and restaurants and not far to walk to from the hotel. There is a travel agent in Lassi called LCG Travel where you can book day trips and tours around the island - we booked the Kefalonia Adventure which was a trip around most of the island ; this was great and cost 32 euros each.
As others have noted, the hotel is spread out along the clifftop with some steps and slopes, but we found that this allowed you not to feel overcrowded.
Kefalonia itself, is beautiful with stunning scenery, lovely beaches, historical features, very friendly people and a pace of life which can only be admired; our only criticism is the fact that, owing to the Greek governments action or inaction, certain areas are overrun with wasps, making fewer people wanting to eat outside.
All in all , a wonderful holiday.

Room Tip: Get a seaview room.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 4, 2017

This hotel is in a fabulous location on the edge of Lassi town. The setting is beautiful. We had a room with a sea view and there were some amazing sunsets. The whole hotel is spotlessly clean. The food in the restaurant in the evening is excellent - we wanted to sample everything but there is so much to choose from. Something for everyone's taste. The pool area is lovely and quiet as is the small beach which is down a quite steep slope (there is a handrail) just a bit further on from the pool. The beach is tiny and the sea bed is very rocky. There is a much larger (public) beach just a very short walk from the hotel - we didn't use this but noticed that quite a few of the hotel guests did. There weren't any sunbeds on the large beach but whether that is because we were slightly out of season we're not sure. The only disappointment for us was the beach cafe. The choice of food is very limited and not up to the same standard as the main restaurant. The food is served on plastic plates and the cutlery is plastic and small. For such a lovely hotel we were surprised. One other small point is that there is no shop in the hotel (other than a very small clothing and jewellery shop) so there was nowhere to buy a paper, magazine, postcards, small snacks or drinks etc. The nearest shop is a 10 minute walk. All in all though - it was a fantastic holiday.

Room Tip: Sea view a must
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank babsr105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews