We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place but plan to stay a while”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Kapalua Villas, Maui
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kapalua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 August 2011

Jul 17, 2011
Romance "Great Place but plan to stay a while" Reviewed by a Hotels.com guest
We really enjoyed our stay in Maui. You will need a car to take full advantage of this property but I would recommend staying for over a week. We only stayed 5 days and did not really get the full use of this property. The rooms are large and well appointed with everything you need for Cooking and living (except Kitchen Necessities like salt pepper, […] oil etc) We were in the Golf Villas so for us it was a 15minute walk to the Beach or the Ritz Carlton (I assumed it was closer when booking online) The Ritz Carlton is Amazing and great for relaxing. Some of Mauis best Beaches are nearby but as stated you need to walk at least 15minutes, drive or you can call the Villas internal transport that will transport you locally. Excellent BBQ facilities with a basic pool (scattered around the complex) This would have been an ideal place to settle down with some friends for a few weeks. We were always on the Go so didn't use to our full advantage. Overall a great time.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ivestar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kvl_mgmt, Manager at The Kapalua Villas, Maui, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2011

Aloha,

We appreciate your review and love the fact that you had such a great time. Our villas are spacious indeed, as is the resort itself. Spanning some 22,000 acres, there is no question that a short "commute" might be required depending on your specific location and destination. This fact of course plays to the openess that is experienced and the wide ranging activites that are offered so, we'll take it :) You noted one of our largest travel markets when mentioning groups of friends or family members traveling together to enjoy this piece of paradise. With one, two, and three bedroom villas, in addtion to luxury homes with up to 5 bedrooms, the comforts of a gathering place await your return. Do call on me if I may assist with future plans, I would love to welcome you back.

Sincerely,

Anthony Freda
Resort Manager
The Kapalua Villas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (970)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

633 - 639 of 970 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2011

My family of four stayed in 1223/1224, a two bedroom 3 bath Villa and this stay rivals some of our European vacations as far as hotel and ambiance (including our Tauck tour of Classic Italy). The only drawback, and a minor one at that, is that you have to drive to get groceries, etc., unlike most of the tourists who stay Ka'anapali. Having known this prior to arriving, we shopped at WalMart and Safeway upon our arrival at the airport in Kahului. You can also get a great meal at Da Kitchen in Kahului (not the same as the Ka'anapali franchise) before you get to the villa to settle in. We arrived at around noon at the airport and couldn't check in until 3pm anyway.

In short, our villa was a home away from home. Granite countertops, SubZero built in fridge, walk-in open shower in the Master, a view of both Lana'i and Moloka'i to start off with. Parking is right out front, and although we didn't use it, the shuttle is available to take you anywhere on the property.

We did have minor issues (really non-issues) with the porch light not working and 2 small cockroaches and, of course, geckos. But you're on an lush island, this is expected. I shooed the locals out and the service people changed the lightbulb with only one request.

Towels are changed daily and they semi-clean the rooms. Remember, that this is not a hotel, so the beds are not made daily. I believe it's every other or 3rd day. No big deal. The person who griped about having his phone stolen should have known better to leave expensive personal items out. Passports and the like should be kept in the in-room safe. This villa should not be treated any different than high-end hotel. Things will get stolen. Be smart and use the safe.

Best secluded beach to see giant (and I mean GIANT) sea turtles is Honokeana bay. You have to park on Napili Place (no later than 9:30 in the morning), walk down to Napili Bay and walk AROUND Honokeana Cove (head south on the black rocks) to the next bay which is Honokeana Bay. Jump right in and head towards the motel that had large rocks for their beach (really, rocks, not sand at the beach). You'll see the turtles feeding not far from these rocks.

Although we didn't get to go, I can tell that Honolua Bay would have been good for snorkeling as well, but the secret's out and you have to get there early because parking is VERY limited.

Kapalua Bay is a great one with family for just dipping in the water but you should definitely buy water shoes at Safeway because everyone of us got scraped by the rocks that are not to far from the water's edge. Fleming's Beach (1 mile north of the compound (?)) is great for boogie boarding or body surfing as it doesn't have rocks to get slammed into and there's a lifeguard. Oneloa Bay, which is on the Kapalua property, is also great for boarding or body surfing but the rocks can be troublesome and there's no lifeguard. Rent your snorkelling equipment at Snorkel Bob's just down the road.

We only took advantage of the Ritz Carlton Hotel pool a couple of times but really, as beautiful as it was, it's still just a pool. You're in Maui to enjoy the beaches and that's what we did. But if you have little ones, they might enjoy movie night at the pool (Toy Story 3 was playing when we were there). One thing we wondered about is why these people would pay more money to stay in a hotel room (granted it's the Ritz) and not one of the Villas on the same property? But then again, we'd love to keep Kapalua Villas our little secret.

Our daily routine is that we usually purchased breakfast and some souvenirs at the Honolua General store (now being run by ABC stores) and the food and prices were definitely reasonable. We really didn't have time to have a sit-down breakfast because of the activities that we crammed in (ziplining, crater excursions, side trips, etc), requiring early arrivals.

In Lahaina, eat at the Cheeseburger restaurant and have mango shave (I learned it's not SHAVED, but SHAVE) ice at Ululani down the street. You can't go wrong there! Hula Grill at Ka-anapali had great food as well. I had the Wasabi Rib Eye steak there. The Aloha Mixed Plate restaurant (I believe it's behind the Safeway) had OK food, but they ran out of Kalbi and we waited 1 hour to be seated and another hour to be served. Stay away if you cherish your time.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pantheon23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kvl_mgmt, Manager at The Kapalua Villas, Maui, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2011

A perfect 5, Mahalo for such a wonderful review.

We are truly glad that all of your expectations were met and even exceeded, we strive for such results each and every day.
Sea Turtles and other marine life abound in these waters, virtually year round at at all times of day, our "neighbors" come out to greet us.
Your Ridge villa is in fact one that recieves many very positive comments, both for the unit itself, the surroundings, and of course the views. We have terrific villa owners that take great pride in presenting their properties in the most welcoming way. As you stated, a home away from home.
I will look forward to welcoming you back to Kapalua time and again.

Sincerely,

Anthony Freda
Resort Manager
The Kapalua Villas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2011

We traveled to Maui for a wedding which was held at the Kapalua Villas. We stayed in the Kapalua Bay Villas in a one bedroom (for my wife and me). The unit was very nice, though the layout was less than ideal - a two story loft sort of thing which delivered the inconvenience of two floors without the privacy or noise mitigation of an actual one-bedroom (the bedroom was a loft, so any activity on the first floor went right up to the bedroom - a disadvantage for the eastern time zone worker trying to get some business done before his sleeping spouse awakens.

The Kapalua resort is incredibly beautiful and well done. We took advantage of the spa and spent an afternoon lounging around the pool and getting massages. The beaches that were accessible by foot were quite lovely, if a bit windy.

Who would I not stay there again? Because it is a bit isolated, more or less requires a drive to get anywhere - but I guess that is largely the case throughout Maui - and because we'd rather be more in the flow of the community than isolated in this resort type setting with the wealthy tourists. For us, the Kapalua Villas delivered on the promise of a high end resort experience. That being said, we've come to the conclusion that we'd rather travel in a way that puts us more into the flow of the local scene. We surfed four days in Lahaina and enjoyed that - and the morning of snorkeling - more than anything else.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SebGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kvl_mgmt, Manager at The Kapalua Villas, Maui, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2011

Aloha,

Your candid review and preferences are equally appreciated. A vacation experiences must of course meet each individuals personal wishes and desires. While we highly value our resorts tranquility and reasonable proximity to numerous activites island wide, we also value the preferences of guests such as yourself that prefer a more "in the scene" location. Maui does offer such options and my first recommendation would be location in Ka'anapali, a more populated and faster paced but still resort style experience. The Maui Eldorado would be a good option for accomodations in Ka'anapali.
The loft configuration is again an understandable concern or preference amongst our guests and while we do of course offer many units with single floor layouts, I apologize that we were unable to meet your request as such during your visit.

Most especially, mahalo for allowing us to serve you and I am happy to hear that the overall experience was a very positive one. If you do in fact choose Kapalua again, I ask that you call on me for assistance.

Sincerely,

Anthony Freda
Resort Manager
The Kapalua Villas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

We stayed in a Ridge Villa booked through VRBO, which was also managed by Ridge Realty. We stayed for 5 nights in July. We loved our unit, it was very spacious, clean, had air conditioning as well as ceiling fans, nice lanai, the bed was very comfortable. Swimming pool just across the road, which we used a few times. Great area for walking, close to beaches. We even walked down to Seahouse Restaurant for dinner and Slack-key show. It felt like we were staying in the middle of the golf course, as that was the view from the Lanai. It was so quiet and peaceful we loved it. Our unit was #2521, if we come back to Maui we would choose to stay in the same unit. Enjoyed snorkelling at Kapalua beach, and Black Rock in this area, but our favourite sport for snorkelling in this part of the island was Honolua Bay - went back twice to this bay. There is no daily room service with this unit which suited us, also you don't pay the Ritz Resort daily fee (we weren't going to use their facilities anyway).

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank christraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kvl_mgmt, Manager at The Kapalua Villas, Maui, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2011

Aloha,

The Kapalua Villas is the largest rental agent across the resort, managing over 160 villas and luxury homes. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, Kapalua is certainly a destination unlike any other. My team and I cannot assume credit however as your review indicates that you had in fact booked through another avenue. Nonetheless, we all share in the success and positive memories of Kapalua Resort and for that I am very pleased.

Stay well and please call on me if I may assist with reservations and accomodations for your next visit.

Sincerely,

Anthony Freda
Resort Manager
The Kapalua Villas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Wow is what I have to say!! The kapalua area is huge but so spread out you don't feel like everyone is on top of you, also includes the Ritz Carlton.
Tip 1: must have a car, although there is a resort shuttle you will have so much to do on the island a car is indeed a must.
We stayed in a Gold Ocean Front villa (Bay Villas) the view of the ocean and moloki is breathtaking and the sound of the waves is serene. We were in 22B4 beautifully appointed, we overlooked the walking trail and just to the right was Oneola beach, a quick 2 min walk,
no snorleking here but catching some waves and just having a blast in the ocean is a whole
lotta fun and the beach never gets crazy overloaded with people like Kapalua and Napali
(although these are a must for some great snorkeling)
Also 2 pools right nearby.
Tip 2: stop of in lahaina at the Safeway for some groceries. You will pass this on the way
On the left at a light intersection, dont worry you will see it.Yep everyone will go blah blah
about the price of milk, but hey that's vacation land for ya. Like the locals say they have to pay that all the time!!
Tip 3: when you turn onto office road look for the second large building on your right that is where you will check in. If you pass the Honolulu/Suttons store you have gone to far.
Tip 4: eat at Merrimans,Pineapple Grill, Honolulu store ( great for on the go lunches) Seahouse for breakfast (not for dinner, we gave that 5 out of 10 for dinner but a 10 out of 10 for breaky, this is for food) service was OK, not great. The best thing about the Seahouse is that you are right on Napali beach, we had breaky, did some snorkeling, and sunning and then had a light lunch all on the beach so 10 out of 10 for view and location.
Tip 5: you will have to pay a $25 a day resort fee but this does include using the phone even long distant and using the Ritz Carlton amenities. No biggie really.
Tip 6: bring some light cover ups for the evening as the temp does drop.
Tip 7: snorkeling trip use Maui classic Charters four winds II breaky, lunch and drinks included. Great snorkeling at molokini.
Tip 8: Maui sun riders yep get up at 1 am to go see the sun come up on Haleakala and then ride down the rest of the way to paia. Awesome. You will start outside of the park for the ride, so pretty much plain safe riding all the way down. We stopped of in makawao at casonova restaurant for breakfast...yum!! Also pop into the Sherri Reeve gallery and gift store here she has beautiful watercolor pictures.
I could keep going on but there is a lot to do and see, did I even mention how amazing the ride to Hana was!
Overall I know this was about where we were staying 10 out of 10 loads and loads of kitty purrs!! We loved the unit, the clean towels everyday, the view, the bed the grounds, the area, the people, Kapalua is wonderful and we would come back here in a heartbeat! Aloha and mahola for such a wonderful vacation. Don't look anywhere else you have found the right place :)
Overall we were very happy with our stay at Kapalua, even the wind was not as bad a people say as it keeps you cool. After traveling to the other side of the island we were really, really glad to be here, it is beautiful place

Room Tip: Go ocean front if you have a love for sea!! Amazing panoramic views. Almost feel you are over the wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TexasTravelingkitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kvl_mgmt, Manager at The Kapalua Villas, Maui, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2011

Aloha,

The format and detail of your review is most appreciative in that it is clear and concise as well as user friendly.
Each of your points add value to others planning a stay here in Kapalua, preparation when heading to any destination is key to maximizing one's enjoyment and limiting undue delays.
Our resort is producing more and more highly positive and very detailed responses and on behalf of everyone here, mahalo nui loa. We work hard to create a lasting memory filled with positive experiences, and we are always listening for way in which we can improve upon this foundation of success.

Please keep my contact information close at hand and pass it along to others who wish to visit our piece of paradise, I will always be available to provide personal assistance to the best of my abilities.

Sincerely,

Anthony Freda
Resort Manager
The Kapalua Villas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

The Kapalua villa's are on the west-side of Maui, ancd give you access to four great beaches. We stayed at a one bedroom villa with partial ocean view. This mis nice because we where in the nice green part of the resort, but could stil enjoy the view on the ocean.
I have to say the villa was very large for us, with a full kichen this is perfect for families. And we enjoyed our breakfast on the balcony, perfect! I think staying in a place is nicer than staying in a traditional Hotel, it allows for more freedom and it is more quiet.
Service was great too, all in all a great place to stay!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DTravelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kvl_mgmt, Manager at The Kapalua Villas, Maui, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2011

Aloha and Ho'omaika'i 'ana (congratulations),

The perspective you present is so sincere, and one that we share. Kapalua defines privacy, personalization, and tranquility, all at the entrypoint to some of natures most magnificent features. On behalf of our entire team, we wish you many fond experiences to add to those already set to memory.

Sincerely,

Anthony Freda
Resort Manager
The Kapalua Villas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011









Rooms were great - right on golf course with view to ocean. Great furniture, beds and modern kitchen. Granite counters. PATIO ON GOLF COURSE. Village was great. Beach cannot be beat. Use of hotel pool but nice pool with BBQ'D area across street.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jland0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapalua
9 km away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 31 in Lahaina
4,341 reviews
6.2 km away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#14 of 31 in Lahaina
2,655 reviews
7.8 km away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 km away
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
8.1 km away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#18 of 31 in Lahaina
4,224 reviews
9.4 km away
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kapalua Villas, Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kapalua Villas, Maui

Address: 2000 Village Road, Kapalua, Maui, HI 96761-8727
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kapalua
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kapalua
Price Range: $278 - $1,174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kapalua Villas, Maui 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kapalua Villas are located on the beautiful Kapalua Resort on the west side of the island of Maui. Offering 1, 2 and 3 bedroom condominium accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Kapalua Villas, Maui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kapalua Villas Hotel Kapalua
Kapalua Hotel Lahaina
Kapalua Resort Lahaina
Kapalua Villas Maui
The Kapalua Villas, Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing