We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$664
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$2,845
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$425
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$239
US$232
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger(Lahaina)(Great Value!)
US$236
US$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aston at Papakea Resort(Lahaina)(Great Value!)
US$195
US$165
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$185
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Ka'anapali Beach Club(Maui)(Great Value!)
US$319
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,006)
Filter reviews
1,006 results
Traveller rating
570
238
84
69
45
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
570
238
84
69
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgold villathe ritz carltonbay villagold ocean viewpineapple grillocean fronthonolua storeresort shuttleoneloa beachgolf courses areliving roomfull kitchenwasher and dryerdt fleming beachshuttle servicegranite countertopsgeneral store
Filter
Updating list...
85 - 90 of 1,006 reviews
Reviewed August 15, 2017

Decided on Kapalua Villas because of location to Plantation Golf course, but its amenities and a wonderful condo was perfect for our 5 days visit. Location to restaurants, free shuttle service and numerous beaches gave us multiple options. The villa was spacious with beautiful linens, well-equipped kitchen and great views of the ocean. It was a fantastic home base for all of our adventures on the island.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kristine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KVL-Management, Front Office Manager at The Kapalua Villas, Maui, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2017

Aloha Kristine A,

Thank you for your review and staying with us at the Kapalua Villas! We are very pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us!

We look forward to hosting you again here on Maui in the future!

Mahalo

Dale Mustard
Front Office Manager
Kapalua Villas~Maui

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 14, 2017 via mobile

Spectacular views and spacious grounds make for a peaceful vacation. Some of the units are privately owned and operated. Our unit was a two story, older one and would have benefited from some interior and furnishings upgrades. The original architecture and finishes however are solid. The place is very quiet and does not have that crowded condominium feeling. The Kapalua grounds are luxurious and expansive. The nearby beaches are outstanding.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
3  Thank Scott W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KVL-Management, Front Office Manager at The Kapalua Villas, Maui, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2017

Aloha Scott W,

Thank you for your review and staying with us at the Kapalua Villas! We are happy that you had a nice vacation here with us. You are indeed correct that Kapalua is very serene and quiet location. In my opinion, taking in the peace and quiet is the best part of a Maui vacation!

We look forward to seeing you again on your next vacation to paradise

Mahalo

Dale Mustard
Front Office Manager
Kapalua Villas~Maui

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 13, 2017

We loved our gold condo unit from the very beginning. 2 bedrooms, 2 baths, very large, clean. We've stayed in a lot of condos over the years and this was the nicest. It was called a partial ocean view, but we could see it just fine. Also see the 2 islands to the west of Maui.

Pool areas were top notch. I went to one of the 3 pools nightly to use the gas grills that are available.

We were located on the 11th hole tee box. It took us 10 minutes to walk to the beach on our early morning walks.

Beautiful! No complaints

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Trevor99evansville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KVL-Management, Front Office Manager at The Kapalua Villas, Maui, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2017

Aloha Trevor99evensville

Thank you for your review and staying with us at the Kapalua Villas! We are very pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us! You are correct that the Gold Villas are lovely. It sounds like you really had a chance to take it all in.

We look forward to seeing you again soon


Mahalo

Dale Mustard
Front Office Manager
Kapalua Villas~Maui

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 11, 2017

The location was amazing. Beautiful scenery with ocean view. The villa itself was also gorgeous. Spacious. Clean. Walking distance to the beach. It came with a washer/dryer. refrigerator w/ ice maker. Coffee machine etc. We had 2 bathrooms. One had a sunken tub and the other had a shower. Televisions both in sitting room and in bedroom. The air conditioner worked great (too good at times). I had previously read that there were issues with the villa's being too warm and the air conditioners not being able to keep the place cool. This was not the case for us.
You're probably wondering why I only gave 3 stars. Here's the issue...ROACHES!!
The first evening that we were there, I turned on the light to the kitchen, and saw 2 small roaches. I kept every morsel of food inside of the refrigerator as to not attract more. The next morning, the same thing. We saw anywhere from 3-5 every morning and every night. One was crawling in my daughters pull-out sofa bed. They were seen both upstairs and down stairs. I had read a post from a lady who had actually taken pictures of them. The response from management was that the lady had stayed at another resort, not the Kapalua Villa's. I thought this was strange. How could someone "forget" what resort they were at for a week. She was correct. They have a significant problem with roaches. I was told by a local, that the entire island has this issue. I wish I would have known prior to booking. We made the best out of the situation but I don't think that I could bring myself to stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Delynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KVL-Management, Front Office Manager at The Kapalua Villas, Maui, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2017

Aloha Delynn S

Thank you for your review and thank you for staying at the Kapalua Villas.

I am happy that you had enjoyed your stay, I am sorry that you come across roaches during your stay, as you had stated, someone told you that the entire island has this issue. Being that this is a tropical island and environment, yes, indeed, bugs are prevalent and a frequent occurrence here. When you live in, or stay in a tropical environment that is a fact of life. We do everything that we can to mitigate the issue with regular pest control but even with all of those measures they still can make an appearance.

In regards to your comment about my response to a prior reviewer. I had never stated that they "forgot" where they stayed. Kapalua Resort encompasses over 400 condominiums. We here at Outrigger manage about a quarter of those. The reviewer did not stay in one of our managed condos, I had simply stated this fact and asked that they direct the review to the parties that they had rented their villa from. That is more than a fair request.

Again, thank you for staying at Kapalua and we do hope to host you again in the future should you decide to return to Maui.

Mahalo,

Dale Mustard
Front Office Manager
Kapalua Villas~Maui

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 8, 2017

This was our fourth trip to Kapalua and our first stay at Kapalua Bay Villas. The Kapalua Resort is perfect! A short drive 'off campus' and you are in Kaanapali or Lahaina. However, on the 22,000 acre resort of Kapalua, you will find several fantastic restaurants, 4 amazing beaches, 2 golf courses and hiking trails. There is a free shuttle service to get you anywhere you need to go within Kapalua. So, you could get by without a rental car. But, if you plan on exploring the island, a car is necessary. We always stayed at the Ritz prior to discovering the villas. Although the cost was similar, we got far more value out of our vacation dollar staying in a villa. We booked through Outrigger because they have a front desk on premises and are available 24hrs/day. For example, we had one minor issue with our ice maker and Outrigger sent someone to fix it within 15 minutes! Like other online rentals, the Outrigger is beginning to post pictures of their villas so that guests may select a specific unit for their stay.
We rented a 1 bedroom gold ocean front villa; it exceeded every expectation we had! Amazing views, updated bathroom and kitchen, washer/dryer, wifi AND was equipped with paper towels, toilet paper, coffee(and filters,) dish washing and laundry detergent, soap, hair dryer, shampoo, beach and bath towels.
In addition, there are several very private pools located throughout the villa complex, each with two large gas grills and two bathrooms.
We had such a fantastic experience that, before leaving, we booked a 2 bedroom villa for next year so that we may bring our children. The crew at the Outrigger Kapalua desk was so helpful and friendly-they were even able to accommodate our late check out request at the last minute. Mahalo, Garrett, Darril and Dale! See you next year!

Room Tip: If you can, book an ocean front villa! The views are AMAZING from sunrise to sunset!
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
7  Thank JBrand123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KVL-Management, Front Office Manager at The Kapalua Villas, Maui, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2017

Aloha JBrand123,

Thank you for kind, wonderful and informative review! It does sound like you had truly enjoyed your vacation and that makes all of us very happy. Garrett and Darrin will appreciate your kind comments as well.

It certainly was a pleasure hosting you and we very much look forward to seeing you again!

Mahalo

Dale Mustard
Front Office Manager
Kapalua Villas~Maui

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews