We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Windy side of Maui”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Kapalua Villas, Maui
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kapalua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2010

Lovely Villas
Can use 3 beaches
The attached hotel is nothing special - small and looks boring compared to this villas
£25 daily fee for parking and free telephone

Maui itself is a very expensive place - don't go to see the crater - waste of time and over 2hours driving

Hawaii is not anywhere as exotic as the far east or caribbean

Would recommend only to americans as local for them

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kam2310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (923)
There are newer reviews for The Kapalua Villas, Maui
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

641 - 647 of 923 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2010

We just returned from a vacation booked on our Vancity Visa card points thru Air Canada Vacations, and stayed at The Kapalua Villas in Maui. We arrived late on the night of the 12th to find the remodeled Ocean View Villa nothing like the Villas advertised on their website. The Villa was built in the 80's with some poorly installed Ikea updates. We had called ahead to make sure that they would provide us with a crib for our 2 year old son to sleep in after his long flight, and were disappointed to find that they had given us a play pen for him. When we called the front desk they told us that "it was late and the people with the crib were on the other side of the compound" so for the first night our son slept with us. Later that night we discovered a 3" dead roach in the hallway and found another in the morning in a kitchen cupboard. The staff took us to look at other Villas, but our seemed to be the best of what we saw, so we decided to stay.

Our second day didn't get better, after complaining to the front desk we were assured that we would get a crib delivered in the morning. When we arrived back in our room at 1pm for our son's nap there was no crib, but they had also taken the playpen. The crib showed up an hour later after our son's nap. We also we visited by some hotel staff who were sent to set roach traps around our kitchen, they informed me that the Villas were old and overrun with roaches and were regularly fumigated on a monthly basis. Upon hearing this and the fact that my wife refused to unpack her bags for a fear the roaches I decided to contact the general manager and played phone tag with him for the rest of the day.

Our third day started with us heading to the beach to find upon our return a notice from the city that the power to the Villa had been cut off due to the owners not paying their bills. When I finally got face to face with T.J. to discuss this he mentioned that Air Canada had got me a really good rate on the room, implying that we didn't pay a lot for our room and shouldn't be complaining. We were offered a free night credited back to us and no charge for a late check out and were moved to another comparable Villa. Again we were promised that a crib would be set up when we returned from a show that evening. When we returned that night we were locked out because the staff gave us the wrong keys and the crib was not there. Fourty-five minutes later the crib arrived and I had to pull the pins and remove a door so that staff could roll it into our room. when I mentioned this to T.J. the next morning he offered us another 1 night credit.

The rest of our trip seemed to go off without a hitch, but our first three days (almost half of our trip) were horrible. on top of all this the hotel charged us a resort fee of $25.00 a day that no one told us about, and is not advertised on their site.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank mich021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2010

We stayed in a 1 bedroom Kapalua Gold Villa in June 2010. We were originally placed in a Golf Villa but after a problem with the AC unit not working, were moved to a Ridge Villa. FYI-the Bay Villas are oceanfront (most expensive), the Ridge Villas are ocean-view (second most expensive) and the Golf Villas are up on the hill and the least expensive. Our 1 bedroom condo had 2 full bathrooms which made it nice for our friend who was sleeping on the sleeper sofa to not have to come in our room and share. The Gold villas are all decorated nice with updated appliances and bathrooms. Our view was wonderful.

We really enjoyed the signing privileges at the Ritz and spent days poolside over there. Also really enjoyed getting breakfast at the Honolua Store (right next to check-in). It is delicious!! Overall, the villa was a little pricey (279.00 per night) but well worth the value in my opinion.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Legalgal25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2010

If you are looking for a getaway from big crowds, Kapalua and Kapalua Villas is the ultimate paradise. The only complaint I had was the day we arrived there was a huge brush fire that closed the highway going to Kapalua and there was no other way to get there. There is another back road which the staff at Kapalua Villas recommended we stay off (that road was closed off going toward Kapalua anyway, only cars leaving Kapalua was allowed). Management at the time said they would not refund the lost night, but the next day when we checked in they said there would be no charge for the lost night which we thougnt should have been a no brainer. Other than that it was perfect. We have been on numerous island vacations and Kapalua was the best. We will be back!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Raidaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2010

This was our 2nd trip to Kapalua and we absolutely loved it. We rented through Kapalua and as a result, we had access to the Ritz Carlton pool, the new Kapalua Spa, and other amenities. Our condo was clean and had great ocean views. The new Kapalua Spa is awesome. Use of the fitness and locker room facilities was complimentary. There were additional yoga and other fitness classes you could take for a $14/class fee. Kapalua does tend to be more windy/rainy than some of the other resort areas, but it's beauty, cleanliness, etc. makes up for this.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank winterpenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2010

Kapalua is beautiful, no matter the weather even if it could put a tamper on a particular activity or two. The worst day in Kapalua is better than the best on the main land if you love the views and ocean.


I do want to say that a "deal" on a villa at Kapalua should be something (if you have never been there) to be careful about. The villas have been there a long time, and most have been kept to a 5 star standard. Remodels, etc. . The area has not been degraded in any way, and proof of this is the opening of the new Ritz Residences in the heart of the Villas. However, if you can afford a villa at Kapalua, go with a reputable vacation rental company that keeps it's standards high. "Quam Properties" will not keep any Villa in it's rental pool, and there are many, unless the quality remains to the highest of standards. Some of the others are not this way, thus the deals come around.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NapiliBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2010

We just returned from Kapalua and 12 nights in the Kapalua Bay Villa complex in unit 17g4 (a ground unit). It was so easy to book through vrbo straight from the owner, who also has the management company (see listing 107826). This allows for great rates as you book direct. The owner was very responsive and helpful in giving us many ideas of how to spend our time--and graciously allowed for a late checkout as well! The keyless entry is so easy to use! Our kids loved memorizing the code and working it. Nice to not have to worry about lost keys too. Everything was as advertized in the photos and we were thrilled with the space in the condo. For a family of 4, with 2 young children, the murphy bed was perfect for the kids as we could easily pack it away during the day. The condo is very spacious and was STOCKED with everything and anything you could possibly need-beach umbrellas, coolers, picnic supplies-even a sushi roller! We could even print out our boarding passes on the wireless printer and internet worked ALL the time. It was wonderful to have a washer and dryer too! The bedding was high quality as well. There is a good view of the ocean even though it isn't ocean front (saw whales easily from the lanai-there is a back deck as well). The pools were great-the Ritz was nice to use for something different --you can use for free as a Bay Villa guest (ie. hot tub is there and not at the Bay Villas) and the beaches were gorgeous-often with few people on them! There is a great coastal trail nearby as well for walking/running and hiking at Mahana Ridge Trail too (if you like a dirt trail with high grasses with no climax-went almost 9 miles in the grass-minimal views). In terms of location, we were hesitant about where to stay on Maui and are so glad we picked the Kapalua Bay Villas--and this part of the island. The area is much less commercialized, with fewer people. If you like to walk outside your room to new restaurants and shops each night and have many tourists with loud hawaiian shirts on the streets beside you or time share salesmen trying to solicit you, this is NOT your place. If you are, however, looking for a quiet getaway within walking distance to MANY gorgeous beaches (where we saw sea turtles) -ie. DT Flemming -and within very close driving distance to Napilia, Kahana and relatively close to Kaanapali and Lahaina, this is perfect. We enjoyed finding our own deserted beaches at night to watch the sunset from. There are a few restaurants that are excellent that you can walk to as well-ie. Merriman's and Sea House-(great $5 and under "pupu's" before 5pm). Overall, this is a very safe, quiet, well maintained complex! I would definitely stay here again!
A couple of highlights...
-Running a local 1/2 marathon-Iao Valley to Sea-check it out if you are visiting in March next year!~ http://www.valleytotheseahalfmarathon.com/Valley_to_the_Sea_Half_Mara.php or just visit the Iao Valley State Park-it is off the beaten path and a neat place.
-Picking our own pineapples
-Driving further north west to see the surfers at Honolua Bay (actually saw a guy long boarding with his dog!), hiking to the blow hole and getting shaved ice at Lorraines -the chocolate covered banana bread ice cream sandwich is better sounding than tasting-(apparently shaved ice is the thing to eat in Maui)-interesting one lane road
-The road to Hana--LOVED the Wai'anapanapa's black sand beach and lava caves and red sand beach (harder to find--definitely off the beaten path-off Uakae rd-where it deadends-walk back by the light poles-on the side of the community center. Not an easy path especially barefoot when your flipflop breaks. get some of Gary's coconut milk ice cream (coconut porter made from the beer or avocado pistachio)-YUM-eat it from coconut shells
-Watching the surfers on the way back from Hana-Hookipa Beach Park-AMAZING!
-Whale watching -Ultimate Whale watch so you are on a zodiac -as they can get closer than the big boats-go at 8:15 so you get a cheaper deal! Or- just watch whales from the beach at the villas
-Maui Brewing Company-good vegetarian food/gluten free and good beer of course
-Saver's thrift store on Dairy rd by the airport-great stuff!
-The views were breathtaking!!!! standing on the rocks outside the Bay Villas takes your breath away. The water is soo many different shades of blue!

Do know that:
-Kapalua can be windy in the winter!!! If you turn the corner and head South at all it seems to really calm down. It doesn't get near as hot as Lahaina though.
-In March we had to either head south or more west to see the sun set fully--you can't watch it set right in front of the complex--at least from the ground units
-We love to walk so Kapalua worked well for us as we could walk to so many beaches, the Ritz and so forth. It is a hilly area though so if you do not like to walk, be prepared to drive. If you are a runner, be prepared to have some major aches and pains after running these hills! There isn't much of a shoulder to run on either but if you are brave, go past the Honolua bay to one of the red dirt roads (blocked off) past the surf parking opening and run down the coast back towards the point--completely secluded and breathtaking.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
7  Thank Monument101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapalua
0.7 km away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
485 reviews
10.1 km away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
8.2 km away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#18 of 32 in Lahaina
4,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 km away
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
#10 of 32 in Lahaina
3,186 reviews
7.5 km away
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
9.4 km away
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kapalua Villas, Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kapalua Villas, Maui

Address: 2000 Village Road, Kapalua, Maui, HI 96761-8727
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kapalua
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kapalua
Price Range: $303 - $728 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kapalua Villas, Maui 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kapalua Villas are located on the beautiful Kapalua Resort on the west side of the island of Maui. Offering 1, 2 and 3 bedroom condominium accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Kapalua Villas, Maui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kapalua Villas Hotel Kapalua
Kapalua Hotel Lahaina
Kapalua Resort Lahaina
Kapalua Villas Maui
The Kapalua Villas, Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing