We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (53)
Filter reviews
53 results
Traveller rating
48
4
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
48
4
1
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 53 reviews
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Stayed at hillside for three nights prior to Easter to visit family and friends. So comfy and relaxing. Lovely spacious rooms and so very clean and tidy. Blair was amazing. Lovely host and cooked a very good breakfast. Nothing was too much for him. Very attentive and made sure that we had everything we needed.
Lovely and quiet surroundings with view of the mountains of Mourne fro our bedroom window. We went into Newry for dinner one evening and the taxi fare is 6-7 pounds one way so very convenient and a good price. If you need any info about where to visit, eat or directions, then Blair is your man.
I would recommend the hillside and would certainly stay there again,
Thanks Blair for making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blairvernon, Owner at Hillside Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Thanks Norma

Im so glad you all enjoyed your stay despite the dreadful weather !!

You have a lovely family and it was great fun looking after you all.

Hopefully you can pop back over when the weather isnt so cold ( I think the snow has finally melted) !!

Best Wishes

Blair

PS Hope all goes well in Cyprus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 9, 2013

We stayed at Hillside on 2nd March. Would really recommend it. Clean comfortable room, excellent breakfast and our host went out of his way to make us feel welcome, We were attending a party and when we asked about a taxi he said he would drive us there himself which was brilliant. We will definitely stay there again.

Ray and Eileen.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kneeson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blairvernon, Owner at Hillside Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Thanks for the review folks - its very much appreciated. It was a real pleasure having you both to stay. I certainly look forward to seeing you on your next visit and as promised when Tripadvisor brings out an option for owners to rate guests I'll give you top marks !!

Best Wishes to you Both


Blair

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Just back from a great stay at Hillside Bed and Brekfast in Newry. Hillside was a good choice for our get together, well sited between Belfast and Dublin and with excellent connections to the main A1. Our Bedrooms were big and clean and we all slept very well with comfy beds and the peace and quiet. The guest lounge was spacious, comfortable and a very handy facility for our evening catch ups. Breakfast was very tasty, freshly cooked to order and it set us up for the day. Blair is a great host and nothing we asked for was too much trouble. A first class stay and excellent value for money we would recommend Hillside most highly.

Room Tip: Rooms 2 and 4 had amazing views over the mountains.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blairvernon, Owner at Hillside Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Thanks Mike - It was great having you guys stay with us - feel like an honourary family member now ! Cant wait to see you all again at your next get together. PS Hope the sodas travelled well !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Our first night's stay in Northern Ireland, October, 2012, couldn't have been better. At the Hillside B&B rooms were beautifully appointed and amenities, superlative. Owner Blair Vernon’s hospitality was beyond anything we’d expected. Tired and lost in Newry, we called him several times for directions, and finally he drove into town centre and escorted us to near-Nirvana. Breakfast was the best we had in our two-week trip. Much appreciated was the pack-up of his homemade banana bread to see us through our first day's drive. We appreciated Hillside B&B and Blair's generosity so much that, near the end of our two-week trip, we called from the road and made a reservation to stay there for our last night on the road. Beautiful bookends to our journey. Nanette A

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NanetteA501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blairvernon, Owner at Hillside Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Thanks for those kind words Nanette it was a genuine pleasure having you and Ginny to stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We were visiting relatives in the area - there are not a lot of choices. This was only 5 minutes from town and easy to find.

Clean. Friendly owner (just recently purchased). A VERY good value (USD50) including breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoeHouston52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blairvernon, Owner at Hillside Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Thanks for your review Joe - it was a pleasure having you and the family stay.

Hope to see you at the next reunioin.

Best wishes Blair

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews