We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (53)
Filter reviews
53 results
Traveller rating
48
4
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
48
4
1
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 53 reviews
Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

This is a good place to stay when visiting newry. It is not close to downtown but does have that country feel people are looking for. Blair is a very good host. We did have some issues with the water, but those turned out to be operator error. Breakfast was very good. The wifi needs a little work too, but all in all, this is a nice place to stay.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank sprucecreekfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blairvernon, Owner at Hillside Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2014

Hi Guys

Thanks so much for the review, Im pleased you enjoyed your stay here at Hillside.

Btw I'm still waiting to hear how the "coddled eggs" turned out !!

Best Wishes

Blair

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 3, 2014

We've spent just one night on our way to Northern Ireland, but it was totally worthy.
Blair is a perfect host, so welcoming and helpful. The room was really neat, comfortably big with tidy forniture and attention to details. Easily located in the countryside, we went for a relaxing walk, between green, inquisitive cows, sheeps and rabbits. So fun and so relaxing. Very nice breakfast (continental and irish) with a large choice of breads, fruit, cereals.
Thanks again for the breakfast chat, we've really enjoyned it (and we've seen the the pink sheeps too)!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tizVi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blairvernon, Owner at Hillside Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Thank you very much for your kind review ladies, Im so glad you enjoyed your stay at Hillside B&B.

It was lovely chatting to you about your travels - I hope you got the sunshine for your visit to the Causeway and enjoyed the rest of your trip !!

I hope Juliets balcony is having a good summer !! ;-)

Best Wishes

Blair

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 8, 2014

Stayed at the Hillside on Saturday 27th April and found it very good. The room was spotless and the smell of bleach from the loo pleased my daughter. The welcoming friendly atmosphere abounded and fresh milk for a cuppa was a nice touch making it a home from home. If I stay at a B&B near Newry again it will be at the Hillside. Breakfast was plentiful and if you wanted more then all you had to do was ask. An excellent B&B and well recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobertSweeney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blairvernon, Owner at Hillside Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2014

Thanks for the review Robert. Im so glad you and the family enjoyed your stay at Hillside.

It was a pleasure having you all to stay and hopefully will see you again for the next family renunion/suprise party.

Best Wishes

Blair

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 3, 2014

Hillside is a very comfortable place with plenty of space and great views. But the best part is the super humor and sincere desire to make us comfortable that we felt from our host. Yummy breakfast too.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maxim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blairvernon, Owner at Hillside Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2014

Thanks so much for the review guys - Im so glad you enjoyed your stay at Hillside.

It was a real treat having you all to stay. I was very impressed with you ancestry chart and Im glad you traced some more folk (even the "adopted" lady in Scotland - love that story).

Best Wishes & Thanks Again

Blair

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 30, 2014

We recently spent a couple of nights at Hillside. Spacious room with comfortable bed; excellent breakfast with home made compote and home made cake; good coffee. Well appointed house with separate lounge for guests. Blair made us feel at home to the extent that we felt like part of the family - so much so that we felt we had to drop in on the way back from Dublin to tell him our good news. Looking forward to receiving the photos Blair took of the Hillside piping session.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike and Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blairvernon, Owner at Hillside Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

Chris, Thank you so much for the lovely review, it really is very much appreciated.

I am so glad you enjoyed your stay at Hillside it was a pleasure having you both to stay, especially with the added bonus of Mikes performance on the pipes. I hope all goes well re yr good news and look forward to seeing you both again soon.

Best Wishes

Blair

PS I have sent the pics on to you and with your permission like to pop one on here so any one reading this knows what we are on about when discussing Mikes pipes !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews