We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place run by food and wine lovers”
Review of The Old Bridge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Old Bridge
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Huntingdon
Certificate of Excellence
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful place run by food and wine lovers”
Reviewed 31 March 2012

We stopped here for lunch to break up a long journey, remembering it from a visit about ten years ago. What a great decision! We had a fabulous time, the hotel has extremely high standards in all areas but without a trace of stuffiness - a very relaxing atmosphere. The menu for light meals and snacks is excellent, we had a steak sandwich and a chicken and avocado sandwich - both were fantastic for size, taste and value. We ate in the lounge area which was comfortable with great decor. The drinks menu was also excellent, and my freshly made virgin mule (ginger beer, lime and mint) was the perfect reviver. The wine of course is the star here - we enjoyed browsing the wine shop, tasting some of the current month's offerings and buying a couple of bottles to take home. The coffee and home made biscotti is also perfectly made. All of the staff were friendly and efficient and added to the great atmosphere. Overall this is a place that gets everything right, and our only regret as food and wine lovers is not living closer so we can visit every week! Thank you for lifting our spirits.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lillibetm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    313
    115
    39
    11
    4
See reviews for
69
197
18
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Have eaten here many times and stayed a few times too. Food is always reliable (I bring customers here without hesitation), fabulous selection of wines by the glass (check out the shop too with the clever tasting dispenser system) and very comfortable rooms (great bedding!). Oh, and breakfast is wonderful!

Room Tip: some rooms are small but this is reflected in the rate - all are tasteful and comfortable though
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBWS, Owner at The Old Bridge, responded to this review, 3 March 2012
Thanks so much for your ongoing support John B. It's great when guests take a view over several visits rather than jumping to conclusions within 5 minutes of arrival.

And it's true that our single rooms are indeed pretty small! Before booking do look on the website for photos and a detailed description of each.

Thanks again

John Hoskins, Proprietor The Old Bridge (and The Pheasant at Keyston)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

I had a most enjoyable and relaxing stay at the Old Bridge. The staff were very friendly and welcoming. The rooms were warm and comfortable and the food was excellent. The decor throughout the hotel is magnificent!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chri55ie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBWS, Owner at The Old Bridge, responded to this review, 3 March 2012
Great to have such positive feedback, thank you Antina1227. Although easy to get to from many directions, Huntingdon is not a famous tourist destination, so we do have to try extra hard to attract people from afar.

As I have commented before, we are not a 'five star' operation - the aim is to be as good as possible within the middle price range. NIna Beamond (GM) and her team certainly try their best to give every guest a friendly and welcoming experience.

Thank you

John Hoskins, Owner of The Old Bridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We had dined at The Bridge on a number of occasions but had never stayed there. We booked a "large double" but found on our arrival that we had been given a complimentary upgrade to the Four Poster! (As shown in the photo above.) It was a beautiful room and led into a margnificent bathroom. The bath was huge, plus double sinks, a power shower, two chairs and a table!

You can see photos of each of the rooms on the website - and next time I am definitely booking in enough time to get the Tiger room - room 10.

Siobhan in reception was lovely; all the staff in the restaurant and bar were friendly and professional. The food in the bar was excellent with a wide choice and individually prepared. Comfy sofas and chairs. No rush.

Breakfast the next morning was a relaxed, quiet meal (guests asked not to use mobile phones - hurrah!) with locally sourced produce and a wide choice.

All in all a very good stay. I would have no hesitation in highly recommending the Old Bridge.

Room Tip: Look at the photos on the website and book in plenty of time for the best rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsR76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBWS, Owner at The Old Bridge, responded to this review, 3 March 2012
Thanks so much MrsR76. And particularly well done to Siobhan on reception!

John Hoskins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, England
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Excellent hotel, clean rooms, good nights sleep, lovely food and fantastic wine list

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caroline3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBWS, Owner at The Old Bridge, responded to this review, 3 March 2012
We are very flattered Caroline3. This sort of comment really helps us get through a long winter.

Thank you

John Hoskins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeshire, UK
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

I have been a few time through business, the staff really are friendly and I really don't have any complaints... the bar area is comfortable and the food is of a very good standard. Everyone is very attentive and I would be happy to recommend it to anyone without hesitation. Oh yes, and the Wine Shop is fantastic!! Beats another certain chain of hotels just down the road hands down!!!!! Definitely a better option.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsV70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBWS, Owner at The Old Bridge, responded to this review, 3 March 2012
Thank you MrsV70. Chain hotels do have their place, of course, but as a true 'independent' I naturally agree with your sentiments - and not just in our case!

The wine shop has proved very popular with residents as well as locals. We seem to find more and more guests doing a relaxed, informal tasting before dinner as a change from an aperitif in the bar.

Thanks again

John Hoskins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cambridge
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

Visited for lunch on Saturday...recommended to our family. Service was excellent, however, the food was not worth the price disappointing for such a nice location.

We had 2 vegetarians in our party and their food was very poor..bland and lacked creativity! It's a shame, the vegitarian meals presented as the chef not having much time for individuals needs.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BraddersCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBWS, Owner at The Old Bridge, responded to this review, 7 February 2012
Sorry to hear some of your party didn't enjoy their lunch last Saturday. I can only say that we do try to offer consistently excellent food all the time. However I fully accept that we can of course make mistakes.

I believe the vegetarian dish concerned was from our Set Lunch Menu that day (Pan-fried gnocchi with Jerusalem artichokes, spinach, sage and lemon butter; with a rocket and parmesan salad). We will check it to ensure it is being served correctly; and I will check all the current vegetarian options.

I do hope we can see you again at The Old Bridge.

John Hoskins, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huntingdon
2.5 km away
Huntingdon Marriott Hotel
Huntingdon Marriott Hotel
#4 of 9 in Huntingdon
664 reviews
0.6 km away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#6 of 9 in Huntingdon
432 reviews
24.0 km away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
Holiday Inn Huntingdon Racecourse
7.0 km away
The Dolphin
The Dolphin
#3 of 4 in St Ives
378 reviews
29.6 km away
Quy Mill Hotel & Spa, Cambridge, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Bridge

Property: The Old Bridge
Address: 1 High Street, Huntingdon PE29 3TQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Huntingdon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Huntingdon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Bridge 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A handsome, ivy-clad 18th century building, once a private bank, overlooking the River Ouse and yet right on the edge of the town centre. Its atmosphere balances that of a boutique townhouse hotel and a bustling, relaxed, traditional inn. 24 beautiful air-conditioned bedrooms with luxurious bathrooms. Fine but informal restaurant, twice winner of AA award for best wine list in the UK. Also wine shop with 'enomatic' tasting machines, bar with real ales, and free wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Old Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Bridge Hotel Huntingdon
Old Bridge Huntingdon
Old Bridge Hotel Huntingdon
The Old Bridge Huntingdon, UK - England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing