We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Luxury, peaceful retreat!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Old Forge

The Forge is set in what was the old farm yard and is now surrounded by flower beds.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Forge is set in what was the old farm yard and is now surrounded by flower beds.
The Forge was once the blacksmith's forge that served the farm. All our guests enjoy the welcome here with fresh flowers, and home made flapjacks.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
The Forge is set in what was the old farm yard and is now surrounded by flower beds.
The Forge was once the blacksmith's forge that served the farm.
All our guests enjoy the welcome here with fresh flowers, and home made flapjacks.
The rear of the property has a secluded sun-trap garden for relaxing after a day's walking.
The living area has exposed beams into the roof space and has a double sofa-bed.
The kitchen area opens onto the rear garden.
The kitchen is contemporary and fitted with all mod-cons.
The open-plan living area retains a homely and cosy feel.
The double bedroom is super-cosy for a perfect night's sleep after days out exploring.
The en suite shower room with heated towel rail.
Looking towards Dynefwr Castle from the Forge.
Dynefwr Castle in the early morning mist.
There are lots of walks directly from the Old Forge.
Dryslwyn Castle is a five minute drive away.
Dryslwyn at sunset.
The National Botanic Garden of Wales is a ten minute drive away.
The Mediterranean glasshouse is the largest single-span glasshouse in the world.
Carreg Cennen Castle is a fifteen minute drive away and is a great day out.
Looking up to the castle from the farm and cafe.
Carreg Cennen Castle.
Dylan Thomas fans will enjoy visiting Laugharne and the Boathouse and writing shed.
The 'Welsh Fans' are a stunning mountain range that make great walking- only 15 minutes away.
Carmarthenshire is well wooded and stunning in the spring.
April and May are the best time for the bluebells.
Autumn brings the glory of golden colours to the woodlands here.
Cenarth Falls and coracles in Cilgerran are a short drive away.
Head to Rhayader for the Elan Valley dams and reservoirs. Beautiful at all times of the year.
The Pembrokeshire Coast National park is only an hour away by car.
Skomer Island is a birders dream.
May, June and July the Puffins can be seen on Skomer Island off the Pembrokeshire coast.
Grey Seals can be seen around the Pembrokeshire coast all year round.
Visit September- January to see the pups.
Carew Castle in South Pembrokeshire.
St David's Cathedral in North Pembrokeshire.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Llandeilo, Carmarthenshire, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Caz1988
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Luxury, peaceful retreat!”
Reviewed August 25, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for a long weekend at the end of July. After a hectic few months we needed a relaxing weekend away and this totally hit the spot! From the moment we arrived, we were warmly greeted by Steve who showed us around the lodge. Having left we had a welcome card and some fresh flapjack made my Bron which was a nice touch!

THE LODGE - it is beautiful. It is tastefully decorated and funnily enough is in a similar scheme to our own home so it did feel a bit home from home. The Lodge is well equipped and although it was hot and sunny whilst we were there, I can imagine it being lovely and cosy in the depths of winter! The quality of finish is also to a high standard! Our only critique of the Lodge is the lack of outdoor seating. It was hot whilst we were there and although there is a nice secluded garden, there is no table and chairs to sit around. Nevertheless, we were more than happy!

BRON AND STEVE - they were really accommodating and gave us lots of tips of where to go and explore and also eat out. Bron booked is into The Cawdor for dinner which is a 10 minute drive (Llandeilo) and that was really nice. Also, she tried to book us into the Sosban (Llanelli) which was full but we booked to go there for lunch before we went home and that was yummy!

LOCATION - we found the location really great. The furthest trip we made was to Tenby which took about 1 hour but is soo worth the drive. It was our favourite place that we visited. Carreg Cennen Castle is also nearby and that was lovely. We walked up there about 5.30pm and hardly anyone was there so it felt like we were King and Queen of the castle! We also went to Pendine Sands (40 mins - has a nice coastal path), Llandeilo (10 mins), Llanelli (25 mins), Laugharne (30 mins), Botanical Garden of Wales, Abergavenenny Gardens (10 mins).

All in all a fantastic weekend!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The lodge itself and the location
Liked least: lack of outdoor furniture
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Aug 2014
Many many thanks for your kind comments about the Forge- we are so glad you enjoyed your stay here with us. We can only apologise for the oversight about the outdoor furniture- we completely forgot to show you the cupboard where the chairs are kept!! Thank you for the feedback- we shan't make that mistake again. Once again, we really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience here, and we hope we can welcome you back again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rogerwith...
Essex, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect holiday”
Reviewed August 20, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at The Old Forge for a week , the cottage was so clean and well presented , this is a 5 star accommodation and to have milk and tea , coffee there after a 5 hour drive was so nice. Fresh flowers and amazing flapjacks on arrival . Our 5 year old son could ride his bike out on the drive with the added extra of automatic gates so we as parents knew he was safe . The cottage is located in a nice and very quiet location , the owners Bron and Steve left us a list of places recommended to visit which we did and glad we did , Thank you. We will for sure be returning and would highly recommend staying here

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole holiday from booking to the stay , was a very easy process
Liked least: Coming home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Aug 2014
We are so glad you had such a good holiday here with us, and we are really grateful for your kind and positive comments. Many thanks for such lovely feedback, and we hope we can look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AC888_888
Tetbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Clean, warm and welcoming ...”
Reviewed April 22, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Despite us arriving later than planned and holding Bron and Steve up (they were off on holiday too), Bron was more than welcoming, greeting us with a big smile. The Forge was immaculately clean, and was really well stocked with kitchen implements - unusual in a holiday let - allowing us to make supper easily. Clearly Bron is a cook herself, and the flapjacks didn't let her down! There were plenty of guide books and ideas on how one could spend the day and DVDs to relax with in the evening. There was plenty of room for the three of us, with us in the bedroom and our son in the sofa bed (and rather overjoyed to be able to wake up and watch tv in bed!).

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Apr 2014
What a lovely review- many thanks for your kind words. We are so pleased that you were comfortable and had a great Easter stay. We are also really pleased that the "TV in bed" scenario was a big hit! Hopefully, we can look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Best wishes to you all.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denis P
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“only birdsong was heard in this excellent cottage”
Reviewed March 17, 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Such a pleasure to stay here. Well equipped, clean and with contemporary furnishings. Quiet location but near lots of places of interest. Owners give great welcome, pay attention to detail and are available but non intrusive. Free flapjacks and fresh flowers were pleasing. I had the misfortune to damage my knee so was confined to bed, but was able to watch the sun rise in complete comfort. Ideal for a peaceful retreat for someone alone or couples.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: excellent condition of the property
Liked least: lack of wi fi
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Mar 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words. We are really pleased that you were so comfortable here, and hope that we can welcome you here again, so that you can catch up on the exploring you missed out on this time. Here's to a speedy recovery for your knee.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taffmike
Llanelli, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely cottage in a lovely area”
Reviewed February 10, 2014 for a stay in January 2014

I just want to say thank you so much to Bron and Steve for having such a lovely cottage for us to stay in for the weekend. The location is fantastic, giving a secluded feel (with a hooting owl in the night!) but still very close to lots of local attractions and the beautiful town of Llandeilo.

The cottage itself is full of character and extremely comfortable with all the kitchen equipment you could need. The coffee provided was fantastic, but the highlight definitely has to be the absolutely delicious home-made flapjacks - its worth staying for these alone! Thanks again guys!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Feb 2014
We are delighted that you were so comfortable here, and had a great time. We hope we can welcome you back to the Old Forge again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nic0leR22...
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderfully cosy”
Reviewed January 13, 2014 for a stay in December 2013

The Old Forge was even nicer than we imagined. It was nicely decorated and kept to a high standard. The owners were extremely helpful and the flapjacks provided were delicious! We went for long walks around the countryside during the daytime and the forge was a wonderful place to relax in after a long day of walking around. Definitely would visit again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jan 2014
we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope we can look forward to welcoming you here again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nitsch1
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Surpassed all expectations. Highly recommended.”
Reviewed December 8, 2013 for a stay in November 2013

We had stayed in a poor hotel the night before and it was an absolute pleasure to arrive at the old forge.
The photos on their website do not do the accommodation justice. It is extremely clean, the standard of fittings and furnishings is excellent and there is entry of space in the main kitchen/lounge area. We even stayed an extra night.
I would highly recommend a stay here and well worth staying here to explore the local area.
The complementary homemade flapjacks were excellent and an indication of the level of personal care evident throughout.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jan 2014
We are really pleased that you were happy here at the Forge. Thank you for your kind words and we hope we can welcome you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing