We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Keep Guesthouse
Nearby Hotels
Loughshore Hotel(Carrickfergus)
US$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dobbins Inn Hotel(Carrickfergus)
US$86
US$84
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
CheapTickets
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Leafield House(Carrickfergus)
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (143)
Filter reviews
143 results
Traveller rating
107
28
8
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
107
28
8
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsguest houseulster fryfamily roomcarrickfergus castlefriendly ownerstraditional irish breakfastexcellent hoststhe rooms were nicecouple who runnear the train stationlovely surprisebusy roadtea and coffee making facilitiesa great stayshort walkenjoyed our staystayed nights
Filter
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 143 reviews
Reviewed February 1, 2016 via mobile

What a fab way to spend our anniversary, close enough to home for the kids but a brilliant atmosphere, fabulous welcome and beautiful breakfast. Very reasonable price including breakfast and close to the restaurants and cinema in Carrickfergus.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank SPUDSCM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thekeepcarrick3, Guest Relations Manager at The Keep Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2016

Hi Kate,

We are so glad you choose us to spend your Anniversary with. We really appreciate you writing this review to let other people know about your stay. We try our best to treat people the way we would like to be treated and your review reflects what we look for if we get the chance to get away for a night or two. Hopefully we will see you back again soon. Take care.

Warmest regards,
Heather.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 11, 2015

While working near Carrickfergus, we booked into 'the keep' BNB. We received a warm welcome from Raymond. The rooms were warm, with all mod cons, en suite, Tea and coffee and enough toiletries. Lovely shower, good supply of towels. Bed was very comfortable and breakfast was what to need to set you up for the day.
We will be back, when in the area again.
Well done Ray.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter than the front
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JKandSK2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thekeepcarrick3, Guest Relations Manager at The Keep Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2016

Hi, Guys,

It was great to have you both stay with us. We believe no-one should leave here hungry in the mornings, we pride ourselves in cooking a good, fresh, hearty breakfast, especially for our Guests who have to go out and do a hard days work. You will be giving Raymond a big head, he really did enjoy the craic he had with you both. We hope to see you back in the area soon again. In the mean-time dont work too hard. lol

Warmest regards,
Heather.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 9, 2015

This is my third time staying at The Keep, Took friends in August and my family in November for the weekend. I can honestly say this place is the loveliest guest house I have stayed in. The rooms are beautiful and spacious, particularly the family rooms. We have always had the front rooms with a view of Carrickfergus castle. The Ulster breakfast is amazing, Everything cooked to perfection! The warm reception you receive from Raymond and Heather makes you feel you are visiting family. Nothing is too much trouble. Can't wait to return!

Stayed: November 2015
Thank irishangel17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thekeepcarrick3, Guest Relations Manager at The Keep Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2016

Hi Irishangel,

We love to see our Guests return it means we must be doing things right. It is a big compliment to us that you have bought different friends and family each time, it means they get to share in your good memories which, hopefully ,we have helped you make. We want people to be able to relax and chill out when they visit, having a good breakfast is all part of that process, we are delighted you have always enjoyed yours. We hope to see you again soon.

Warmest regards,
Heather.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 13, 2015

I stayed at the keep guesthouse for three nights and they were the nicest hosts you could ever have. Nothing was too much trouble and the customer service was exemplary.

The room was excellent along with all of the relevant facilities and the breakfast was amazing.

Highly recommended.

Scott

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank ScottBoyle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thekeepcarrick3, Guest Relations Manager at The Keep Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2016

Hi Scott,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay with us. I must first of all apologize to you and to the other Guests who are only getting our response now. I find it hard after having meningitis to settle into doing admin work but it in no-way reflects on the appreciation we both have for all our Guests, who do take the time out of their busy days, to let other people know what it is like to stay at The keep. Thanks for your recommendation Scott, I am sure it has helped other people to make up their minds to come and stay with us, as have our other great reviews.

Warmest regards,
Heather.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 4, 2015

We stayed her for 3 nights as family of four in a family room whilst we visited family in the area. We were made very welcome. The room was modern, well equipped and very clean. The breakfast provided was very good with large portions. I have rated as excellent as this was all provided at a good rate for 4 of us. Things to note is that this does not appear to be a family home taking in B&B guests but more commercial and there is a housekeeper who cooked in the mornings rather than the owners. We found this fine but if you want a more homely experience then something to note. The location is good and very central but as noted not the best views and you do get some road noise at the front of the house as you would expect given the location. It was easy to park outside. The shower was a bit sensitive with you having to be very precise to get water that was not boiling hot or freezing cold! I note the drawbacks in the interests of being helpful to those making decisions but our view was we thought it was a good stay and we would return very happily when we visit the area again

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank MTMHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews