We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (152)
Filter reviews
152 results
Traveller rating
115
28
9
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
115
28
9
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews guest house ulster fry family room front of the house the rooms were nice kind hosts family birthday carrickfergus castle spent one night here lovely surprise tea and coffee making facilities busy road a great stay full irish breakfast town centre raymond belfast
Filter
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 152 reviews
Reviewed June 26, 2016 via mobile

This is our fourth family stay at this BnB and like the first Raymond and Heather have been fantastic and really helpful the breakfast has anything and everything to start our day right and we would and will recommend this to our friends and family back home in Scotland and anywhere else anyone asks. Thank you to all at The Keep you have made our trip a good one.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thekeepcarrick3, Guest Relations Manager at The Keep Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2016

Hi David, Teresa and Sarah,

We are so glad you are home safe and sound. I hope Sarah got her ice-cream on the way home. lol. It was an absolute pleasure having you all stay with us again, it was like welcoming family back, Sarah,s laughter brought such delight to us and the other guests, she is such a happy child it,s wonderful to see, you are both very blessed.
We look forward to your next visit and perhaps we will have a wee milk shake for Sarah as a surprise for after her breakfast of course. lol. Take care. See you again soon.

Warmest regards,
Heather.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 20, 2016 via mobile

We first stayed at the keep in January 2010 my husband is originally from carrickfergus and we were visiting family. Breakfast was fantastic Heather and Raymond were so nice and friendly and welcoming we have since stayed another twice and are heading back this week can't wait to go back

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
Thank teasy36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thekeepcarrick3, Guest Relations Manager at The Keep Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2016

Hi Teasy,

Thank you so much for your lovely comments. We are really looking forward to having you back to stay with us again. Take care and have a pleasant journey. We will see you all very soon.

Warmest regards,
Heather.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 9, 2016

We found this B&B disappointing. The room we had overlooked the backyard with hanging washing and dustbins so didn't match up with the photos on the website. It was an average room, definitely not boutique. The view was the same during breakfast. We were never invited to the front rooms. The staff were fairly friendly, however the cooked breakfast was plonked down before we had finished our cereal. Overlooks a busy road and next to some waste ground. Parking in Cul-de-sac was easy.The view of the castle (Keep) is somewhat distant. The location was good for Belfast and the coastal road.

Room Tip: Pick a room at the front.
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CuriousKeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thekeepcarrick3, Guest Relations Manager at The Keep Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2016

Hi Keith,

I am really sorry to hear that we didn't seem to meet your expectations on your resent visit and you felt the Castle was distant (google maps we are 1 min, 210 yds away from Castle)
Believe it or not reason we called the Guesthouse The Keep wasn't totally to do with the Castle, the word Keep means ,to keep safe, and we felt thats what we would be doing with our customers, to keep them safe while they where visiting our home Town.
Please accept our apologies that you felt you where being rushed over your breakfast, I can assure you it was a genuine mistake and either Raymond or Paula must have misjudged bringing your freshly cooked breakfast in on that occasion and perhaps they didn't notice your cereal bowls. We pride ourselves on cooking our Guests Breakfasts freshly to order and do not have them sitting cooked 2 hours before, this seems to be a dying art, even in the 4 star Hotels you will find a buffet style breakfast which you choose yourself from hot Bain Marie, which is fine if you get there when it has just been cooked but not so good if it has been there for a short while.
We couldn't have invited you to our front bedrooms as they are both Family rooms which have a double bed and two single beds and where occupied two of the three nights of your stay, the room you booked was a double room. We also pride ourselves on hanging our daily laundry in the fresh air when weather permits as there is nothing as nice as having sheets,dried in fresh air, rather dried in a tumble dryer, so we take every opportunity to dry our laundry outside, it usually wouldn't be able to be hung out until after breakfast as we dont service the rooms until breakfast is over.
I would like to thank you for your review, we feel all reviews are important and really appreciate people taking the time to give us feed back. We have taken on board what you have said and will endeavor to address any issues that we can. Thank you again for your time.

Warmest regards,
Heather.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 9, 2016

Stayed at the Keep for two nights in May... clean and comfortable, nice bed and good breakfast.
In a perfect location walking distance to restaurants and to the castle and town.
Hosts are kind and helpful, and Paula catered to our every request at breakfast.
All in all a great choice.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
Thank travelln-twosome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thekeepcarrick3, Guest Relations Manager at The Keep Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2016

Hi Margaret,
Thanks very much for taking the time, when you got home, to write your review for us, along with the lovely photos. It was very kind of you to post them to let other people see our beautiful wee Town. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed your freshly cooked breakfast. I am sure other people will find your review very helpful. We hope to see you again the next time you are passing.
Warmest regards,
Heather.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 7, 2016

My wife and I had a wonderful holiday in Carrickfergus, made all the better by our stay at the Keep. Heather and Ray made us very welcome and, from the outset, they couldn't do enough for us. Our room was spacious, comfortable and well appointed. Local amenities/attractions were walking distance from the Keep. We loved our stay at the Keep and Ray's Ulster fried breakfast, served with a smile by Paula, was the highlight of our day. We will definitely be revisiting the Keep and would highly recommend it. Thanks Heather & Ray and look forward to seeing you again soon.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank tomkennedy2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thekeepcarrick3, Guest Relations Manager at The Keep Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2016

Hi Tom,

We hope you had a pleasant journey home. We feel you are both still with us as we hear your wonderful singing each time we are in the car from the really lovely CD,s you gave us. I would recommend them to anyone who has moved away from here as they would just remind you of our beautiful wee country.Thank you so much for taking the time to write us such a lovely review, we both enjoyed having you stay with us, we felt we were having family home to stay. You didn't even take the beautiful weather back that arrived with you, it was another beautiful day today and we got to sit out and enjoy it. I will pass your kind comments on to Paula, she is a real treasure and always happy . I wont tell Raymond, he will get a big head, he already thinks he does a better fry than I do. lol Take care of Leslie and we will see you both again soon.
Warmest regards,
Heather.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews