We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, friendly hosts and central location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carrickfergus
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Keep Guesthouse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 October 2017

Myself and my partner has the pleasure of staying in 'The Keep' at the weekend. It was my partners birthday and after staying a night in Belfast we drove through Carrickfergus on the way home. It was such a lovely day and the town was so charming that we decided to stay the night ( if we managed to find a place as such short notice) I called The Keep and was informed by the owner Heather, that they had a free room. Hurray!
Although the Heather and Raymond were visiting friends at the time I called they came straight down to check us in which was very much appreciated! There is also ample free parking outside for any of you car drivers.
The room was a double room with ensuite bathroom - it was extremely comfortable, clean and tastefully decorated. There was also a large fridge in the room with complimentary water. Tea and Coffee making facilities were also in the room.
After being recommended some local restaurants and bars to check out by Heather we spent a pleasant evening in the town - we found the locals very friendly.
We went to a bar / restaurant called 'Ownies' which I would also thoroughly recommend. Great atmosphere and great food, and the owner was really friendly.
The bed in The Keep was honestly the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in....If I had a bed like that at home I would struggle to get up for work in the mornings. Best night sleep I have had in ages!
Breakfast was well made by Paula and set us up rightly for the day. We didn't ask for seconds but I know if we did it would have been straight on the plate. Well made, fresh and welcoming breakfast all round.
We had a great stay and we will most certainly be back....it is excellent value for money and the hosts are very friendly but also considerate of your own space, which I think is important too. Thank you Heather, Raymond and Paula. You have a cracking B&B and helped to make up a lovely surprise visit to Carrickfergus!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank whitecrow79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thekeepcarrick3, Guest Relations Manager at The Keep Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Hi, Whitecrow,
There is nothing better than reading reviews from our Guests to tell us how much they enjoyed their stay, Carrickfergus really has a lot to offer as well.. We really appreciate all your comments especially the one about our comfortable beds, we took our time in sourcing the most comfortable mattresses we could find, we are so glad our time and effort has paid off. We are very fortunate that Paula loves her job as much as we do and we are so glad our Guests enjoy the service we give. I will pass on your comments to Owinies, the Owner will be delighted, he also works very hard to make sure his customers are getting the best out of his business. It was a real pleasure having you both stay and we look forward to your next visit.

Warmest regards,
Heather & Raymond.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 139 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2017

Great location, short walk from Castle,waterfront, old town, town wall. Street parking, we stayed in family room, 3rd floor, old house so no left. Large room, good bathroom, shower with good hot water & water pressure. Quiet, owner very friendly, helpful about town. Breakfast big & tasty Ulster Fry. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KimH9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thekeepcarrick3, Guest Relations Manager at The Keep Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Hi Kim,
Thanks very much for giving us such a good recommendation. We are delighted you both enjoyed your stay with us and it was very good of you to take the time to write a review. We know if you are ever this way we will see you both again. Take care.

Warmest regards,
Heather.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2017

Our hosts, Heather and Raymond, were extremely friendly. The room we were allocated was spotless and really big, in fact it could comfortably sleep a family of four (1 double and 2 single beds). Although there were just two of us, the room did not cost us more. Tea, coffee, etc was available in the room, as well as wifi. There is parking outside in the front. The B&B is well situated, close to restaurants and the Castle. A cracker of a breakfast is served in the morning!

Belfast is easily accessible by bus or train from Carrickfergus, and it's not expensive. We dropped our hire car off in Belfast the day before we left Northern Ireland, and returned to Carrickfergus for our last night. A taxi from Carrickfergus to the George Best Airport cost £16 - £1 more than it would have cost the two of us to bus to Belfast, and eliminated all sorts of logistics around getting a bus from town to the airport and of course saved a lot of time.

A highly recommended B&B if you're holidaying in Northern Ireland!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 111Bev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thekeepcarrick3, Guest Relations Manager at The Keep Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Hi Bev,

We are so pleased that The Keep, met all your holidaying needs from location down to a comfortable nights sleep with a good quality freshly cooked breakfast. We pride ourselves on the sort of standard that we provide to our Guests and it really makes our day when our Guests take time to write us such a lovely review. We really appreciate it and thank you for being so comprehensive both with our location and the local Taxi's. A wee tip to any travelers who don't have transport from either of the Belfast Airports , if they contact us we can make a booking with Manhood's Taxi's for them, all they need to give me is their flight number, time of arrival, where they are flying from and mobile contact number, Manhood's Taxi's will be at the Airport for their arrival and they we find they are more economical than booking an Airport or Belfast Taxi.
Warmest regards,
Heather & Raymond.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017 via mobile

We loved staying at The Keep! It sits very near The Carrickfergus castle (a very quick walk), several pubs, a coffee shop, and restaurants. The Keep itself is very well-kept with lovely and very kind hosts. The breakfast was tasty and left us very full for a day of sight-seeing. Parking out front was easy. The rooms were nice-sized and quiet with solid wifi.

We definitely recommend staying here should you find yourself in this lovely part of Northern Ireland!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Dawn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017

Comfy beds, very clean, 5 star breakfast and friendly, helpful hosts. Just a skip and jump away from the castle, so great position for wander around town. Near the train station too. Only minor thing was it was next to main road.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank samC3990TJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017

The standard definitely was the breakfast - a full irish plus cereal. I didn't need to eat for the rest of the day. The BnB is very well placed in town with good parking available. The owners were very helpful and accommodating (we called very late...). Only issue would be the size of the shower which was slightly small and hard to shower in.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 303lanceh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thekeepcarrick3, Guest Relations Manager at The Keep Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017

Hi Lance,
Thank you very much for your taking the time to write an informative review. All our breakfasts are cooked freshly for each Guest, we are pleased the standard shows through. We do apoligise if you found difficulty whilst showering, it has never been brought to our attention before so thanks for mentioning it. We will have a look and see if anything can be improved. We are lucky to be the most central Guesthouse in Carrickfergus, its great for our Guests to be able to leave the car to go out to dinner or even to visit Belfast etc by Train or Bus. The Tour Buses that go up the Coastal Route to Giants Causeway etc, also pick up our Guests for the tour at the Castle, which is very handy for people who do not bring their cars.

Warmest regards,
Heather & Raymond.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2017

The Keep is situated in an excellent location in the centre of the town near the Marina and other facilties. The rooms are comfortable and clean and there is a communal lounge which is spacious, bright and tastefully decorated. An excellent breakfast is provided which includes a choice of cereals, Ulster Fry, toast and a selection of fruit as well as fruit juice. Heather and Raymond did all they could to make our stay enjoyable and they even printed off our boarding tickets for our flights - most appreciated.Thank you so much for everything.

Room Tip: Three of us were in an appartment belonging to The Keep near the marina and we had breakfast at The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank dotbmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thekeepcarrick3, Guest Relations Manager at The Keep Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2017

Hi Dorothy,

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are pleased your stay was comfortable. It was a pleasure having you all together for breakfast, we felt it was good for you all to eat together especially under the circumstances of your stay. Sometimes its the little things that make all the difference to our Guests and we always strive to accomplish this where we can. You all brightened up our day with the banter. We hope to see you again in the future. Please send our love to all.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carrickfergus hotels
0.3 km away
Premier Inn Carrickfergus Hotel
Premier Inn Carrickfergus Hotel
#1 of 6 in Carrickfergus
578 reviews
1 km away
Loughshore Hotel
Loughshore Hotel
#2 of 6 in Carrickfergus
675 reviews
0.5 km away
Dobbins Inn Hotel
Dobbins Inn Hotel
#3 of 6 in Carrickfergus
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 km away
Leafield House
Leafield House
#1 of 3 in Carrickfergus
4 reviews
2.2 km away
Beechgrove Farm B&B
Beechgrove Farm B&B
#4 of 8 in Carrickfergus
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Keep Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Keep Guesthouse

Address: 93 Irish Quarter South, Carrickfergus BT38 8BW, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Carrickfergus
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Carrickfergus
Price Range: $60 - $86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Keep Guesthouse is conveniently located in Carrickfergus Town centre. The superb guest rooms all have en-suite shower facilities. We trust you will find your stay with us extremely comfortable whether it is for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Keep Guesthouse Carrickfergus, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing