We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (147)
Filter reviews
148 results
Traveller rating
112
28
8
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
112
28
8
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsguest houseulster fryfamily roommade us feel at homefriendly ownersthe rooms were niceamazing hostscarrickfergus castlelovely surprisetea and coffee making facilitiesbusy roadstayed nightsa great staytown centreraymondbelfastcereal
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 148 reviews
Reviewed October 16, 2017

This B & B and also Self-catering nearby was just what we wanted and we were delighted with the comfortable beds, delicious food and location to the Carrickfergus Castle, Town, mountain drives, etc.
Also it was a good base as we travelled to and from Belfast
Our Hosts Raymond and Heather were so friendly and helpful, even in finding our parent's Grave Sites which we were not sure of
in Lisburn, Raymond and Heather were unbelievably helpful. We had an amazing holiday and were treated like family.

Norm and Audrey Bartlett.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norman B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thekeepcarrick3, Guest Relations Manager at The Keep Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2018

Hi Audrey & Norm,
First of all I must apologise for taking so long to write this response, we left on holiday straight after your visit then on our return I had a bad fall and broke my ribs.
Thank you so much for the beautiful letter of thanks and for the photos. We where absolutely delight that we where able to help you find your parent's Grave and a special thanks to the man from the Cemetery who arranged to meet you there and take you straight to it. We know how much it meant to you both and we where so glad we took time out to help you find it. We love running the Guesthouse and we know that in itself makes a difference to the Guests that come to stay with us, we also get so many lovely people stay, our motto is You arrive as a Guest and you leave as a Friend. Hopefully you will get the chance to visit again, until then we have the lovely photos you sent us. Thanks again for everything.

Warmest regards,
Heather.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 3, 2017

Myself and my partner has the pleasure of staying in 'The Keep' at the weekend. It was my partners birthday and after staying a night in Belfast we drove through Carrickfergus on the way home. It was such a lovely day and the town was so charming that we decided to stay the night ( if we managed to find a place as such short notice) I called The Keep and was informed by the owner Heather, that they had a free room. Hurray!
Although the Heather and Raymond were visiting friends at the time I called they came straight down to check us in which was very much appreciated! There is also ample free parking outside for any of you car drivers.
The room was a double room with ensuite bathroom - it was extremely comfortable, clean and tastefully decorated. There was also a large fridge in the room with complimentary water. Tea and Coffee making facilities were also in the room.
After being recommended some local restaurants and bars to check out by Heather we spent a pleasant evening in the town - we found the locals very friendly.
We went to a bar / restaurant called 'Ownies' which I would also thoroughly recommend. Great atmosphere and great food, and the owner was really friendly.
The bed in The Keep was honestly the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in....If I had a bed like that at home I would struggle to get up for work in the mornings. Best night sleep I have had in ages!
Breakfast was well made by Paula and set us up rightly for the day. We didn't ask for seconds but I know if we did it would have been straight on the plate. Well made, fresh and welcoming breakfast all round.
We had a great stay and we will most certainly be back....it is excellent value for money and the hosts are very friendly but also considerate of your own space, which I think is important too. Thank you Heather, Raymond and Paula. You have a cracking B&B and helped to make up a lovely surprise visit to Carrickfergus!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank whitecrow79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thekeepcarrick3, Guest Relations Manager at The Keep Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2017

Hi, Whitecrow,
There is nothing better than reading reviews from our Guests to tell us how much they enjoyed their stay, Carrickfergus really has a lot to offer as well.. We really appreciate all your comments especially the one about our comfortable beds, we took our time in sourcing the most comfortable mattresses we could find, we are so glad our time and effort has paid off. We are very fortunate that Paula loves her job as much as we do and we are so glad our Guests enjoy the service we give. I will pass on your comments to Owinies, the Owner will be delighted, he also works very hard to make sure his customers are getting the best out of his business. It was a real pleasure having you both stay and we look forward to your next visit.

Warmest regards,
Heather & Raymond.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 28, 2017

Great location, short walk from Castle,waterfront, old town, town wall. Street parking, we stayed in family room, 3rd floor, old house so no left. Large room, good bathroom, shower with good hot water & water pressure. Quiet, owner very friendly, helpful about town. Breakfast big & tasty Ulster Fry. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KimH9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thekeepcarrick3, Guest Relations Manager at The Keep Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2017

Hi Kim,
Thanks very much for giving us such a good recommendation. We are delighted you both enjoyed your stay with us and it was very good of you to take the time to write a review. We know if you are ever this way we will see you both again. Take care.

Warmest regards,
Heather.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 8, 2017

Our hosts, Heather and Raymond, were extremely friendly. The room we were allocated was spotless and really big, in fact it could comfortably sleep a family of four (1 double and 2 single beds). Although there were just two of us, the room did not cost us more. Tea, coffee, etc was available in the room, as well as wifi. There is parking outside in the front. The B&B is well situated, close to restaurants and the Castle. A cracker of a breakfast is served in the morning!

Belfast is easily accessible by bus or train from Carrickfergus, and it's not expensive. We dropped our hire car off in Belfast the day before we left Northern Ireland, and returned to Carrickfergus for our last night. A taxi from Carrickfergus to the George Best Airport cost £16 - £1 more than it would have cost the two of us to bus to Belfast, and eliminated all sorts of logistics around getting a bus from town to the airport and of course saved a lot of time.

A highly recommended B&B if you're holidaying in Northern Ireland!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 111Bev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thekeepcarrick3, Guest Relations Manager at The Keep Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2017

Hi Bev,

We are so pleased that The Keep, met all your holidaying needs from location down to a comfortable nights sleep with a good quality freshly cooked breakfast. We pride ourselves on the sort of standard that we provide to our Guests and it really makes our day when our Guests take time to write us such a lovely review. We really appreciate it and thank you for being so comprehensive both with our location and the local Taxi's. A wee tip to any travelers who don't have transport from either of the Belfast Airports , if they contact us we can make a booking with Manhood's Taxi's for them, all they need to give me is their flight number, time of arrival, where they are flying from and mobile contact number, Manhood's Taxi's will be at the Airport for their arrival and they we find they are more economical than booking an Airport or Belfast Taxi.
Warmest regards,
Heather & Raymond.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 14, 2017 via mobile

We loved staying at The Keep! It sits very near The Carrickfergus castle (a very quick walk), several pubs, a coffee shop, and restaurants. The Keep itself is very well-kept with lovely and very kind hosts. The breakfast was tasty and left us very full for a day of sight-seeing. Parking out front was easy. The rooms were nice-sized and quiet with solid wifi.

We definitely recommend staying here should you find yourself in this lovely part of Northern Ireland!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Dawn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews