We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home from Home in a Tranquil Setting”
other travellers have booked this property
Gwendolines Retreat
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Gwendolines Retreat
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
14 reviews
Gwendolines Retreat
Twin Bedded Room
Master  Bedroom
Second Bedroom
Second sitting room
Kitchen
kitchen
Conservatory
The garden
The Garden
A Beautiful Sunset to enjoy
Portrush
River Bush - Bushmills
The Dark Hedges - approx. 4 miles away
Local Donkeys
Ballycastle Harbour
Sitting room
Sitting room
Portrush harbour
Old Bushmills Distillery
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Bushmills, County Antrim, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
WhoamI-00
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Home from Home in a Tranquil Setting”
Reviewed July 31, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Had a lovely stay at Gwendolines retreat. Like the other reviews the place was spotlessly clean.It's a bit like a tardis, all rooms are generously sized and two of thebed rooms have massive amounts of ( built-in) storage. My young sons bagged the twin room and my daughter loved the purple room. The children haven't slept so well in ages. The beds and pillows were very comfortable. The house is about 4 miles out from Bushmills so a car is needed but is 3 miles from whitepark Bay and about the same to Whiterocks. The House is a mixture of quirky ( wall ornaments) and modern decor and is well equipped with plenty of crockery and cleaning items and wow what a supply of towels and loo rolls (lol) There was even a vast array of books and some board games. We even came across a Hair Drier and Travel Cot There was plenty of room for the children to play safely both inside and out and a nice conservatory for dining which sat 6 or so and also had a high chair. The views are lovely including the odd cow, Kids already want to go back. Have spoken with Gwen on the phone and she is lovely. She even has a wee picture in the hall to welcome you which is a nice touch. The only suggestion i would make would be a wee list of where things like the Iron/Ironing Board/Water and Heat controls are located should they be needed/ day bin needs put out etc.. As we used all bedrooms this wasn't an issue as we came across them pretty quickly so knew were they where if needed anda kind friend called to put the bin out. The only niggle was that web connection was slow, this seems to be the same all over bushmills but no big deal.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The idyllic setting
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Aug 2014
Dear Nicola and family

Thank you so much for taking time to leave a review. I'm so glad that you and your family had such a nice time. The cottage is a tranquil place with a little of home from home and i'm so happy that you appreciated it. I hope to greet you and your family back at Gwendolines retreat in the future.

Best wishes
Gwen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fresianco...
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful Cottage in idyllic location”
Reviewed July 5, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

I stayed here for 1 week with my husband and our two small boys aged 4 and 2 and can't recommend it enough. The cottage is beautiful and set in a lovely rural location yet only 4 miles from Bushmills town and convenient for Whiterocks Beach, Portrush etc. The cottage was really comfortable, spotlessly clean and well equipped; a real home from home with everything you could possibly need. The garden was great too for children and adults to enjoy and my husband and I spent a long time admiring the little touches throughout the cottage such as the cute little ornaments and stunning pictures as well as the fresh flowers in the hallway. It was great to eat in the conservatory overlooking the rural countryside and its a view I shall miss. We shall definitely be back though!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The rural setting
Liked least: No wifi
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jul 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely comments and taking time out to leave the review. I'm so glad that you all enjoyed our cottage which like you said is a home from home. I look forward to your return. Best wishes
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtownards, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 21, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The peacefull location
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed December 30, 2011 for a stay in July 2011

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The views from the house were amazing
Liked least: the weight gain from daily ulster fry ups
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Stevenles...
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
1 review
“A well equipped and deceptively large cottage in a quiet location”
Reviewed December 4, 2011 for a stay in June 2011

We stayed at Gwendoline's retreat for a week in June 2011. The weather was 'variable' as can be expected in this part of the UK (its very green in Ireland for a very good reason!) but that didn't stop us getting out and about to the lovely towns, coastline and parks. The cottage was very well equipped with all necessities,a conservatory which we used for our meals and central heating. Deceptively it is larger than it looks from the photo's. It was very comfortable and is in a peaceful rural location but easily accessible to beaches and nearby towns particularly Bushmills which we went to every day for one thing or another. Check out the popular chippie in the main street there, also try the Copper Kettle in the main street for breakfasts. Very good evening meals at the Bayview Hotel in nearby Portballintrae.Other must do's in the area are - take coast train to Londonderry for the day, see the Giant's causeway, visit the Antrim coast and Glens country park and the Carrick a Rede rope bridge.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet
Liked least: Rainy week
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean-Phil...
Edinburgh
1 review
Reviewed August 18, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
Google Translation

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Aug 2016
Thank you Jean-Philippe, glad you enjoyed the cottage and hope to see you again on your travels....Gwen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing