We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect for comfort and for the Antrim coast”
other travellers have booked this property
St Columbs Cottages
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
St Columbs Cottages
Dotage No.3 Entrance
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
St Columbs Cottages
Dotage No.3
Entrance
Living room
Stove
Dining room
Patio area
Kitchen
Master bedroom with ensuite
Upstairs double bedroom
Upstairs single bedroom
Bathroom
Lake
Forest
Forest walk
Forest
The Giants Causeway
Royal Portrush golf club
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Bushmills, County Antrim, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Philip M
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Perfect for comfort and for the Antrim coast”
Reviewed June 21, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

St Columb's was perfect for us - we were two couples. It is a house of high standard, well equipped and very comfortable. The outside area is very pleasant and private, though we didn't really get the warm evening weather to use it. Be reassured though that if the weather does let you down a bit, the central heating provides a warm welcome home at the end of the day.

Susan, the owner, gave us a typically warm Irish welcome and was very keen that we were happy in the house and enjoyed our week. We felt confident that if there had been any problem she would have dealt with it positively.

Bushmills is a few minutes' drive away - and the Giant's Causeway about another ten . It is a compact town with everything you need for a holiday week; we had thought we might need to travel to Coleraine for the supermarkets but there are a couple of very good general stores in the middle of the town, so we supported the very local economy.

There is a real range of quality eating outlets from two very good chippies to the Bushmills Inn, the full range of which provide great service and high quality food.

Highly recommended house, people and places.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hazala623
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed April 6, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

I picked this holiday after reading the reviews it was everything the reviews said. clean, tidy, superb location. We couldn't have wished for better. By far the best holiday cottage we have ever booked.The showers were excellent, bedding comfortable facilities first class. I would recommend this cottage to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drhagan
1 review
“Home from home”
Reviewed September 21, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

St columbs cottages are a real gem to explore the north coast. We stayed in the 3 bedroom cottage, everything was perfect. The house is clean with all the modern amenities you would wish for.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irene D
Nanaimo, British Columbia, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Friendly”
Reviewed November 22, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We could not have asked for a nicer place to stay,very convenient for all the wonderful places to go on the Antrim coast.The cottage had everything we needed with no complaints everything was exactly as it looks on the web site with no nasty surprises and the owner was exceptionally nice and very helpful.Our only regret was that we were only there for four days because we were touring Ireland.We have since recomended the cottage to lots of our friends in British Columbia ,Canada where we live and hope that they will be able to enjoy all the things that we did.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Cleanliness and location
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pengster...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay”
Reviewed October 23, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Me and my parents stayed here when visiting north coast of Northern Ireland. This is my second time visiting this area and it's my first time to stay in this cottage. Initially I thought it's a cottage hidden in the middle of nowhere. Upon arrival we found the cottage is in fact new built and it's among a group of cottages together. However there is still plenty of privacy.

The cottage is very new, and nicely decorated. There are 3 bedrooms so we each stayed in one. I particularly like the roof windows. It's a nice feeling to see through to the sky while lying in bed.

The living room has leather sofas and small carpet in the middle. It's very cosy. Kitchen is well equipped, and has all the usual cooking ingredients provided. The owner kindly provided tea, coffee, and even a pack of shortbread to start out stay.

The central heating keeps the whole cottage warm. The highlight is the real wood burning place. Plenty of wood is supplied. We ran out of the fire lighting cubes towards the end of our stay, but we didn't bother to ask more. There is a small garden at the back with nice lawn.

The only small issue we had was the hot water was not enough for a bath. Maybe it was because someone already taken a shower. But the shower was very powerful.

We found a lot of toys and books for young children. So this place would be ideal for families with young kids.

We walked around the foot path near the cottage and it's really nice. Bushmills and other local interests are all very close. We had no problem throughout the period we stayed here. Overall this is a really nice cottage, and I would not hesitate to recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Wood burning stove!
Liked least: Couldn't take a bath, maybe user error.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olino50
Belfast
2 reviews
“Perfect!”
Reviewed July 13, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

My husband, two young children and I have just returned from an absolutely fantastic stay at this cottage. It is thoroughly family-friendly; we wanted for nothing. It is the first time I could honestly say I had a real home from home experience on holidays. We were most impressed with Susan's excellent attention to detail, warm welcome, not to mention how tastefully she has furnished the house. On the first night we noticed the DVD player wasn't working very well. Suffice to say, we had a replacement sorted within hours. So attentive. Granted, it is a small house but use of space is very clever. The garden is both secluded and safe for even the youngest of children. The house provides a perfect base for a north coast break, being within easy reach of anywhere you could want to go. As the week went on, we were more and more taken with this little gem and look forward to another stay very soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mangovega...
leeds
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed June 2, 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

St Columbs Cottages exceeded all expectations. The accommodation was absolutely beautiful, very well presented. Our hostess Susan was warm and welcoming and couldn't do enough for us. We were shown how to use all the facilities (from the heating to the utilities). The location, some 2 miles from Bushmills is ideally situated for all the tourist attractions of the Antrim Coast. A ten minute drive from the Giants Causeway and 20 minutes from Portrush (ideal for any golfers in the family) plus of course Bushmills, the oldest licensed distillery in the world. I highly recommend these cottages and would have no hesitation in visiting again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing couldn't fault it
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing