We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent restaurant and good value”
Review of Harrys Cushendall

Harrys Cushendall
Ranked #2 of 7 Restaurants in Cushendall
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: A family owned and run business located in the warm heart of the picturesque Glens of Antrim and Causeway Coasts. Harrys Cushendall offers fresh seafood and locally sourced produce in a fresh wholesome manner. All of course served with a Glens welcome and friendly smile.
Reviewed June 14, 2021

We had mussels to start with, followed by the fish of the day - which was smoked coley. All very nicely cooked, fresh and delicious.

Date of visit: June 2021
1  Thank 89bridgetm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (803)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 804 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2020

We booked a table here upstairs for a weekend break away - downstairs is very much a bar. When we arrived, we were shown to a table downstairs. When we said we had booked upstairs, we were then taken upstairs where there were 4 free tables! My meal was mussels with hake which was good. My wife's steak was ok. We ordered 2 Irish coffees which as the young waiter admitted had "fallen". They were very poor quality as from someone who prides himself on his own Irish coffees made with heavy double cream poured over a hot spoon. Neither had brown sugar and were a brown mess with no semblance of cream floating on top. There was no offer to remove them from the bill. It became apparent that the young staff had somewhere to go later as we were basically ushered out after being told we could have a drink downstairs - this was refused at 10.10 pm. as the girl downstairs said they were closing. Food is ok but ruined by poor service.

Date of visit: September 2020
2  Thank hmcgireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 27, 2020

Paid £10 for 4 takeaway battered sausages that had no chips, not even 1! Soggy batter and dodgy looking, poor tasting sausages that couldn’t be ate! I never leave bad reviews but that’s the worst takeaway I’ve ever had

Date of visit: September 2020
Thank ashleight195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlistairM367, General Manager at Harrys Cushendall, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2020

We do apologise if you haven’t enjoyed the battered sausage you got on Sunday but just to clarify a couple of minor points, did you not specifically order battered sausages with no chips as we only sell battered sausage suppers and where they ordered as kids meal, and if so where the accompanied with complimentary soft drinks. We only use fresh local pork sausages in the restaurant and take away side which are of the highest standard, and as someone who enjoys a take away mySelf, I normally world just call
Back in and say guys that a bit expensive for what we got and would you mind throwing me a side of chips into that which we would happily have done, we just hope that you give us the chance to rectify our poor showing on this instance ashleigh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 20, 2020 via mobile

I had been recommended Harry's as a great venue for fish and chips. This was not my experience. I had a takeout service and chips were soggy. There was very little cod and the batter was not crisp.
I cannot recommend this venue nor will I go back.
So disappointing.

Date of visit: September 2020
2  Thank Ann T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 14, 2020 via mobile

This is a great find, the staff are excellent, sanitation was continuous, and the food was beautiful. The chowder is very well ‘packed’ and the Mussels on the specials menu were probably the nicest I’ve tasted in a long time. Well done to all at Harrys

Date of visit: September 2020
1  Thank garymJ6366XC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Harrys Cushendall also viewed

 
Cushendall, County Antrim
Glenariffe, County Antrim
 

Been to Harrys Cushendall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Canada. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.