We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Visiting a relative who was ill and catching up...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
13 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 7
Cushendall, County Antrim, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

greenbudl...
Falkirk, United Kingdom
1 review
“Visiting a relative who was ill and catching up on family.”
Reviewed April 23, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

We had an elderly uncle with us to visit a relative who was very ill. The cottage had everything that we needed.It was very cosy and the location was great. The beach was minutes away and it was wonderful to be able to open the door and be able to just look over the bay in one direction and Lurig in the other. On arrival we had fresh milk, bread etc waiting on us which we found very welcoming after our journey.I would have no hesitation recommending this cottage to anyone.

Date of stay: April 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Management Response
25 Apr 2018
Thanks for taking your time to write this review. You gave full description of the situation. Please return someday.
Best Regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annette b
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A beautiful location, tranquil, fab scenery with great restaurants and bars within distance”
Reviewed February 20, 2018 for a stay in December 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed here over Xmas can only say it was amazing - great location - short walk to beach - sea view - short walk to village - the cottage was kitted out with everything you could need for a comfortable stay - restaurants,shops and bars so near - very quiet location

Date of stay: December 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Management Response
11 Mar 2018
I am delighted you enjoyed your stay. I try to make the cottage as comfortable as possible because I know that all that surrounds it simply amazing. Best Regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deep t
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful, warm, spacious house with great views, close to the beach”
Reviewed February 19, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

We had a lovely stay in this great house. There was lots of room for our family of seven and it was very good value for money. The house is well-equipped with a very good quality washing machine and separated dryer. We didn't use the dishwasher but no doubt it is the same. The bed in the main bedroom was so comfortable that I slept better than at home! The open fire in the living room has to be experienced! The owner left us with all we needed to light it and enjoy it.
The beach is a few minutes walk away, forests and waterfall a short drive. We didn't have time to see everything so we'd love to go back! There is lots of information provided so you can make the most of your time, as well as free wifi included so you can research places to go for yourself. We were welcomed warmly and given lots of local information.

Date of stay: February 2018
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Management Response
20 Feb 2018
Thanks for taking your time for this most welcome feedback. I am so happy that you and your family were able to enjoy all that surrounds.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin C
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location, handy to village.”
Reviewed February 14, 2018 for a stay in January 2018

Cottage was in a ideal location for village of Cushendall, beach and exploring Antrim coast. The house was warm and very well equipped. With everything needed for a comfortable stay. The living room had a open fire and you could see the see.

We will definitely make a return visit.

Date of stay: January 2018
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Management Response
15 Feb 2018
Many thanks your feedback. Please return soon there is so much more for you and yours to see and do.
Best Regards
Gerard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rabbitmom...
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Very comfortable, great location.”
Reviewed December 9, 2015 for a stay in December 2015

A stone's throw from the beach, a short walk from local amenities, the cottage has everything one might need. Dog friendly ( enclosed gardens front and rear ), car park. Less than a minute's walk to wine shop/.convenience shop, less than ten minutes' walk to pubs/restaurants. Lovely and warm, lots of towels/bed linen, welcome pack of tea/coffee, fruit bread, butter, sky tv, wifi, washer, drier, dish washer plus all other kitchen facilities, shower and bath. Lords of info re: local area, things to do. Cushendall is a lovely place, great for walking along the cost, through woods.hope to return quite soon.

Date of stay: December 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lovely and warm with great views, very comfortable.
Liked least: Nothing.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Management Response
11 Mar 2018
Thank you so much for your review. I do my best to make the cottage comfortable and I also focus on updating a list which I provide before arrival of: things to do, places to see, where to eat, great walks and lots of other suggestions. That way you can really plan to fully enjoy your holiday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pixie945
Tipperary, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Comfortable and clean with lovely a view of the sea”
Reviewed June 17, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

The house was spotless, warm and inviting. Lots of bed linen and towels. When we arrived there was tea making supplies and a fruit cake, which was much appreciated. A very pleasant lady met us and gave us a run down on the area. Lovely area with lovely walks. Really enjoyed our stay.

Date of stay: June 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: convenient to the sites we wanted to visit
Liked least: The internet didn't work
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Management Response
19 Jul 2015
Thank you for taking the time to do this review. We do try our best to provide a comfortable and welcoming environment for our guests. Really glad you and yours enjoyed: the lovely walks, the scenery of the Glens and all its attractions. Everyone is welcome from far and near.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed May 23, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Date of stay: May 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location easy for dogs and peaceful
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of Tripadvisor LLC nor of its partners. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Management Response
25 May 2015
To all walkers, dog lovers, cyclists, Game of Throne followers I will do my best to make you welcome at Ballymacdoe Cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2023 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Canada. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.