We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No sleep till breakfast”
Review of Aaranmore Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Aaranmore Lodge
Ranked #10 of 28 Portrush B&B and Inns
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“No sleep till breakfast”
Reviewed 2 October 2011

A great welcome and a very clean b&b - owners were very kind and accomodating on arrival.

All this was ruined by appalling mattress quality in the twin room; all the top padding (if there was ever any) has worn and you could feel every spring you had weight on through the mattress. To top this off, the bobbly polyester/poly-cotton sheets were not the best - although all were clean.

I had little sleep and a bizarre (and unsatisfactory) reaction to my complaint in the morning, which could have been because the owners genuinely do not know how to handle a complaint. I felt like I was not taken seriously and was not offfered a discount, which I then had to haggle for.

I have stayed in more comfortable hostel beds, for a quarter of the price. The night before I had stayed at beautiful b&b for the same price, less than 15 miles away, and only wished I had taken 2 nights there instead of this debacle.

I would be ashamed of offering a bed as this to a guest. The second bed in the twin room was just the same. If you had a different room, maybe the mattresses are of a higher quality or are newer. The b&b was pretty empty, but I was certainly not upgraded for my single-supplement cost.

Room Tip: Check the matress in the room before committing to stay here. Rooms by the main road may be noisy f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AutumnalEquinox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    25
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
26
85
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
297 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

I was traveling with my mother in Northern Ireland back in April, and we came across the Aaranmore Lodge. What a pleasure! The proprietors could not have been more gracious or helpful. The husband of this married team even drove us into the town centre and showed us places to eat! He dropped us off at our choice and told us he'd come back when we were done, but we decided to walk back via the beautiful coastline.

Our room was clean and comfortable, and breakfast was one of those wonderful filling Irish breakfasts of eggs, sausages, cooked tomatoes, and tea. I don't have a photo of the B&B, but I'll include some from a nearby town walk along Ramore Head. The lodge is also a short distance from the attractions at Dunluce Castle and the Giant's Causeway. Definitely worth a stay.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jody M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2011

This is a good centrally located B&B with large clean and comfortable ensuite rooms. There is also a lounge, separate from the breakfast room. The Irish breakfast was good. The owner was welcoming. The free internet was a bonus.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pwy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2011

Breakfast was of a very high standard and the bedrooms were lovely- clean and tidy. We got great help- maps of the area etc from the owner. One slight hitch was the shower in the double room was tempramental!! we would recommend this b and b to anyone going to portrush. Thanks for a lovely stay!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marben30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tullamore
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

We recently stayed here for a couple of nights. Finding a good place to stay at a seaside resort is never easy, but this one is a gem. Lovely big room with ensuite. Great breakfast. Very helpful and friendly owners. Off street parking.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ConsultantIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santos, SP
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

We stayed in Aaranmore Lodge for two days in August 2011.

The B&B, owned by John and Frances Duggans is excellent. The rooms are very large, bright and clean, equiped with king-size confortable beds, tea/cofee-making facilities, flat-screen TV and luggage rack. There is also parking spaces available.

Its location on Coleraine Road is superb. West Strand beach and many shops and places to eat are just five minutes away. The train station is also close by (a great asset if you're traveling by train or want to do day trips to places such as Derry City). If you have a car, Bushmills Road, which will take you to the Antrim Coast, is also close by.

John cooks delicious breakfasts and gave us excellent suggestions, tips and maps for our trips.

All in all, an excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RWGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basildon, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 July 2011

stayed here for 3 nights with my daughter, frances and john were really helpful and friendly. rooms were very clean and bright all with ensuite. the breakfast was lovely and well laid out, they provide guest computer with internet access and guest lounge with freeview channel would defiantly stay again if was in area

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mary2512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portrush
1.1 km away
Adelphi Portrush
Adelphi Portrush
#1 of 8 in Portrush
696 reviews
1.1 km away
Portrush Atlantic Hotel
Portrush Atlantic Hotel
#4 of 8 in Portrush
969 reviews
1.1 km away
The Port Hotel
The Port Hotel
#7 of 8 in Portrush
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
Cromore Halt Inn
Cromore Halt Inn
#1 of 4 in Portstewart
211 reviews
0.0 km away
Anvershiel House
Anvershiel House
#7 of 28 in Portrush
155 reviews
0.8 km away
Antrim House
Antrim House
#6 of 28 in Portrush
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aaranmore Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aaranmore Lodge

Property: Aaranmore Lodge
Address: 14 Coleraine Road, Portrush BT56 8EA, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Portrush
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Portrush
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Aaranmore Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aaranmore Lodge is in a prime location for easy access to all Tourist Attractions, Giants Causeway, Rope Bridge, Dunluce Castle, and Old Bushmills. A short walk along the water front to excellent restaurants, wine bars, pubs and beaches. Royal Portrush Golf Club on the doorstep and several other golf courses just a short drive away, Aaranmore Lodge enjoys an international clientele in their en-suite rooms with either Superking or Twin beds, large Flat Screen TV, Tea/Coffee, Hairdryer, Clock/Radio and WiFi. Internet, Parking. Aaranmore Lodge encourages a relaxing atmosphere and does not accommodate party groups or night clubbers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Aaranmore Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing