We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food was awful.”
Review of Royal Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Royal Court Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Portrush
Certificate of Excellence
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Food was awful.”
Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

After reading reviews saying how great the food was, I decided to try the Sunday carvery. I was highly disappointed starter was ok, however the main was a massive let down. Vegetables were horrible very little selection to choose from., totally blanded. Also the chef serving the food barely understood or even spoke a word of English. Apple crumble had one slice of apple in it n the custard was lumpy. Not what I expect when paying £18 per adult. Won't be back very disappointing.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rose11913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    243
    97
    33
    18
    6
See reviews for
112
152
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northumberland, UK
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

On a terrible windy day, we got a lovely warm reception and a very nice standard twin room (one double and one single). Everything was clean and worked, though the shower unit from the taps was a disappointment, what with the excitement of British plumbing - will I get this soap rinsed off before the water goes cold again? - but I should have just had a bath instead.
Dinner service was quite old-fashioned, but the carvery was exactly what you would expect. We were disappointed that breakfast service starts at 8, as we had to get on the road earlier. I normally travel on business and this would certainly put me off, as I need breakfast before getting to meetings that usually start at 9. So, overall, we were very comfortable and it was pretty much what we expected.

Room Tip: Being slightly out of town, I would think that there is no problem with road moise in any room. We w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank firtreecott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 12 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed here Wednesday 11th to friday the 13th of September. The hotel totally exceeded my expectations, gorgeous surroundings, staff were very helpful and the food was good. The bedrooms were spotless as was the bathroom, the bath was huge and just fantastic after a walk along the coastal route. Cannot recommend this hotel enough.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Booked in for 2 nights. We had an executive suite which had a sea view. The room was very spacious and the bathroom large. Everything was spotless and well maintained. The staff were all helpful, friendly and professional.The view - outstanding. Breakfast was good with a choice of hot and cold food. The evening meal , for us, was a disappointment. The presentation and how it was cooked would have been acceptable 20 years ago. Maybe we just picked the wrong food because everything else about this hotel is really nice and that's why I am giving 4 stars instead of 5.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Celine05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We booked the restaurant for a birthday tea, to find one area served all!!! Staff were most friendly and helpful and the ocean view, money couldn't buy. However the food was awful !!!! The starter was shared and all was frozen food except the side salad. The sour cream was fresh cream with chives .
Meal course was also a big let down, chicken was deep fried and tasted like cardboard and covered with paxo breadcrumbs!!! A hotel off its size and location needs to provide fresh food to the public especially at restaurant prices.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ecril001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

This hotel enjoys one of the best situations along the beautiful Causeway Coast of Northern Ireland. We have never stayed here but have dined many times and attended several functions. The greatest standby is the daily lunchtime carvery and, more recently, they are offering an early evening carvery. The facilities are first class and each of the three dining rooms has wonderful sea views. For the golf enthusiast, the terrace affords an overview of Royal Portrush golf course. The staff are attentive and the food first class. We have many visitors and frequently end up taking them to lunch at the Royal Court Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holywood, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I booked a 'Standard Double Room' to attend the Airshow in Portrush,the last room available I was told.In the e-mail confirmation it stated the room is 'lit with a skylight window'.
This is deceptive! The skylight window is no window at all.It measures +- 50cmx50cm,positioned in the ceiling ,is on a remote ,but can only be opened in dry weather. In rainy Ireland this limits one to relatively few days when one can have fresh air in the room.There is no aircon either.I have serious concerns whether room 107 complies with Health& Safety Regulations.Should there be an emergency ,say,a fire from the the passage,I doubt one can get out through the skylight.When mentioning these concerns to Management I was told that 107 was cleared by the Fire Dept and H&S and ,in any case, I was informed when booking that the room was 'lit with a skylight window'.So there!Quite dismissive!
On the plus side the hotel has a great position overlooking the Atlantic and is generally well appointed.
Food is average

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Klaus W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portrush
3.0 km away
Adelphi Portrush
Adelphi Portrush
#1 of 8 in Portrush
703 reviews
3.0 km away
Portrush Atlantic Hotel
Portrush Atlantic Hotel
#4 of 8 in Portrush
983 reviews
5.3 km away
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bushmills
1,817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 km away
Causeway Hotel
Causeway Hotel
#3 of 3 in Bushmills
766 reviews
3.0 km away
The Port Hotel
The Port Hotel
#7 of 8 in Portrush
271 reviews
9.2 km away
Lodge Hotel
Lodge Hotel
#1 of 5 in Coleraine
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Court Hotel

Property: Royal Court Hotel
Address: 233 Ballybogy Road, Portrush BT56 8NF, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Portrush
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Portrush
#3 Romantic Hotel in Portrush
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel occupies one of the most picturesque positions on Northern Ireland’s famous coastline, overlooking the Seaside town of Portrush with panoramic views from County Donegal to the Scottish Isles and over to the Giant’s Causeway. The famous Links Course, Royal Portrush Golf Club is also right on our door step with the 4th hole protruding enough for our diners and guests to enjoy. You never know who you might be watching.With plenty of activities in our local area including, Links Golf Courses, the Legendary Giant’s Causeway, Carrick-A-Rede Rope Bridge, Dunluce Castle, beautiful beaches and coastal walks, and lets not forget Irelands Oldest Distillery, which was granted a royal licence to distil ‘uisce beatha’ translated, water of life in Gaelic or as we know it today Whiskey, in 1608, located in Bushmills. These are to name but a few, there is always plenty to do and see for all walks of life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Royal Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Court Portrush

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing