We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portadown
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Redbrick Country Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 6 Portadown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2011

I stayed at Grey Gables for 2 nights in November and everything was perfect.
The location is excellent, the facilities great and Moreen does everything she can to make sure you have the best stay possible.
Will definitely be booking up to return in the summer.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    9
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
47
34
14
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Portrush, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2011

Grey Gables should be called GREAT GABLES. I have stayed at Moreen's often over the past year whilst on business. Clean - Comfortable and Convenient with a hearty breakfast to set you up for the day.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maureen_Port
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joue les Tours
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2011

Back from a trip in Northern Ireland, we would like to recommend Mrs Stephenson’s Guesthouse (Redbrick house, Corbrackey Lane, BT62 1PQ, Portadown, Co Armagh). Set in a beautiful location, in the coutryside, not far from the town, it includes two beautiful large houses (Redbrick and Greygables) and 3 rooms down the lane. The Large dining-rooms and modern bedrooms with all conveniences are beautifully designed. Besides the comfort of this place, we have especially enjoyed Mrs Stephenson’s friendly and helpful welcome. She was always ready to give her guests all sort of advice and information about the visits and outings in her beautiful country (while cooking and copiously serving the traditional Ulster fries !) . It is the best place we happened to stay in during our trip.
René and Mireille Battut, 3 Allée des Cèdres, 37300 Joué- les Tours. France.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2011

My brother, his fiance and myself stayed at Maureen's country bed and breakfast in Portadown, Northern Ireland.
The location was especially convenient for us as we were visiting family in Portadown and Anahugh.
The rooms were lovely - quite big with up-to-date washrooms, bed was very comfortable, you could adjust the heat if you wished, and very clean.
Maureen's irish fry in the morning was exactly what I needed waking up to a drizzling day - the helpings were large, but most times we didn't have trouble finishing our meal.
We stayed at the inn on recommendation from our father who stayed there several years ago - I would also recommend it to anyone who is looking to stay in that area of NI.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahH222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

Me and my friends wanted to get away for a Girly night together. But, because of work commitments we couldn't go far. We are from portadown but going out to this country b&b made me feel like I was on a proper getaway for the night. It's decorated beautifully and the facilities are in great condition. We could pop down to the kitchen and help ourselves to a cup of tea in the evening.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebhampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2011

Several years ago Moreen bailed me out when I was stranded in Northern Ireland by bad weather - and I have never looked back. Whatever you might think about Portadown (and it is even in the news today for the wrong reasons) this is the place to stay. You can be guaranteed a friendly welcome and the accommodation is spacious and relaxing, also useful, as I have found, if you want to set up a small laboratory in a side room when you are at work. I am sure that this is a great place for family accommodation too, given the configuration of the rooms.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GarthFoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DUBLIN
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2011

While planing a walking trip on the Newry Canal 3 years ago - we struck gold when we booked room No 5 in lovely GreyGables.Having stayed in everything from a Michelin Star Hotel to a tent in all varied parts of the globe - we know the real deal in an overnight and GreyGables with the utterly charming Moreen at the helm just cannot be outshone. Walk into the fabulously spacious purpose build house and instantly want to stay for longer than you planned.
The house is spotless with esquisite furnishings and the kitchen is an absolute pleasure to cook an evening meal in as everything in the house is top quality. There are no list of rules and regulations. You come and go as you please. Breakfast is always delightful experience as nothing is too much trouble for Moreen in making it so. She is an oracle on local knowledge and is entertaining and great company over a leisurely cuppa.
Since our first visit there we have looked for excuses to go visit again. We are just after coming back from our 4th visit as it is ideally situated to encapture a whole variety of activities and places to visit.
When the next adventure becons North we know exactly where we will be staying.
We would both wholeheartly recommend Moreen's lovely GreyGables as the only place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for Room 5 as a first option followed by 6.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PHILODEK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portadown
13.5 km away
Bannville House Hotel
Bannville House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Banbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
13.2 km away
Newforge House
Newforge House
#1 of 1 in Magheralin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
5.5 km away
Cherryville House
Cherryville House
#2 of 6 in Portadown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
No photo provided
6.2 km away
Birches Guest Lodge
Birches Guest Lodge
#3 of 6 in Portadown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
12.6 km away
Lismaine Cottage
Lismaine Cottage
#1 of 1 in Magheralin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redbrick Country Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redbrick Country Guesthouse

Property: Redbrick Country Guesthouse
Address: Corbrackey Lane, Portadown BT62 1PQ, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Armagh > Portadown
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Portadown
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Per person sharing, en-suite, including breakfast. £25. (double or twin rooms.)Single occupancy, en- suite,including breakfast. £30Family room en-suite including breakfast. from. £75 ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Redbrick Country Guesthouse Portadown, Northern Ireland, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing