We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Don't go there if you want to sleep!!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Drummond Hotel

Drummond Hotel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Drummond Hotel
Ranked #2 of 7 Limavady B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lleida
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Don't go there if you want to sleep!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2008

My wife and me couldn't sleep because of the fire alarm. It went off 5 times!!! We even went to the reception to complain but no answer was given to us. They only told us not to worry about the alarm. I thought: "I wouldn't worry if it was not 12 o'clock in the night."

Moreover, some teen football teams were staying at the hotel at that time, which made it a very noisy night.

We paid 80GBP for a double room ensuite inclusive of breakfast. However, it's not worth the money you pay. Access to elevators is really difficult, and you have to walk a long corridor before getting to the room.

We would definitely not get back to that hotel.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — The spider hanging on the ceiling
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jumpingberna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    47
    22
    6
    8
See reviews for
57
56
11
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2007

The rooms of the hotel are your basic Travelodge 3 star standard. The bathrooms are nice. The breakfast in the morning is excellent. The staff are pleasant.

One annoying thing about this hotel are the ancient televisions hanging from the ceilings from brackets, guaranteed to give you are pain the neck. Also they are not tuned in correctly and offer very poor reception.

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Col1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2007

the word 'disappointed' does not truely sum up my experience of this hotel. To start with the room we were initially given had a broken window and so we were moved to another room which had the central heating on full and it was not possible to turn off. After pointing this out to staff, the buildings heating was turned off but the room was incredibly stuffy. The hotel itself totally lacked atmosphere. The rooms were small, the bathrooms bad - the shower would be good for those under 4 1/2 foot tall! The price of £65 per night is very overpriced. All in all, spend an extra £35 per night and stay at the Radisson up the road!

  • Liked — leaving
  • Disliked — everything
Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Scarbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2007

Our three night stay in the Drummond was very enjoyable and in particular I would praise the friendly and helpful staff. The hotel and bedrooms were spotless and food very good.
The en-suite room was a little on the small side but for a two star hotel excellent in every other way with everything we needed.
We paid £65 per night for a twin room which included full breakfast.
I would recommend the location and hotel to anyone.

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Disliked — Seemed a little pricey
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A_Marriott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bath
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2007

i stayed at the drummond for 3 nights the service was excellent made me feel very welcome for the money it is exceptionally good the food was great the overal place was very clean i would recommend it to any one i would stay threr again

  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank justinhickmott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2006

Biggest downfall was the public bar/lounge where my wife and i tried to enjoy a pub lunch. Some locals were at the bar, and there behaviour was disgusting, especially their foul language. The barman who I've since learnt is related to the owner was so bad mannered, and when I asked for drinks they were basically thrown across the bar, money taken, change slid across the bar and whe I said thanks, he never answered. (Food wasn't bad though)

Stayed August 1999
Helpful?
7 Thank Bassman112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2005

We happened upon this little gem purely by accident. We were travelling through the north of Ireland and we saw this stately mansion with manicured lawns, stuary and topiary. We deecided to check it out. The room rate was 49 pounds for the three of us including breakfast!. We had a suite with a huge ornate bathroom with all amenities . The hotel is completely furnished with gorgeous antiques owned by the same family for centuries. The staff were delightful.Full Irish breakfast was excellent and inluded fresh fruit, yoghurt, bacon , eggs, toast, coffee, juice , cereal, everything! There was a beautiful library and den which you could sit in and read books and a lovely bar.Absolutely the highlight of our trip! We hated to leave! Absolutely the best!

Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Limavady
13.3 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS White Horse Hotel
35.9 km away
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bushmills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,491 reviews
20.6 km away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 11 in Derry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.3 km away
Premier Inn Coleraine Hotel
17.5 km away
Premier Inn Derry / Londonderry Hotel
21.9 km away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#3 of 11 in Derry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drummond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drummond Hotel

Property: Drummond Hotel
Address: 481 Clooney Road | Ballykelly, Limavady BT49 9HP, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Limavady
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Limavady
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Drummond Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Drummond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drummond Hotel Limavady, County Londonderry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing