We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Ideal base to explore the north coast”
other travellers have booked this property
Castleshaw Holiday Home.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Castleshaw Holiday Home.
Guests can have the added reassurance that Castleshaw is certified 4 star by Tourism NI. The livingroom.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
71 reviews
Castleshaw Holiday Home.
Guests can have the added reassurance that Castleshaw is certified 4 star by Tourism NI.
The livingroom.
Comfort is always top of our priority at Castleshaw.
Living room with luxurious leather suite. Also wood burner for those winter breaks.
The hallway as you enter via the front door.
Castleshaw hallway.
The spacious kitchen and dining area at Castleshaw.
The utility room off the kitchen which contains tumble dryer, washing machine and oil burner.
Hotel grade memory foam mattresses throughout.
Spacious bedroom with new decor.
New bathroom installed in 2017 with large shower cubicle.
The separate large shower cubicle with pump shower.
Rear garden which is enclosed.
Access to the garden from the front of the house.
Garden enclosed with minimum 4ft fencing all around. Ideal for small children or pets.
The view from the back door - enclosed yard / garden.
Plenty of storage space in the garage - bikes are usually available for guests free of charge.
A summer beach scene
A glorious summer's day in Castlerock ....
Mussenden Temple - beautiful area and a must see - pictured from the Castle ruins.
The Castle ruins - you can explore this on foot from Castleshaw or parking is available close by.
Rock climbing options in Castlerock for the kids.
Castlerock beach in winter.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Castlerock, County Londonderry, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 71 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Rovers09
Preston
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Ideal base to explore the north coast”
Reviewed November 11, 2012 for a stay in May 2012

We were looking for somewhere from which we could explore the north coast of Northern Ireland, not having stayed in the area previously. Things got off to a good start with a very pleasant, helpful and prompt response from the owner re the booking enquiry. The instructions etc in due course were first rate and the bungalow itself was very clean. We had a great few days touring the area and came away with the thought that we'd very much like to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness and location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janeh81
Berwick-upon-Tweed, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A home from home”
Reviewed November 8, 2012 for a stay in October 2012

Excellent accommodation which is extremely well equipped with everything you could want and more.....A lovely wood burning stove,TV and CD player, wifi access,a fabulous kitchen and comfy beds. What more could you ask?
Easy access to all amenities and attractions-and what a lovely area it is-we took some stunning pictures and it was a week we will always remember.
The owners-Edward and Janice-were just lovely and so accommodating and very informative about the area.
A wee gem and we will definitely be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it. The wood burning stove was lovely and so cosy
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donna h
Coleraine, United Kingdom
1 review
“A little slice of home...totally cared for by a lovely family. Totally recommended”
Reviewed November 7, 2012 for a stay in October 2012

Castleshaw is one of the best hoilday homes that I have used. The house itself is excellently maintained and gives an instant warm feeling of being able to relax in a homely environment. It is perfectly located for the coast and has great access to good roads to venture to the many local beauty spots.
Edward the host and his adorable family, where extremely accomadating to the needs of my holiday requirements and willingly met me earlier than normal to get the keys for the accomodation so that I could make a trip to the airport to collect a relative, which helped ease timings. I appreciated this as so many hosts stick to the rules of timings strictly.
The house was extremely cosy with everything needed to live as a normal family. How many holiday lets have a rolling pin to roll out home made pizza dough? I was very surprised and pleased with not needing to supply or make do with anything, and the children loved the pizzas, thanks to that rolling pin! Grannie returned to England very impressed with her relaxed stay and my little family now have fond memories of Castlerock and of a holiday home where they had a large garden and plenty of room inside to entertain themselves.
I would recommend this beautiful home to my family and extended family with no hesitation. A great experience at a very, very good price. Thanks to Edward and his family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Ease of communication with the owner and the superb relaxed home environment.
Liked least: No complaints
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
doreen512
Belfast
1 review
“Our holiday home from home”
Reviewed November 2, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

What a gem! Our summer wouldn't be complete without a stay in Castleshaw. It is a real home from home experience. Well equipped, well maintained and warm and cosy. It is in a great location for exploring the North coast attractions, close to many beaches, golf resorts and restaurants. We look forward to returning each year to revisit familiar haunts and discover new ones. The house is spotlessly clean when we arrive and there is always a warm welcome from the proprietors, Edward & Janice Hazelton.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It feels like home. Everything you need is there.
Liked least: There is nothing I dislike about Castleshaw - I could live there!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leanne W
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“great holiday home to stay in”
Reviewed November 1, 2012 for a stay in July 2012

Had a fantastic week away, already booked for next year. This holiday home had everything you could need for a week away. Best of all pets were allowed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location, was close too everthing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michelle...
belfast
1 review
“excellent property”
Reviewed November 1, 2012 for a stay in October 2012

love castleshaw, gorgeous house, close to the small village and beach. excellent communication between owner and myself, great flexibilty with check in and out times. love the fact that we were able to bring our dog also. house has everything you need, beds comfy, ample parking space for several cars and a big fully enclosed back garden.

will def be back soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RubyShoes...
Bangor, Northern Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A holiday the whole family (including the dog!) could enjoy”
Reviewed September 21, 2012 for a stay in July 2012

We had a very relaxing holiday at Castleshaw. Edward could not have been more helpful.

The house is simply furnished but has everything you could require. The living room is particularly good with very comfortable leather sofas and a good tv for relaxing in the evening. We also lit the wood burning stove on a couple of the chillier nights (this was summer in Northern Ireland after all!).

The house is deceptively large and was more than able to accommodate us, our toddler, our dog and even a set of grand parents for a few days in the middle of the holiday. The garden is also a good size and fenced in was great for BBQing with our daughter and the dog running around as we knew they were safe.

The house is situated a few turnoffs away from the road but this was not a problem as we had our car and Castlerock is so small you are never too far from anything.

If I had one gripe it would be the quality of the beds - I think better mattresses would be more reflective of the overall quality of this property.

Other plus points not already mentioned? Good shower, excellent state of cleanliness, plenty of storage, Wi-fi access, very good value for money.

We were so relaxed at the end of our stay here we wanted to move in! We have already booked the same fortnight for 2013 and that, I think, is the best recommendation there is.

Thank you for a great stay Edward.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space and airiness of the house.
Liked least: The beds.
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing