We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“We left our hearts in Downhill”
other travellers have booked this property
Sandybank
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sandybank
Elevated garden with views of beach and temple View of downhill beach
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
Sandybank
Elevated garden with views of beach and temple
View of downhill beach
Car parking beside Sandybank
view from behind Sandybank
Living room upstairs with amazing views of downhill beach and Donegal
Living room
kitchen upstairs
table set
double bedroom downstairs with ensuite
double bedroom downstairs
double single
bunk beds
Benone complex open from Easter 2 miles away
Game of Thrones filmed infront of Sandybank House
Mussenden Temple
Wedding pictures on beach
Wedding held at temple 2 minute walk away
Dunluce Castle
The Temple
Carrick a rede
Golf at Benone
view from above beach
view of beach and Sandybank house
The famous Giant's Causeway
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Castlerock, County Londonderry, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
SarahBee7...
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We left our hearts in Downhill”
Reviewed August 30, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Thank you so much to Helen and Dave. The house was perfect for 3 generations of the Burke women revisiting their roots. We slept like logs, partly due to being on the beach every day and partly due to the comfy beds. An ideal base for exploring the Coastal Causeway Route. Would highly recommend Downhill House, well equipped, spacious and a home from home. (And we hope you enjoyed your honeymoon!!).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: TV reception. Nanny missed Coronation Street!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Sep 2015
So happy to hear that all the Burke women enjoyed their stay at the Downhill. It was a delight hosting for you. We love to hear positive feedback and also any ways we can make your stay even more memorable. My husband and I had an amazing honeymoon, thanks. Hope we have the pleasure of hosting for your family again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ednaerin
Tandragee, United Kingdom
1 review
“Good house in a good location”
Reviewed August 22, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Lovely roomy house that accommodated 8 of us comfortably. Good quality furnishings and bedding and we'll equipped house. The owners are very obliging and friendly and keen tofit around your needs. We would certainly recommend Downhill house.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Sep 2015
Thanks for your lovely review, it was lovely meeting you and your family and Dave and I hope to see you again in the near future. Regards Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracey M
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Thumbs up to Downhill!!”
Reviewed July 26, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Fabulous find!! Highly recommend Downhill house.

We arrived and Dave met us with a warm welcome & showed us round. The house is immaculately clean & comfortable. There are fabulous views from the lounge of Downhill beach!

The house is very spacious & there was loads of room for our family break of 7, with all the home comforts. Loved the fact the house was dog friendly!! None of us wanted to go home including the dogs!!

Its a great location as the beach is a stones throw away & local attractions are close by in either direction. Great base to explore & relax!!

We visited Greencastle, Donegal for the day by taking the Foyle Ferry over, again just short journey from the house!

We can't wait to stay again!! Have nothing negative at all to say - supberb accommodation & excellent service. One thing we were unsure of before we came was the main road - glad we didn't let it stop us - as it had no effect on our stay!!

Get booking your trip soon. We will definitely be planning our next stay soon!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Sep 2015
Thank you for our fabulous review, Dave and I are always delighted to hear our guests have enjoyed their holiday. We would be more than happy to host for you and your family again. Kind regards, Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing