We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bishopstrow House
Nearby Hotels
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Frome Hotel(Frome)(Great Value!)
US$79
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Woolpack Inn(Beckington)(Great Value!)
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Beckington(Beckington)(Great Value!)
US$51
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Trowbridge Hotel(Trowbridge)(Great Value!)
US$73
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$86
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Farmers Hotel(Warminster)
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Polebarn(Trowbridge)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (921)
Filter reviews
921 results
Traveller rating
373
284
150
56
58
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
373
284
150
56
58
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmulberry restaurantoutdoor pooloval roomspa facilitiesrasul mud treatmentsteam roomroll top bathrelaxation roomafternoon teamonsoon showerdouble showerspa breakdeluxe roomtennis courtscountry house hotelsecret escapesthe main house
Filter
Updating list...
772 - 777 of 921 reviews
Reviewed April 15, 2012

This is the best hotel we’ve been so far in regards to bedroom, service and the hospitality in general! Wow. What a stunning New Brand Bedroom. The room was very clean and spacious .Staff was very helpful and polite. Breakfast, just lovely and, unlike many hotels, breakfast was good. The bed was like sleeping on a cloud with pillows were great- Well, we just loved it. Such a great location, Easy walking distance to all the best country side attractions..

Room Tip: Brand new rooms
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alan e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 10, 2012

We went for a spa day at the Halcyon Spa at Bishopstrow house as an anniversary treat. We arrived at the picturesque country house, parked and made our way into the spa reception. The girl who looked after us was very pleasant and instantly made us feel relaxed in the relaxation room. We had booked in for 2 treatments, full use of the spa facilities and afternoon tea. The first treatmant was a "Rasual" mud treatment, which was both interesting and fun. The second was a superb full body massage, which was superbly relaxing, performed by obviously competent and knowledgable masseurs: focussing more of their time on areas that I felt needed attention, as well as recognising areas with particularly tight muscles etc, and working them out. The spa facilites themselves are showing their age a tad, but are still excellent; the "monsoon shower" a particular highlight and the source of plenty of laughter.

The afternoon tea included was a feast, a choice of sandwiches, cakes, pastries and of course a scone, cream and jam - all were excellent. The service in the restaurant left something to be desired, the staff obviously preoccupied with setting up for evening service. But nevertheless the food was very good, and easily enough to fill us up after working up a sweat in the steam room and gym.

All in all an very good experience, and would return again for an overnight stay, and to sample the Mulberry Restaurant.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank matthewace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 5, 2012

My husband surprised me with anniversary trip to BIshopstrow house, I believe after muchhesitation because of previous reviews. It turned out to be beautiful and very relaxing. I have very high standards and can easily be let down but at no point was I. He had booked the winter warmer package for 2 nights and this provided champagne and truffles on arrival, a must ! He'd even gone to the trouble of calling the week before and asking for a certain room , we didn't get what he'd asked for ' a room on second floor' no we checked in to the Wyle suit, one of the newer rooms to the extension. It was fantastic a very large bathroom with 2 sinks, 2 showers and a roll top bath. Food was lovely and heading on earlier to the bar was a very peaceful and relaxing start to dinner. We both really enjoyed everything the spa offered particularly enjoying the outdoor swimmimng pool which our room looked over. If your reading this and not sure whether to book I would. If you make sure your there with someone special and you want to relax and enjoy the beautiful experience then you will have a good time. We did.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sdobbo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 28, 2012

The food here was excellent. However for the cost the rooms are expensive. Reasonable size and clean but no tea / coffee or even water in the rooms.The door handle to our room was completely broken and I suspect it still has not been fixed. Drinks in the bar are as expected for this type of hotel (27 UKP for a Gin and Tonic and Beer) and when you have to buy every drink even water or coffee this cost is too high.
Staff seemed a little inexperienced to be managing this hotel. Did not know how to handle issues appropriately.

Room Tip: Do not choose Salisbury room, very bad view and broken door handle.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 52stella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 24, 2012

A group of us spent the afternoon here having paid £12 per head for afternoon tea which consisted of sandwiches ( approx 1" x 3" ) and one scone each along with either tea or coffee. The service was poor as no jam or cream was provided and had to be asked for by one of our party. A request for a second pot of coffee met with disapproval but was supplied. When asked if anymore sandwiches were available we were informed that we were allocated 3no each and that was it. Would I recommend this as a venue for 'tea' NO WAY.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Tufty59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews