We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantasic stay at Bishopstrow - Longleat Package”
Review of Bishopstrow House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bishopstrow House
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Warminster
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol
1 review
“Fantasic stay at Bishopstrow - Longleat Package”
Reviewed 24 April 2012

My fiance and I stayed at Bishopstrow for one night doing the 'Longleat Package', and we could not fault it. The general look and layout of the hotel has an old fashioned feel and the furnishings and interior were lovely. We had a warm welcome by reception staff and having our bags carried to our room was a nice touch.

Our room was a 'Classic' room and had just been refurbished, it was perfect. The shower (wet room) was fabulous and the old fashioned hot tub was a wonderful touch. The only downside was that we could not check in to our room until 2.30pm which is rather late if you arrive there early to make use of the facilities.

Our stay included a 3 course gourmet meal in the Mulberry restaurant, the food was excellent, we had the pleasure of trying the new menu out, the duck and guinea fowl was particularly good.

The staff in the restaurant and general hotel were extremely helpful at all times. Our stay included full use of the Halycon Spa, which was a great treat, again the staff were extremley helpful. The different shower sprays in between the sauna and steam room did make us giggle, the steam room seemed to be hotter come the evening.

Breakfast was also lovely in the morning in the Mulberry Restaurant which set us up well for the day, and we were blessed with good weather so taking a walk around the hotel after breakfast was a nice treat.

We would definitley recommend Bishopstrow to anyone thinking of staying there, and would most certainly stay there again. It was a special treat and wondeful relaxation before a busy and wonderful day at Longleat the next day!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mell332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

830 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    339
    257
    132
    50
    52
See reviews for
146
452
11
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
cambridge
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 April 2012

This is the best hotel we’ve been so far in regards to bedroom, service and the hospitality in general! Wow. What a stunning New Brand Bedroom. The room was very clean and spacious .Staff was very helpful and polite. Breakfast, just lovely and, unlike many hotels, breakfast was good. The bed was like sleeping on a cloud with pillows were great- Well, we just loved it. Such a great location, Easy walking distance to all the best country side attractions..

Room Tip: Brand new rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alan e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We went for a spa day at the Halcyon Spa at Bishopstrow house as an anniversary treat. We arrived at the picturesque country house, parked and made our way into the spa reception. The girl who looked after us was very pleasant and instantly made us feel relaxed in the relaxation room. We had booked in for 2 treatments, full use of the spa facilities and afternoon tea. The first treatmant was a "Rasual" mud treatment, which was both interesting and fun. The second was a superb full body massage, which was superbly relaxing, performed by obviously competent and knowledgable masseurs: focussing more of their time on areas that I felt needed attention, as well as recognising areas with particularly tight muscles etc, and working them out. The spa facilites themselves are showing their age a tad, but are still excellent; the "monsoon shower" a particular highlight and the source of plenty of laughter.

The afternoon tea included was a feast, a choice of sandwiches, cakes, pastries and of course a scone, cream and jam - all were excellent. The service in the restaurant left something to be desired, the staff obviously preoccupied with setting up for evening service. But nevertheless the food was very good, and easily enough to fill us up after working up a sweat in the steam room and gym.

All in all an very good experience, and would return again for an overnight stay, and to sample the Mulberry Restaurant.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matthewace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 5 April 2012

My husband surprised me with anniversary trip to BIshopstrow house, I believe after muchhesitation because of previous reviews. It turned out to be beautiful and very relaxing. I have very high standards and can easily be let down but at no point was I. He had booked the winter warmer package for 2 nights and this provided champagne and truffles on arrival, a must ! He'd even gone to the trouble of calling the week before and asking for a certain room , we didn't get what he'd asked for ' a room on second floor' no we checked in to the Wyle suit, one of the newer rooms to the extension. It was fantastic a very large bathroom with 2 sinks, 2 showers and a roll top bath. Food was lovely and heading on earlier to the bar was a very peaceful and relaxing start to dinner. We both really enjoyed everything the spa offered particularly enjoying the outdoor swimmimng pool which our room looked over. If your reading this and not sure whether to book I would. If you make sure your there with someone special and you want to relax and enjoy the beautiful experience then you will have a good time. We did.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sdobbo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

The food here was excellent. However for the cost the rooms are expensive. Reasonable size and clean but no tea / coffee or even water in the rooms.The door handle to our room was completely broken and I suspect it still has not been fixed. Drinks in the bar are as expected for this type of hotel (27 UKP for a Gin and Tonic and Beer) and when you have to buy every drink even water or coffee this cost is too high.
Staff seemed a little inexperienced to be managing this hotel. Did not know how to handle issues appropriately.

Room Tip: Do not choose Salisbury room, very bad view and broken door handle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 52stella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
234 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

A group of us spent the afternoon here having paid £12 per head for afternoon tea which consisted of sandwiches ( approx 1" x 3" ) and one scone each along with either tea or coffee. The service was poor as no jam or cream was provided and had to be asked for by one of our party. A request for a second pot of coffee met with disapproval but was supplied. When asked if anymore sandwiches were available we were informed that we were allocated 3no each and that was it. Would I recommend this as a venue for 'tea' NO WAY.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tufty59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

My wife and I have recently returned from a weekend away at Bishopstrow House.

Room: The deluxe room (Longleat) was very good indeed. Spacious, large comfortable bed, large bathroom and nice walk in shower (although this could have benefited from a little more pressure). Had a small outside private patio area. Heating was a bit odd (it seemed to all go off at night making the room somewhat cold then). Excellent and fast free WiFi. One recommendation to the owners: Please put the TVs on taller stands, and replace the table by the sofa with something tall enough to eat off.

Restaurant: Bit of an odd ball. Food was excellent and tasty, reasonably priced. Service on the first night (Friday) was by a non UK waitress who was moaning about how busy it had been at lunchtime and how much mess she'd had to clear up. We were having a weekend away to get away from work stresses and the last thing we wanted to hear was a disgruntled employee not realising we were paying handsomely to have a relaxing luxury weekend away. She forgot to layout napkins or offer bread to us (we were seated first) and we felt undervalued. Other waitressing staff though were very good.

Spa: The spa is the jewel in the crown there. Lovely staff, and I mean, lovely staff. They had the right combination of being professional, respectful and yet friendly. Special mention to Kelly for her hard work on my "concrete" thighs! ;) We would visit again to spend another day in the spa.

The grounds: Needs work .. not very inspiring and if you like to get out and about, there are better hotels to enjoy the outdoors.

Parking: Free, but can get busy if there's a conference on (overheard 2 members complaining about this to management).

Summary: We had a lovely stay, and enjoyable treatments. I'm not sure we'd come for more than a weekend, as there's not much there but certainly it's a lovely place for an overnight stay and some treatments.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nutty_663rd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warminster
21.5 km away
Beechfield House
Beechfield House
#1 of 1 in Beanacre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
19.5 km away
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Hinton Charterhouse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
26.4 km away
Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.8 km away
Lucknam Park
Lucknam Park
#1 of 1 in Colerne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
18.4 km away
Woolley Grange
Woolley Grange
#2 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
28.1 km away
Milford Hall Hotel
Milford Hall Hotel
#5 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bishopstrow House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bishopstrow House

Property: Bishopstrow House
Address: Boreham Road, Warminster BA12 9HH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Warminster
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Warminster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bishopstrow House 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Bishopstrow Hotel & Spa. Without doubt one of the finest, luxury hotels in Wiltshire.Located within easy reach of Bath and Salisbury (off the A36), only 6 miles from the famed Longleat Safari and Adventure Park.Set in 27 acres of established grounds boasting kitchen gardens, orchard and trout fishing from the banks of the river Wylye running along the hotel, deep in the heart of the beautiful Wiltshire countryside. Ideal for adults and children alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bishopstrow House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bishopstrow House Hotel Warminster
Bishopstrow Hotel Warminster
Bishopstrow House Warminster, UK - England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing