We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (52)
Filter reviews
52 results
Traveller rating
23
14
6
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
23
14
6
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great spur round bed whirlpool bath home grown books and maps only real drawback main bedroom on arrival steep hill welcoming hosts large room enjoyed our stay priscilla fantail memorabilia carnivore acquisition
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 52 reviews
Reviewed April 2, 2018

Priscilla and Peter, really are the most welcoming hosts.
My partner and I were both made to feel at home.The windmill is full of Priscilla and Perter's worldly travels. Travel souvenirs and a lot of life long memorabilia, are scattered around the place, but if you like clutter free or have OCD, this is not the place for you to stay.
Our room had a very comfortable round bed and a whirlpool bath, again a large room full of the owners travel acquisitions. Many books and maps etc.
The Old windmill is situated at the top of Mason s Lane, a long,steep hill in to Bradford on Avon, which means it has great views, but is quite a walk back up the hill.
The only real drawback is parking. There are obviously ongoing 'issues' with the neighbours in the lane...... but once you are aware of this, its okay.
I parked the car and it was a tad tricky first time......
There are a few rules worth mentioning....be out of the windmill by 10am and return after 5pm. Breakfast on Saturday 8 til 9, 8.30 til 9.30 Sunday. Checkout by 10.30. No keys to the rooms, only at night when you go out for a meal.
The breakfasts cater for all tastes, carnivore as well as veggie. All freshly made using local suppliers etc.
Priscilla is a very kind and sweet lady, who even took the time to buy my partner a birthday card. The "not having access to your room" till 5pm could cause problems for people with children or elderly people who may like to return for an afternoons siesta.
Other than than that, we enjoyed our stay at The Old Windmill.

Room Tip: The great Spur Room has a round large double bed and a jacuzzi bath.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 23, 2017 via mobile

Found the Old Mill at the last minute and stayed for 2 nights in the Great Spur room. A fantastic quirky b&b! Room had a lovely round bed and jaccuzi bath. Hosts were wonderful, friendly and helpful. Lovely choice at breakfast and all items organic. A lot of ingredients are home grown or from the local market. Great location in the village of Bradford upon Avon. Highly recommend.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank c B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 8, 2017

Spent 2nights here with my sister in the Fantail suite. I opted to have the sofa bed rather than climb the ladder to the gallery above the main bedroom (my grandsons would have adored that!!) - I needn't have worried that it might be a little uncomfortable.............quite the opposite!! We were both able to luxuriate in these patchwork-quilt-bedecked comfy beds surrounded by the most interesting memorabilia, artefacts & stripped wooden furniture. Just love the arch-shaped windows to view across the town below. Considering this beautiful little town is suffering the plague of modern life with constant traffic, only the sound of the birds could be heard from the windmill - it's so peaceful :-)
Priscilla was most welcoming & helpful, providing us with a very tasty bowl of soup from home-grown pumpkins & the best apple juice ever! A good choice of breakfast with homemade bread, a delightful selection of spreads, fruit, cereals & choice of cooked meals.
We were thankful for a taxi to take us up the hill on arrival with bags, but the incline trek to explore the town isn't too daunting. Not much in the way of shops - you need a visit into Bath for that - but various eating places, most notably The Bridge café with it's fantastic cake selection & Victorian-dressed waitresses. Really worth visiting the Tithe Barn - amazing building set in parkland with two good play areas for children. More information about the tithe was given during a canal boat trip along the Kennet & Avon to Avoncliff & back, along with other interesting facts about the area. Although the boat goes across the aquaduct, a better view would be gained by walking the 1.5mile route or catching the train.
Would definitely recommend this as a place to stay as long as the legs can manage the long (but not steep) hill, preferably without a car as parking could be a problem.
If desperate, better internet connection in town .............. otherwise live without it for a bit!!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Oxymoron50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 25, 2016

this place is truly amazing! Once you've discovered it, you need to decide on which suite to stay in - Great Spurs or FanTail - both are charming, full of travel memorabilia and musical instruments and the most interesting layouts. Priscilla and Peter make the scrummiest of breakfasts, suitable for any diet or preference, which set you up for the day - and are full of help, advice and incredible travel tales. In fact, you could easily spend an entire weekend here without leaving the windmill at all!! Can not recommend highly enough and can't wait to return!

Room Tip: either suite is stunning, Fantail for older children has a wonderful surprise...
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank tigermasala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 1, 2015

Priscilla and Peter are the most welcoming hosts and absolutely made us feel at home.The windmill is full of their travel souvenirs and a lot of life long memorabilia, which we really liked, but if you like clutter free, this is not the place for you! Our room had a very comfortable round bed and a fantastic whirlpool bath, again a large room full of travel acquisitions. Lots of books and maps too, for swapping/borrowing. The windmill is situated at the top of Mason' s Lane, the long,steep hill in to Bradford on Avon, which means it has great views, but is quite a walk back up the hill. The only real drawback is parking. There are obviously ongoing 'issues' with the neighbours in the lane......loads of signs asking you not to slam car doors, set off car alarms, talk loudly.....etc outside the windmill. Peter parked the car for us on the first night, but after that we parked on the local housing estate. Parking was made in to more of a problem than it needed to be. There are a few rules worth mentioning....be out of the windmill by 10am and return after 5pm. Breakfast on Saturday 8 til 9, 8.30 til 9.30 Sunday. Checkout by 10.30. No keys to the rooms. All in all, we enjoyed the experience, but won't be returning.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank julia q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews