We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“methuen magic”
Review of Methuen Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Methuen Arms Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Corsham
Certificate of Excellence
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“methuen magic”
Reviewed 9 April 2012

we have no hesitation in recommending methuen arms as a great place to stay. the staff are super friendly and helpful, its comfortable, it has good taste and great food. Above all a great atmosphere that most hotels cannot achieve. There is nothing like it in the area and for a hotel that has been open for only one year they have great leadership and loyal team. Thank you for a great long weekend and we will be make, Simon and Celine Myers

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank celinetemple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    79
    17
    10
    4
See reviews for
55
152
10
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
165 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Decent room and the food was fantastic. It was very busy on the evening but the attention by the waiting staff was good. The food was the best - scallops that were 'to die for'. Had our anniversary at Limewood House in the New Forest food there was excellent but with a huge price tag. This was just as good at a fraction of the price.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YellowJellyBean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

Arrived at 6.30pm on a busy Friday evening - bars buzzing with conversation - local and visiting diners and drinkers. A perfectly chilled bottle of wine was delivered and menus perused. Difficult choice this - wanted everything on the menu! Having made our choices we relaxed until we were called to our table. The food didn't disappoint - beautifully executed and really enjoyable. The restaurant areas were full and there was also a group of diners in a private dining room.
The hotel is beautifully appointed and run by the couple who used to own the Pear Tree at Whitley. This is a relatively new venture - our bedroom and bathroom was nicely furnished with top of the range fittings - and nice antique pieces dotted around. The owners have developed their own lovely range of toiletries - yum - and plan to continue expanding the hotel offer organically into other old buildings on site as demand grows. The young staff were all pleasant and obviously happy to be there - nothing was too much trouble. A really good location - in the centre of the historic small town of Corsham, with Bath and the Cotswolds within easy reach. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phylisbide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Stayed at the Methuen Arms after finding it on late rooms. It proved to be a really great discovery.
Everything about the place looks like a lot of thought has gone into it. All the rooms we saw were well designed and modern yet cosy.
The staff were fairly informal and incredibly attentive.
We went for a nice walk from castle combe after the staff suggested a route and had a great day out.
The food in the restaurant was amazing. Really well done. We were travelling with a baby and the staff were helpful preparing early dinners for her before the kitchen really opened. The general level of service was just great and I am sure it is going to be very successful.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hculver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Just back from a short break at this lovely hotel. Very friendly, unobtrusive and professional staff. Fantastic restaurant too (understandably busy); we had a wonderful meal and the breakfasts were temptingly delicious.

A family of five of us stayed in their biggest room; our three children were on camp beds. Very well appointed rooms, spotlessly clean and beautifully decorated.

Fantastic location - we jumped on a bus which took us straight into the middle of Bath within 25 minutes. Corsham is a nice village. We went to Longleat for the day too, took 40 minutes.

Overall, a real gem of a boutique hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deedee176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2012

We arrived a party of 6 after a few hours strolling around Bath to spend New Year's Evening and overnight stay at The Methuen Arms. We were warmly greeted by Debbie and Martin, the atmoshere as you entered the Bar area was very friendly and although staff were busy preparing for the evening they still had the time to make conversation and made us feel very welcome. we were shown to our rooms whhich had en suite & were very spacious.I must recommend their complimentory own range 'STILL' Shower gel, shampoo / cond and body lotion ..such luxury!! The food, wine & service was fantastic with Debbie & Martin perfect hosts. We felt that we were at a private house party. Breakfast was superb with a great choice but I must recommend there earl grey tea, scambled egg and salmon on granary mmmm!
All that was left was to walk it off with a pleasant walk around Corsham Lake and near by Lacock def be back !!
Def be back to this hidden gem.

Room Tip: saw 3 of there rooms all were spacious, superbly decorated and very comfortable beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S.Wales
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2011

We spent a lovely Sat night , Sunday morning at the Methuen arms and totally enjoyed it !
The staff were very pleasant, welcoming and enthusiastic . Our room was comfortable and very tastefully fitted and decorated . It was also peaceful which these days can be a rarity.
The wife and I enjoyed a superb three course meal in the evening , one of the best we've had in a while.
The food was delicious, beautifully cooked and presented.
There is a cozy candlelit bar with a log fire to enjoy a drink either before or after your meal.
Loved the fresh croissants and muffins for breakfast, before a Sunday morning stroll around Corsham Park.
All in All a great weekend - will definitely return !!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank valleysboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corsham
0.6 km away
Guyers House Hotel
Guyers House Hotel
#1 of 4 in Corsham
594 reviews
2.9 km away
Rudloe Arms
Rudloe Arms
#3 of 4 in Corsham
1,005 reviews
5.6 km away
Beechfield House
Beechfield House
#1 of 1 in Beanacre
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 km away
Best Western Plus Angel Hotel
4.4 km away
Shaw Country House Hotel
5.8 km away
Lucknam Park
Lucknam Park
#1 of 1 in Colerne
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Methuen Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Methuen Arms Hotel

Property: Methuen Arms Hotel
Address: 2 High St, Corsham SN13 0HB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Corsham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Corsham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Methuen Arms Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Methuen Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Methuen Arms Corsham
Methuen Arms Hotel Corsham, UK - England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing