We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (548)
Filter reviews
547 results
Traveller rating
296
140
55
36
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
296
140
55
36
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the penthouse self catering small kitchenette peak district steep walk few minutes walk bedroom and bathroom lovely place bakewell town centre lovely room comfy bed night stay pubs and restaurants a lovely stay monsal trail surrounding area chatsworth house
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 547 reviews
Reviewed September 16, 2020 via mobile

We managed to get a room for two nights in the lodge accommodation and we were pleased to do so. A super location and the suite had all we needed.

Upon arrival we were greeted by Linda who was fabulous and very helpful. We had our temperatures taken so felt safe I staying and the level of checking was great.

Clean, tidy, friendly, helpful! All in all we would return anytime. Good value for money as well.

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank sarahklinko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David Oulsnam, Owner at Bagshaw Hall, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2020

We are pleased you felt safe with us and our checking in procedure.

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 8, 2020

Bagshaw Hall is really well situated, near the church in the heart of beautiful Bakewell. It has a great historic feel to it, whilst the room itself was smart, clean and had everything we needed. The staff were really friendly, helpful and relaxed. It was the perfect base for us to explore the beauty of the Peak District. I also ordered the romantic package for arrival, so we were greeted with a scene of balloons, flowers, rose petals, chocolates and bubbly, which was such a great way to start off our stay. Thanks to everyone, especially Linda who greeted us on arrival and when we were leaving. Would definitely stay again.

Room tip: As long as you ask for a room facing forward towards the town, you'll have a lovely view.
Date of stay: September 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 793deant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David Oulsnam, Owner at Bagshaw Hall, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2020

We pride ourselves on our romantic packages which sometimes Linda goes "over the top" with, but are a brilliant surprise on arrival and as you say, are a great way to start off your stay.
The combination of the history of the hall and its convenient location in the town does add to the quality of the stay and feeling of relaxation.
We look forward to your return Dean.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 1, 2020

Again another brilliant review for this gorgeous place. This is our fourth stay in at Bagshaw Hall / Sleep Lodge. Stayed in the Manners Apartment and it never fails to impress. Brilliant, relaxed and friendly staff, there if you need them. Always make a fuss of the dog and very good location. Better staying up the hill out of the way of all the hustle and bustle but close enough to walk into the centre of Bakewell. Slept like logs, nice and quiet, comfy beds, beautiful clean bedding and lovely bathrooms. Had a great two night stay over the B/H weekend and will not be our last.

Date of stay: August 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David Oulsnam, Owner at Bagshaw Hall, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2020

It is always good to greet our regular guests and at the same time gives us and our staff complete confidence in the continued service we offer with the quality of our facilities and the friendliness of our staff.
As you have said, the fact that we are located a short walk up the hill from the town centre, this allows for a quiet nights sleep combined with views of the town from the Hall and gardens.
We very much look forward to your fifth visit Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 23, 2020

Excellent booking service and very friendly staff ... an email was sent with local information and eateries as promised.
COVID-19 testing as we arrived... temperatures taken/ PPE worn by staff/ hand gel supplied and restrictions explained ... all clear and put us at ease!
Wonderful pet friendly hotel, and the superior room we stayed in was top notch with plenty of character for a grade 2 listed building.... and excellent space for the two dogs and ourselves.
Plenty of local attractions and places to eat out, within a five minute walk from the central location, and parking on sight was a bonus.
Great to have an enclosed garden at the rear of the Hall to let the dogs run around in ... thank you for making us so welcome!

Date of stay: August 2020
Thank F6280IPjuliec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David Oulsnam, Owner at Bagshaw Hall, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2020

We are pleased you felt very safe and relaxed with our booking/check-in service.
Our staff do take great care to make our guests welcome, which is really important in these current times.
Guests can enjoy our grounds and of course, the short walk into Bakewell centre is a bonus where there are lots of places to eat and for scenic walks, etc.
We hope to see you again soon Julie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 23, 2020

Very safe meet and greet. We chose a ground floor suite which was very luxurious, clean and well set out. Fabulous bath tub in the bedroom to enjoy wine, music and tv while soaking after a trek along the Monsal Trail. The only regret is we didn't stay longer.....will definitely be back for more!

Date of stay: August 2020
Thank HelenB333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David Oulsnam, Owner at Bagshaw Hall, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2020

Thank you for your review of your stay in the Bagshaw Suite with the roll top bath in the suite, a great way to relax and we installed a 55inch TV in that room above the marble fireplace to make it fully viewable from the bath.
We look forward to your return visit Helen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews